Lisa & Oscar - newly diabetic cat continued…

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks for starting a new post :). I shudder to think what 3u would have done had you started with that like the vet suggested.

What snacks did Oscar get today and when? Boy oh boy, he’s having a nice little green surf!:D

upload_2024-8-6_16-33-5.jpeg


Tomorrow I think you should start posting in the Lantus Lev Biosimilar insulin support group. There is a different posting guideline https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/ there, posts start with date, Kitty’s name then BG values, I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-6_16-33-5.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-6_16-33-5.jpeg
    23.9 KB · Views: 295
+8.25, 10.9

How do I put a fraction of an hour in the SS.
I tried to copy the one that was input for me but when I pressed enter, it didn’t change colour.
 
You just need to manually enter the value in the US tab as well when you do that, it won’t carry over from the world tab. Then click on the paint icon to colour the cell blue in this case. I didn’t catch up through the whole post yesterday, did you happen to get your insulin syringes in order to give 0.75u tonight?
 
You just need to manually enter the value in the US tab as well when you do that, it won’t carry over from the world tab. Then click on the paint icon to colour the cell blue in this case. I didn’t catch up through the whole post yesterday, did you happen to get your insulin syringes in order to give 0.75u tonight?
I didn’t get syringes… I must have missed that post. Shoot!
 
Thanks for starting a new post :). I shudder to think what 3u would have done had you started with that like the vet suggested.

What snacks did Oscar get today and when? Boy oh boy, he’s having a nice little green surf!:D

View attachment 70728

Tomorrow I think you should start posting in the Lantus Lev Biosimilar insulin support group. There is a different posting guideline https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/ there, posts start with date, Kitty’s name then BG values, I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it.

Oscar had no snacks today! Just his Friskies pate
 
Soooo, since you are feeding exclusively LC canned food (no more dry), and if you can continue to keep monitoring the cycles like you have been, you could switch to TR which would allow you a reduction point of 50 with a human meter, among other things. That would mean staying with 1u.
 
I didn’t get syringes… I must have missed that post. Shoot!
Lol well in fairness to you, I think the topic of using syringes with the pen in order to be able to make small dose adjustments like we do in 0.25u increments vs. Full units with the pen came up a few weeks ago so with all you were processing, likely easy to miss.
 
If you look at your previous Bron gave you information about the syringes on post numbers 9, 10, 11 and 13
@Lisa Lisa Lisa
I do remember that now that you mention it but my head was swimming in those moments.

I initially thought the insulin pen was like epipen, where you couldn’t see the needle, but you most certainly can, so I can look back at those posts and try to go and get some regular syringes and extract the insulin from the quik pen. It will be another learning curve sadly.
 
Am I supposed to give snacks?? I had no idea
I though he had to be strictly on the LC wet food no exceptions
Sorry, I wasn’t very clear. When I say snacks, I mean offering a teaspoon or two of his usual LC food during the cycle. So for example, you may want to feed a couple of bites at +2 when you see his BG numbers dropping and the insulin is onsetting, and maybe a couple of bites again at +3 or +4 to give some new carbs as the insulin continues to lower BG. Makes sense?
 
Soooo, since you are feeding exclusively LC canned food (no more dry), and if you can continue to keep monitoring the cycles like you have been, you could switch to TR which would allow you a reduction point of 50 with a human meter, among other things. That would mean staying with 1u.
Could you explain to me TR ? I’m not sure what that is.
I also don’t quite understand what a reduction point of 50 with a human meter means

im so sorry! I’m not quite up to speed on the terminology for everything yet ❤️
 
Sorry, I wasn’t very clear. When I say snacks, I mean offering a teaspoon or two of his usual LC food during the cycle. So for example, you may want to feed a couple of bites at +2 when you see his BG numbers dropping and the insulin is onsetting, and maybe a couple of bites again at +3 or +4 to give some new carbs as the insulin continues to lower BG. Makes sense?
Makes sense!! Thank you for clarifying. I will most certainly do that next time he is going low! I didn’t realize that was an option!
 
