Linus am number :( +8 144!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
After a great day yesterday, BG this morning was 530, the highest I've ever tested. He is at +10.5, should I give 1u now, or at the usual time (0800), bump up to 1.5u, or take him outside and chase him around? BTW, he is acting perfectly normal, hungry, and not lethargic or sick.


As I said below, pre shot was down to 386, even after eating, and +6 was 296. So even starting that high, he dropped into the yellow earlier today, which I guess is a plus. I'll check again at +8.

dancing_cat +8 is 144! dancing_cat
 
Re: Linus am number :( need input

I'd stick with the 1u at the normal time, with no feeding until after you get the AMPS number.

Linus' numbers yesterday had a nice decline throughout the AM cycle, not coming back up for shot time. To me, that indicates he's still settling into the dose and 1u may prove to be too much. Time will tell.

I'd hang on for others more experienced to share to be sure though. :smile:
 
Re: Linus am number :( need input

This is difficult. Wish we knew whether this was a "true" high number or whether he dipped low overnight and this is a bounce. Since we can't be sure, I would stick with one unit at the normal time. He got a long cycle on it last cycle and decent numbers. Any chance you can get a mid cycle number sometime today?

With just a little more data we can know whether to increase or stay.
 
Re: Linus am number :( need input

Do not increase and yes, wait until your normal shot time to shoot. I have read that a true rebound cycle, sometimes is higher at +9 and +10. You might see the reading come down some by preshot.

Hang in there and gather data!
 
Re: Linus am number :( need input

Actually, I have a sinus headache this morning and can't count. Shot was late last night, so he was at +9.5 earlier. Worrisome, because hours 10 and 11 have usually been his lowest point. I'll check again now, and hold off on the shot until 0900.

Teresa, I already fed him, but the 530 was a pre-food number.


***516 at 0815, so still high, now at +11 almost

***386 at +12, gave 1 unit, will recheck later
 
Re: Linus am number :( need input

The considerably lower preshot than the +9.5, supports the rebound theory I mentioned. And, your Preshot number is probably even a little higher based on the food--without the feeding the reading most likely would have been even lower. Glad you didn't shoot early!
 
This is looking good! It will be interesting to see if he continues to surf lower or goes back up at preshot. If he is at/below 200, come on and ask about the dose. Depending on the next 4 hours, you may want to reduce. Or not. Who knows what Linus will be thinking.....
 
So here's my complicating factor . . . I leave for work at 7:40pm and shot time isn't till 9:00pm. My son can give shots, but has never done testing. I plan to test on my way out the door to be sure he's coming up, and then have Alec give 1 unit at 9:00 if he is. If he's not - then I panic.
 
"Cat"astrophe happened.

Went to test at 7:15, Linus jumped from the ottoman onto the coffee table and spilled a cup of tea on the meter, which now won't work. Great. I dried it out as best I could, liquid got inside via the strip I had stuck in the end. Hopefully it will dry out overnight and be semi reliable. I'll test it on myself first :)

In the meantime, I'm going to have Alec go ahead with one unit at 9:00pm, and be sure Linus gets a snack then, and a snack before bed. I hate to lose our forward progress by skipping until I have a meter working. I'll keep him at 1 and try to get to Walmart (30mi roundtrip) tomorrow afternoon if I have to.
 
That should be okay. To be super safe, you could go with .5. Hate to say, but your meter may be toast. You can call the manufacturer and tell him your "son" Linus spilled tea on it. They will probably spend another. But it won't get here by tomorrow so it would be a back up.
 
"You can call the manufacturer and tell him your "son" Linus spilled tea on it" LOL!

I'm thinking it's better to go forward with the insulin and keep that going - I may sabotage it a little with extra food, but I would rather have it in his system. Based on this morning's high number, we are picking up the dog food at bedtime so he can't sneak any. I don't know that that is what happened, but it's a possibility. I never feel him leave the bed, he's there when I go to sleep and he's in the same spot when I wake up, I always thought he didn't move, but maybe he does. (visual of Linus in nightcap with refrigerator door open.)
 
Haha Sue that is a funny visual! I can see him in his nightcap and blue stripey PJs holding a candle in one hand as he rummages in the fridge. :)

I never notice Scout leaving the bed at night either but I leave what's left of her dinner out and it is usually gone by morning. But, according to my ex, my cats are sometimes obnoxious at night and I completely sleep through it. Also, I often wake up to find Scout lying on me (I'm on my side and she's perched on my shoulder or on my side)... how on earth she gets up there without waking me up I don't know!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top