Zach Pool
Member
My 15 year old snowshoe has been tightly regulated with lantus for several years now. Usually ranges between 160-170amps to 100-120 in the middle of his curve. He began having trouble eating this year and had a dental procedure done, now everything has changed. Blood glucose levels are all over the place requiring higher doses of insulin. There are also instances where I have reduced the dose of insulin and noted smaller discrepancies in blood glucose fluctuation. There is no consistency to be provided in listing numbers for a curve. I am more curious in discussing the potential in getting higher glucose levels from using more insulin than necessary. Has anyone else experienced this? Is it possible that a cat can continually release glucagon into their bloodstream day after day to combat and excess of lantus? I have noted that upon increasing the amount of insulin administered you can most certainly get elevated blood glucose levels. I am curious if this trend can be continued day after day.