That’s okay, there is a lot of information that’s been given to you the last few weeks. We follow two dosing methods here, the first is start low go slow (SLGS) and the second is Tight Regulation (TR). This link will explain the two Dosing Methods. One difference is the point at which one would take a reduction. For those who follow SLGS a reduction is earned when Kitty’s BG goes under 90 on a human meter. For those who follow TR the reduction point is 50. There are other differences, but since we were talking about Oscar going under 90 today, that earned a reduction to 0.75u following SLGS but if following TR it would not and you’d hold the dose at 1u.
 
That’s okay, there is a lot of information that’s been given to you the last few weeks. We follow two dosing methods here, the first is start low go slow (SLGS) and the second is Tight Regulation (TR). This link will explain the two Dosing Methods. One difference is the point at which one would take a reduction. For those who follow SLGS a reduction is earned when Kitty’s BG goes under 90 on a human meter. For those who follow TR the reduction point is 50. There are other differences, but since we were talking about Oscar going under 90 today, that earned a reduction to 0.75u following SLGS but if following TR it would not and you’d hold the dose at 1u.
Ok, I will go over the TR method as soon as I’ve got my kiddos to bed. (Got a 3 and 4 year old here so it’s busy!) thank you for explaining! ❤️
 
I do remember that now that you mention it but my head was swimming in those moments.

I initially thought the insulin pen was like epipen, where you couldn’t see the needle, but you most certainly can, so I can look back at those posts and try to go and get some regular syringes and extract the insulin from the quik pen. It will be another learning curve sadly.
So I use the penfills cartridges which are what go into the quik pen. You’d just take out the cartridge, and insert the insulin syringe into the cartridge to draw out the insulin.
 
Yes it's very easy. A favor when telling us Oscar's BG can you put 290 instead of 16.1 . It's just easier for the US members to read
Thanks Lisa :cat:
Absolutely!! It’s actually easier for me too as my glucometer reads it like that and I’m always converting it as I was under the impression the world way was what was favoured.

Quick question, if I enter Oscar’s BG into my US SS, will it convert to the world sheet automatically?
Thanks!
 
Absolutely!! It’s actually easier for me too as my glucometer reads it like that and I’m always converting it as I was under the impression the world way was what was favoured.

Quick question, if I enter Oscar’s BG into my US SS, will it convert to the world sheet automatically?
Thanks!
No, it’s the other way around. The data from world gets automatically calculated into US numbers via the formulas in the world SS, but if you enter in data to US it won’t go into the world, you have to manually enter it in.
 
Absolutely!! It’s actually easier for me too as my glucometer reads it like that and I’m always converting it as I was under the impression the world way was what was favoured.

Quick question, if I enter Oscar’s BG into my US SS, will it convert to the world sheet automatically?
Thanks!
It won’t but I have also developed a SS that will but perhaps you just want to use the regular SS all US members use. It would be simpler. Most members who need to use the World SS have meters that read mmol/L instead of the mg/dL we use here.

Please send me a PM if you want me to set up a different SS and transfer your data. That’s an easy fix.
 
It won’t but I have also developed a SS that will but perhaps you just want to use the regular SS all US members use. It would be simpler. Most members who need to use the World SS have meters that read mmol/L instead of the mg/dL we use here.

Please send me a PM if you want me to set up a different SS and transfer your data. That’s an easy fix.

no no! It’s all good. I can do it this way no problem . Thanks for letting me know how it works!

today it doesn’t look like the insulin dropped him too much. Is it possible I didn’t administer it correctly?

AMPS 19.6
Gave 1 unit
+4, 16.1

how often am I supposed to be checking his levels in the beginning?
Eventually, once I find a stable dose for him, will I be checking less?

thanks everyone! ❤️
 
He's bouncing today from those low greens yesterday. Since you are following SLGS for dosing, and he went below 90, he earned a dose reduction down to 0.75 units.

how often am I supposed to be checking his levels in the beginning?
Eventually, once I find a stable dose for him, will I be checking less?
Check before each preshot and at least one other test in the AM and PM cycles. The PM one can be just before you go to bed. If you see he's trending down fast, like he did yesterday, you will need to do more testing to make sure he stays in safe numbers.

As far as the concept of stable dose, hard to say at this early stage. A cat has the unique ability amongst animals to have it's pancreas heal. That happens when they spend time in good BG numbers. And may result in a dose reduction like yesterday. For some lucky people, that may mean the cat eventually goes off of insulin, or goes into diabetic remission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top