Linus 4/17-4/18 Need opinions this morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Active Member
After a really good cycle yesterday morning including a 200 at +8.5 (Almost blue - I almost rechecked, but I didn't want it to be higher ;-) ), Linus only got a partial shot last night (Alec does a good job, but sometimes Linus doesn't cooperate.) So stayed in the high 300's overnight it seems. Today we started at 389 AMPS and plan to go down from there. I'm home until 3:30 this afternoon, so will check and update a few times before then.

Happy Tax Day, everyone! (I got mine done yesterday!! :-D )
 
Re: Linus 4/17

Should have known something was attracting Linus to IHop.
Those darn cute little girl kitties.

Grayson likes her cat(2)_steam
Linus likes this one :RAHCAT

Hoping the next cycle Linus will stay out of IHop.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

DIdn't get a +6 like I wanted to due to something coming up and then I needed to get to work. Pierre just called - PMPS is 198! Now that's a good number, but a little late. We were going to shoot at 730pm, to back up for a 715am shot tomorrow morning. Now I'll test and see what's up when I get home at 8:30. Any ideas for dose and/or timing? Nobody will be home tomorrow between 730am and 230pm.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

Ok if I understand this right you are going to test, feed & shot when you get home @ what technically be +13. Right?
So in order for you to test, feed shot tomorrow at 7am which would be +11 for you to shot at +13 tonight.

If it was Baxter I would do a decrease on each of those doses. Especially if you don't have 11 hrs between tonight & in the morning.

Your day is very similar to my every Wednesday I have to shot @ 7am & don't get home til 4pm.

Remember when you shot early that's like a increase when you shot late that's like a decreased dose.

If you post where Linus is at when you get home. I will try to help you some more.
My weakness is dosing amounts. I'm not one to say oh give this much. But I can try to help you other ways.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

I'm home later than I thought - Linus is 303 at +14 (almost). Shot tomorrow is 10 hours away. I'm thinking 1.6 tonight just to keep him on track, hope for a shootable number tomorrow morning and go back to 2.2 if he's above, say, 275.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

Ok so next time when Pierre test & feeds but doesn't shot & when you get home at least a hour later keep in mind the test you get will be food induced. It takes about 2-3 hours for food to clear the BG. So even though Linus was at 303 he was at 198 before food. He was food spiked.
Members always told me to shot the number that I got before the food. So if it was 198 to shot the dose for 198.

In the morning shot a decrease dose even though you are trying to get back on schedule. Because you are only at +10 in the morning. A lot a change in 2 hours. If Linus gets to much insulin because the cycles are uneven in hours it could cause higher preshots.

It happened to Baxter I was shotting at +10 for pm shots, but the he was going longer before his am shot. It caused a whole mess of crazy nigh numbers. Now we are on a custom sliding scale.

I hope some this makes since if not just ask.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

I do understand. I'm wondering if the late low number means the dose is too high? He was 200 yesterday at +9.5. OTOH, there's still quite a bit of room under that to move down, so I'll give him a while to work it out. I expected him to move up dramatically tonight, he went from 200 to 380 yesterday in just under 3 hours. When his insulin is done, it's done. I think the trick is almost to catch him before that spike and try to head it off at the pass, so maybe the later nadir works with that. It just takes courage to shoot into a lower number knowing that that insulin will wear off soon. But that is what makes Pro Zinc different than some of the others, there is no residual to worry about. So maybe I can use that to my advantage.

I'll check him at 5:00 before I leave for work, and Pierre will check him again at 7:15, and we'll see at that point where he is and I'll make some kind of decision. Definitely will take into consideration that shot time is +10 and not +12.

Thanks for hanging out and giving advice and encouragement. It helps.
 
Re: Linus 4/17

Your welcome. I really dont think I am that much help. Linus still has room to move when he is at 200. I wouldn't say it's to much insulin. Normal BG is 70-120. When Linus is 198 it's still diabetic. Shooting 1.6 into 198 Would probably be to much. When Baxter is 200 I shot only .4. Every cat is different.
With Linus being at 200 at 9.5 isn't bad. Now for Linus to keep dropping into very low....to nsafe low BG his Pancreas would have to kick in full speed. I don't know about hypo though. I would say doubtful, that's a good question to ask.
Somewhere around +9 you want or make sure he doesn't get any food. You will have a accurate preshot number.
Keep in mind nadir is somewhere between +4-+7. Some cats are a little later.

I would do a decrease in the morning.

Have a good night!
 
So this morning at +8, Linus was 375 :( I'm thinking it will be ok to have Pierre shoot 2.2u at 7:15, even though that will be only +10. I'll be home at 3pm to check on him and get a mid cycle number.

In retrospect, because it was late, I probably could have given a larger dose last night, but I wanted to be sure and have a shootable number this morning. I guess I accomplished that, huh?
 
AMPS is 365, this is at +10, so Pierre is going to shoot a little lower (2u). I'll be home at +7.5 to see where he is at that point. 2.2u was looking promising until the late nadir gave us an unshootable number, and then I got home a little too late to catch it. We'll try again today and see what happens.

Everyone have a great day and great numbers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top