Loki 83/4.6 (edited)

Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/202-11-2-shoot.288151/

Good luck with the new dose.

I got 23 for PMPS and shot 3. To clarify, he's SLGS not TR, I was just worried again about it being low because I'm anxious. I'm sorry for causing confusion. (I also remembered after I posted that green is good and also that he was around +6 so it was normal.)

This is my second night of very high PMPS readings, however, and both followed decent days reading wise. Spreadsheet is updated.

Loki needs his two fangs pulled, I don't know if that pain is affecting the readings this much but might be worth mentioning. His gums around the fangs are pretty angry. I booked in for the earliest appointment possible to get them pulled, which is Thursday. Poor guy. I have the bottle of Metacam here that was Lily's but I don't dare admin without a vet consult. And it's now the long weekend, not sure I'd consider this an emergency? Would you call after hours for this?
 
He earned a reduction on SLGS with his bg falling under 90. Please reduce to 2.75. That’s why Wendy said good luck with the new dose. You will keep the 2.75 dose for 7 days unless there’s another drop under 90 which earns another reduction. Pain and inflammation can cause higher bg but in this case I think the high pmps is a bounce from the drop into green which he’s not used to yet.


  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Last edited:
From the SLGS sticky:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
From the SLGS sticky:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Oh my god, I seriously misunderstood. Thanks for explaining. We’ll monitor close for the day and tonight it’ll be reduced.
 
Totally understandable. Fd is tricky! Don’t worry about shooting 3.0 tonight. Sometimes those following TR will shoot through the bounce. That means a one time shot at the next shot if the bg is high. He did drop at +2 so test again at +3 and continue like you always do. Looks like the nadir is is around +6 lately.
 
Back
Top