Location of slang

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
I can’t seem to find the slang dictionary - I’m looking specifically for the definition of a bounce! Thanks!
 
Hi Rosa
I found this that should explain bouncing. Hope it helps.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mation-and-important-linksplease-read.224794/
Bouncing
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce”. It should be noted that “bouncing” is a term we use in the FDMB and might not be recognized elsewhere.

Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucagon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). You cannot avoid all bouncing. It is normal and natural, and frustrating. There are some things to keep in mind that can help though:
  • Following a bounce, a cat’s BG may stay high and flat for several cycles. Avoid the temptation to increase the dose at this point. If the BG does not return to normal in 6-8 cycles, an increase might be needed based on the method of regulation you are following.
  • Some vets might have little/no understanding of the bouncing phenomenon. Consequently they will look at a single BG number or a single in-office curve and change the dose without realizing that they could be looking at a bounce number, or a high-flat cycle following a bounce, and increasing the dose will make it worse.
  • There is also a common misconception, often by vets, that bouncing is caused by chronic Somogyi rebound. Michael Somogyi published one paper based on a very small number of human diabetic subjects on the topic in 1938 in a local St. Louis medical journal. There has been no replication of the research and, in fact, anyone that has attempted to replicate the research with humans failed to find similar results. The research has never been done with cats and, just as importantly, has never been done with cats (or humans) using a long-acting insulin.
  • When it’s not a bounce: in general, during a cycle, the blood glucose should decrease for a few hours, and then begin to increase again. If you plot the numbers on a graph, they should look like a smile. This rise in BG towards the end of the cycle is normal. It is not bouncing. As a cat gets better regulated, the cycle will get a little flatter and the PS numbers will decrease, but in the beginning, it can feel like that rise at the end is a bounce. It often isn’t. It’s just the insulin losing duration. As you slowly reach a better dose for your cat, the insulin will last longer and the numbers will look better.
 
Wow
Thank you for this!!!! I thought bouncing was that “Simogyi Effect” but upon further reading the effect is a result from night time?
So what is this bounce? Where was it first discovered and who came up with what is actually happening if it’s not the same as the Simogyi effect?
 
Wow
Thank you for this!!!! I thought bouncing was that “Simogyi Effect” but upon further reading the effect is a result from night time?
So what is this bounce? Where was it first discovered and who came up with what is actually happening if it’s not the same as the Simogyi effect?
Hi Rosa,
It looks like the term bouncing was created on this forum according to the first paragraph, who and when it was created/invented i don't know, maybe a more experienced member can explain that in more detail.
Bounces don't just happen at night time.
I will tag in @Marje and Gracie to see if she can explain things any better.
 
One of the moderators commented on the Simogyi Effect last week; how old the theory is, the wrong assumptions that were made and what ended up as a scientific paper that was full of mistakes. I'm not qualified to say anything beyond that.
For years I thought Noah was bouncing, I misinterpreted the data and got it all wrong.
 
I still only kind of understand bouncing and I've read the definition several times. Thankfully there are a lot of wonderful people who help interpret the data that confounds me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top