Lily

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fairy godmother

Member Since 2018
Hi lily had an insulin increase from 1 unit once a day to 2 units 2 times a day. She is doing well. Checked her pre shot this morning was 288. That is down about 200 points from a few days ago. Eating well and. Acting good. Vet says new curve in 2 weeks. Is 2 units twice a day a lot of lantus? Should I expect her to have decreasing numbers in the next few days? How long does it take to drop numbers?Is it immediate? Thanks.
 
Bumping your post for more responses. Going from 1u once a day to 2twice a day is a big jump. We usually start with 1u twice a day then increase .25 u at a time. Please read the yellow sticky posts at the top of the forum page to learn more about Lantus
 
I’m very concerned about your dosing. You are risking a hypo. Was this done on your vet’s advice?
 
I am home watching her. No signs of hypo. Yes vet recommended to try to get her numbers down and regulated. She did say we may. Be decreasing after next curve. I will test before shot this morning
 
I strongly feel you should try 1.0 twice a day since you have only been giving insulin once a day. More than doubling the insulin is dangerous. I bet the numbers reflect once a day dosing. Since you don’t have a spreadsheet I wouldn’t even advise a dose at all. If you go forward I hope you test frequently until way past nadir.
 
That increase from 1 unit once a day to 2 units twice a day is a huge 400% increase. Please consider testing at home and setting up our spreadsheet so we can help.
 
I got a post delivered to my email but it seems to be deleted. The nadir is the lowest point in a cycle usually 5-7 hours after insulin but it can be earlier or later. Max never had a symyomatic hypo that I know of at least. Sometimes I would test expecting him to be at a certain level and found he dropped under 50 or even 40 without showing any signs. Other times he would just get very hungry. The only way to know the bg is to test. With a huge increase like you have given I would get a +1 and +2. If either of those numbers is lower than the preshot I’d test at least hourly as it means an active cycle. Lantus kicked in for Max usually at +2-3 so I knew when to test. I had lots of data. If you won’t set up a spreadsheet and want input we need to know all test results. You can add them to your subect bar as you test.
 
Hi I am new here today so forgive me if I am on the wrong thread and if anyone can tell me where I should post that would be really helpful. My lovely Luna (aged 11) has lost around 3kg (6.6lbs)in weight and just been diagnosed with diabetes. She is now only 5.7kgs (12.54 lbs) She was given caninsulin by vet at 2 units, once per day for a week which resulted in her in visibly spiralling down within 30-40 minutes every time and having a fever. Her Nadir with caninsulin was about 7-8 hours after injecting. The vet wanted me to give her another 1 unit at night but I refused due to what I consider to be an adverse reaction. The vet finally agreed with me that it must be the caninsulin causing her to have a fever. We changed her to Lantus 2 days ago. For the record, we are finding the Lantus pen difficult to use (there is no 'feeling' with the very fine needle as it goes through the skin) and you can't actually visibly see if any insulin has been delivered - you have to trust in the pen. Also, it only has a choice of delivering 1 unit or 2 units - no other measures. We are testing BG at home (poor Luna having me and my husband for cat parents lol) . First day she had 1 unit at night, second day (yesterday) she had 2 units in morning and 1 unit at night. BG readings yesterday were 10:36hrs - 455, 13:16hrs - 316, 16:49hrs - 324, 22:34 hrs - 401. We really expected the readings to go down at the 16.49hrs test. This morning she has had 2 units @ 10:22 and her BG was 425. We tested her again at 14:24 and her bg is 363 . These readings seem weird/very high? The vet wants us to give her 2 units in the morning and 2 units at night but I am so scared of overdosing her. We don't really know the best time to test her today now but will probably go for 18:30 hrs - does anyone agree/disagree ? The vet is amazing but unfortunately not very experienced with diabetes in cats and is also leaving to go to Australia on Sunday! Any advice would be really appreciated.
 
Hi I am new here today so forgive me if I am on the wrong thread and if anyone can tell me where I should post that would be really helpful. My lovely Luna (aged 11) has lost around 3kg (6.6lbs)in weight and just been diagnosed with diabetes. She is now only 5.7kgs (12.54 lbs) She was given caninsulin by vet at 2 units, once per day for a week which resulted in her in visibly spiralling down within 30-40 minutes every time and having a fever. Her Nadir with caninsulin was about 7-8 hours after injecting. The vet wanted me to give her another 1 unit at night but I refused due to what I consider to be an adverse reaction. The vet finally agreed with me that it must be the caninsulin causing her to have a fever. We changed her to Lantus 2 days ago. For the record, we are finding the Lantus pen difficult to use (there is no 'feeling' with the very fine needle as it goes through the skin) and you can't actually visibly see if any insulin has been delivered - you have to trust in the pen. Also, it only has a choice of delivering 1 unit or 2 units - no other measures. We are testing BG at home (poor Luna having me and my husband for cat parents lol) . First day she had 1 unit at night, second day (yesterday) she had 2 units in morning and 1 unit at night. BG readings yesterday were 10:36hrs - 455, 13:16hrs - 316, 16:49hrs - 324, 22:34 hrs - 401. We really expected the readings to go down at the 16.49hrs test. This morning she has had 2 units @ 10:22 and her BG was 425. We tested her again at 14:24 and her bg is 363 . These readings seem weird/very high? The vet wants us to give her 2 units in the morning and 2 units at night but I am so scared of overdosing her. We don't really know the best time to test her today now but will probably go for 18:30 hrs - does anyone agree/disagree ? The vet is amazing but unfortunately not very experienced with diabetes in cats and is also leaving to go to Australia on Sunday! Any advice would be really appreciated.
Create your own thread on the Lantus forum for eyes and answers. Read the yellow stickies and info at the top of the forum. Welcome to the sugar dance!:confused::cat::p
 
Hi, Ok will do and thank you - so far it's a nightmare but I am sooo happy to have found this site. Thanks again :-)
 
Hi I agree it is a huge jump for lily. So I tested her at +6 and it was 64!!!! Way too low so I gave her food , treats and a little dry food. She was licking her mouth like she was nauseous so I knew to test her. Called the vet. I said it’s too much insulin. She said no shot this evening and she will call me later. I think 1 unit twice a day would be better. Thank you all for helping me
 
Hi I agree it is a huge jump for lily. So I tested her at +6 and it was 64!!!! Way too low so I gave her food , treats and a little dry food. She was licking her mouth like she was nauseous so I knew to test her. Called the vet. I said it’s too much insulin. She said no shot this evening and she will call me later. I think 1 unit twice a day would be better. Thank you all for helping me
What kind of a meter are you using. 64 at +6 is a good nadir, lowest point if using a human meter. I would grab another test in a half hour. You could try feeding a little if her regular food at this point since she’s likely close to nadir. But again without a spreadsheet with data, who knows? The depot is building so she could drop too low tonight or tomorrow. Sorry to harp on you but PLEASE start a spreadsheet. Also add a signature and include meter type, food you are feeding, any other medical and conditions. Then we won’t jeep asking the same questions. If you need help setting up the spreadsheet just holler and someone will help you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top