Vintry
Member Since 2014
Dear forum members,
I would like to ask you for advice. I am not new here, my cat Barsa has been diagnosed with diabetes in Nov 2013. With your help I was able to set up a spreadsheet and successfully regulate her diabetes, she was in the range of desired numbers most of the time, on 3 units of Caninsulin. About 3 months ago, while I was away on holiday, my mum tested and noticed Barsa's BG was a lot higher than usual, she decided to up the dose to 3.5. Then up to 4 units. I think she increased it prematurely and too soon. Cat's pre-shot BG went from the usual 15-17 to over 20, while nadirs sometimes went too low and sometimes remained very high. We realised she's experiencing Somogii effect. Went back to 3 units, remained on that dose for 3 days. Pre-shot BGs came down back to 15-17 BUT she's developed resistance to Caninsulin, it no longer lowers glucose like before. While all that was happening Barsa lost A LOT of weight, from 4kg to now 3.1kg. At some point she didn't want to eat anything but it is better now.
The question I have is about insulin dose. I just started her on Levemir. My vet instructed I administer 2 units. I was afraid it might be too high after reading some information on how to determine the correct dose (0.25 x cat's weight). So I started her on 1 unit and I suspect that is not the right dose, it is too low, taking into account that she was on 3units of Caninsulin, 1 unit if Levemir might be not enough.. Now the problem is that Barsa is at a critical weight and I'm just happy that she's eating but if I don;t regulate her sugar soon enough..I just don't know how long she can put up with constantly high sugar. It's not in the 20s anymore, on 1 unit of Levemir she's 17 pre-shot and nadir is 12-14 after 4 cycles but that is still high. I know that I can increase the dose only after 3days.
Question - Levemir dose increase should be done in 0.25 increments after 3-5 days. Can go from 1 to 2 units? If not, can I increase to 1.5 instead of the recommended 1.25? I can up the dose on 7th cycle (after 3 days), which means this Sat evening. Hopefully you can help me decide what to do.
P.S. The spreadsheet is not updated. I relaxed and stopped updating it when Barsa became well-regulated on Caninsulin.
Thank you
I would like to ask you for advice. I am not new here, my cat Barsa has been diagnosed with diabetes in Nov 2013. With your help I was able to set up a spreadsheet and successfully regulate her diabetes, she was in the range of desired numbers most of the time, on 3 units of Caninsulin. About 3 months ago, while I was away on holiday, my mum tested and noticed Barsa's BG was a lot higher than usual, she decided to up the dose to 3.5. Then up to 4 units. I think she increased it prematurely and too soon. Cat's pre-shot BG went from the usual 15-17 to over 20, while nadirs sometimes went too low and sometimes remained very high. We realised she's experiencing Somogii effect. Went back to 3 units, remained on that dose for 3 days. Pre-shot BGs came down back to 15-17 BUT she's developed resistance to Caninsulin, it no longer lowers glucose like before. While all that was happening Barsa lost A LOT of weight, from 4kg to now 3.1kg. At some point she didn't want to eat anything but it is better now.
The question I have is about insulin dose. I just started her on Levemir. My vet instructed I administer 2 units. I was afraid it might be too high after reading some information on how to determine the correct dose (0.25 x cat's weight). So I started her on 1 unit and I suspect that is not the right dose, it is too low, taking into account that she was on 3units of Caninsulin, 1 unit if Levemir might be not enough.. Now the problem is that Barsa is at a critical weight and I'm just happy that she's eating but if I don;t regulate her sugar soon enough..I just don't know how long she can put up with constantly high sugar. It's not in the 20s anymore, on 1 unit of Levemir she's 17 pre-shot and nadir is 12-14 after 4 cycles but that is still high. I know that I can increase the dose only after 3days.
Question - Levemir dose increase should be done in 0.25 increments after 3-5 days. Can go from 1 to 2 units? If not, can I increase to 1.5 instead of the recommended 1.25? I can up the dose on 7th cycle (after 3 days), which means this Sat evening. Hopefully you can help me decide what to do.
P.S. The spreadsheet is not updated. I relaxed and stopped updating it when Barsa became well-regulated on Caninsulin.
Thank you