Loki PMPS 239

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice number!
How much Prozinc is left?
 
Brace yourself, because this isn't something you'll often hear from me....

How do you feel about trying a reduction? Or, adjust the dose based on his preshots?

It seems to me that some times this dose works great. Sometimes too great, and you end up with a number 12 hours later that is a lot lower or even too low to shoot.

It looks like he's bouncing off blue numbers sometimes. Like yesterday. You shot 1.6 on a 296 a little late the night before. He gave you a low blue preshot for AMPS. Then you waited for the number to come up, shot it again, but got a +6 that was higher. I think that was a bounce from how ever low he went the prior cycle.

I have no clue what he'll do tonight on the 1.6 on the 239. But if I had to guess, I'm thinking he'll either have a longer than normal cycle (and maybe be blue again by AMPS, or, he'll go low blue / high green overnight and bounce again. No way to tell of course.

I'm thinking mabye 1.6 if he's over 350. 1.2 if he's between 250 and 350. And .8u if you get under 250?

Just trying to try something different before giving up on the Prozinc.

Sue?
Anybody else?
 
Carl, thanks so much for taking the time to write all that, now my next issue is am I doing something wrong here for him to still be bouncing? This is going to be a crazy week for both of us because school starts tomorrow and my class hours have been changed (they called today) I will be home in the am but from 6:00pm to 9:30pm I will be in class, so with 20 minutes to get home I can test him at 10pm, grrrr I am so annoyed. Now I am all ohmygod_smile again with this time change on such short notice.
I am willing to try what you recommended, anything for my boy.
 
No Michelle, you aren't doing anything wrong! Bounces are not something you can control. They are instinctive and about the only way I know of that you can avoid them is to not let the numbers go low enough to cause them to happen. The problem with that is that then the condition doesn't improve.
For instance, if he's at 350, and you have a dose that only drops him to 225, he probably won't bounce. But he won't improve either because all the numbers are still too high, still too "diabetic".

His body thinks diabetic numbers are "normal" right now. When he drops into lower numbers, his body thinks "what the heck is this? This isn't normal, it's too low!" and a self-defense mechanism kicks in and causes his liver to release "sugar" into his bloodstream to stop the numbers from being so low. They aren't too low, but "he" thinks they are.

The only way that eventually all the numbers "come down" is for his body to become used to them. And that means "bounces happen". But the more often his numbers go lower, the more his body will allow it to happen.

The trick is to get them low enough so that they allow his body to heal, but not so low that he bounces every time he sees a low blue or high green number. Ideally, as he heals, his preshots will come down overall. Then you reduce the dose a bit to make sure he doesn't go "too low" in the middle. You sort of have to find a happy medium where he runs overall lower, but not too low. Then he won't go really high at preshot time from bouncing.

Adjusting the dose based on the "highs" can help you find that happy medium.

You don't want a curve that is shaped like this :-|
And you don't want a curve that is shaped like this :-D
You want a curve that is shaped like this :smile:

Then you do a lot of this :mrgreen:

;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top