Lilly PMPS 317 Need Help Again

Status
Not open for further replies.

terri1962

Member Since 2011
I tested her at +7 and she was 94 now she is at 317 she has never been that high and is not eating what could be going on? She was acting strange today out here with me all day very. Most often she is hding in the bedroom. Should I be trying to feed her, not feed her? What in the world could be going on?

Terri
 
Lilly is bouncing! It's her body's natural defense against those low numbers. Even tho' they were 'normal', her body isn't used to being that low so dumped a bunch of sugar. KT's does this all the time. If you look at his spreadsheet right after every green/blue, he shoots up to yellow/pink for a while.

Welcome to the 'boingy' club... flip_cat flip_cat
 
She has never been this high, should I be worried, she is not eating, do I need to get out the tuna to get her to eat? She is just laying around.
Do I need to test her again at + 2? None of my cats are eating anything today, very odd.

Terri
 
can you get a ketone test? That's always a good idea if they aren't acting right and aren't eating well. If the other cats aren't eating well either, it's possible you have a batch of food that tastes different. Maybe try something different and see if they like that better.

Most likely she will stay high tonight (bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, though I wouldn't be surprised if hers clears quicker than that). Now you can see why we harp on mid-cycle tests, though. Probably she has been hitting green fairly often. That means you don't want to increase the dose again until you have really given this dose a chance to show what it can do. It also means that you'll want to keep getting spot checks as often as possible. If Lilly is hitting 40s, then it will be time to reduce her dose.
 
One of the reasons that we encourage getting spot checks is so you can see those drops into green numbers. That drop also helps to explain the bounce up to the pink PMPS.
 
She is really sick she won`t eat anything. I even got tuna out she will not touch it. I gave her some pepcid think I got down her. I only seen her this sick once before when she had pancreatitis. I put her in a room by herself so I can see what she eats aand away from the stress of the kitten.
Right now I don`t think its about the diabtetes I am wondering what the heck is wrong with her and how did she get so sick so quick.
She seemed fine today a little irritated but I did not see her eating a whole lot. maybe not like normal, I don`t know. I think this may be the end of her if she does not eat.
I tried to test her and she actually growled at me she has never done that before so I did not test her. I knew she felt bad.

Terri
 
I'm hoping it's just the rush up to the higher BG that's making her feel woozy or off.
 
Have you guys seen this happen before? I am really concerned I will wake to a deceased cat.

Terri
 
If she seems in pain or to be suffering, a vet visit is in order. OSU Veterinary school does offer emergency hours.
 
If she's acting like she did with pancreatitis, it's best to get her in to see the vet. They can run blood work and a spec fPLI -- this is the test for diagnosing panrcreatitis. If it's pancreatitis, it's a painful condition which may explain why Lilly growled at you. If Lilly isn't eating tomorrow, I think a vet visit is in order.

If you are as concerned as you sound, you may want to take Lilly to the ER.
 
Lilly is at the vet today. She did not eat anything last night and I was up all night with her. Went to check her BG and she growled at me, never did that before.
They have gotten some Sub Cut fluids in her and gave her something for upset stomach. I do believe they are going to keep her overnight. i just called to have them make sure she does not have a UTI.
She was actually drooling last night and growling I have no idea what was going on. This morning she seemed perkier but still would not eat.
She did throw up a couple times yesterday, I found in my bedroom and behind the couch which I saw her do. My goodness what this poor cat has been through.

Terri
 
Thank you guys. I think she is maybe having pancreatitis and I told the vet that but she did not listen. My vet is in tomorrow maybe she will listen.

Terri
 
Sometimes, it may help to type up the concerns you have - then it can't go in 1 ear and out the other, making it more likely the issue is addressed.
 
Terri:

The drooling is probably nausea; I think it is important to make sure they check her for pancreatitis. Esp if she is vomiting, acts painful in the pancreas area, not eating, nauseous, etc. Also...be sure they do NOT give her meta cam and that if she does have pancreatitis, they give her something for pain. Buprenex is usually the drug of choice for that.

Sending Lilly healing vines. Please keep us posted.
 
I saw this on Frankie's condo:

They have given her sub cu fluids and something for upset stomach, starts with a Metronoizale

If she's having a bout of pancreatitis, the metronidazole is not really indicated. It's an AB which is good for GI upset ....usually for gastritis or colitis. You need to keep pushing them to do the spec FPL (specific feline pancreatic lipase) test.

Here is a very good website with info regarding pancreatitis:

Feline Pancreatitis
 
I just called and they are not gving her anything for pain. They said she is up moving around in her cage. I will get up in the morning and get down there and try and talk to the other vet about what is causing this.
Its like trying to pull teeth with the ones that are in there now. The one that is in tomorrw is the one that has treated her for awhile.

Terri
 
Can't offer anything but healing thoughts, which I am sending lots of. So sorry you and Lilly are going through this, but at least you have her where she can be observed.

I hate to hear that your vet isn't paying attention to what you're saying, though. I know you've had issues. Maybe someone can find you a vet who will listen!
 
Kathy

Good to hear from you. Hope Kitty is doing well. Lilly is having such a hard time. She is getting older now almost 13. Well do take care of Kitty he is such a pretty cat you know.

Terri
 
My vet was in today and I told her I wanted her to run the test for pancreatitis. She said she would. How accurate is this test? She said it tells them a little but the only real way is to send to the specialist and get an ultrasound done of the pancreas. I can not afford that. I told her lets start with this test and see.
I will be picking her up tonight. The other cats have had a real time eating dry food for the past two days as I only put it down when shes not out but have been able to leave it out for two days now. Will have to pick it back up this evening.
They said she ate all of her food last night at the vet which is good. The vet asked why I was only giving her .5 units of insulin instead of 1 unit like she told me.
I told her just what someone here told me, it better to be safe than sorry and once you put it in you can`t take it back out and she backed off a little. I also told her her numbers overall have not been that high with the exception of the incident the other evening when we were at 317.
She said to go ahead and leave at .50 so that what I wil do unless BG goes up then I will call her and we will see then. So thats what is going on for now.

Terri
 
good for you, terri, for explaining that to your vet. Little comments like that can educate people and perhaps your vet is learning from you. i hope you get test results back soon and lilly is feeling better quickly.
 
I'm so glad Lilly is coming home! I hope she feels better.

I know how hard it is to give information to vets who really prefer not to hear it. Good for you.
 
Good for you, Terri!

You know Lilly best; you live with her. Vets know the generalities, not the day to day specifics of diabetes management, unless they have had a diabetic cat themselves.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top