Loki PMPS 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hon it really isn't unexpect that he would be higher today after the late shot yesterday and the halved dose..Afterall a late shot acts as a reduction as well as reducing the dose yesterday morning so you could shoot on time last night. That is just the nature of Lantus...it requires a lot of patiences when finding their ideal dose, and at the very worst he may need a slight increase to get him down in the good numbers, as he may have some insulin toxicity that we are going to have to find him a breakthrough dose. It seems weird but sometimes you have to go up in dose to go down in dose.

While insulin is a hormone that the body should be producing naturally, just in a diabetic they either aren't producing or aren't producing enough of, when you add extra insulin from an outside source the body still sees it as something foreign and will attack some of it, like it would say an infection. It has to get use to getting it, and even when it has gotten use to one type of insulin, when you change insulins it has to get use to the new "flavor" so to speak.

He had a beautiful amps yesterday but since you just didn't have the data for you to shoot low to stay low yet on this particular insulin doesn't mean you aren't ever going to get there with him. If you would have had the data yesterday and we could have been sure that he would have been safe to go ahead and shoot a full dose you still may be looking at higher numbers today from him bouncing off going lower than he had been in awhile.

While I have never worked with PZI I do understand that it works very differently than the depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir. With the depot insulin each shot builds on the next one, so when you have a day like yesterday where you shoot late or early or have to give a reduced dose to either keep them on track shot schedule wise, or because they are lower than you like at preshot it effects the next few cycles, because you have drained the shed some and it has to rebuild again before the full dose again goes to the cat to bring down the BGs.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks so much for taking the time to explain this better to me. I was making the error of comparing to my previous experience.
Again, thanks I so appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top