Carolyn and Spot
Member Since 2009
Ok where to start.
Hell of a week around here. First I would like to make an admission of my recent and rather unparalleled stupidity. Especially on my part, since most people that know me are aware that I like to pretend I am never ever wrong.
So.... ::deep breath::
Flank shots may in fact work better than scruff shots.
See what had happened was.. we were kinda trolling along finding our dose after a recent hiccup where I had to reduce a couple units. What happens is we get a low preshot like 150 and then I start reducing immediately. I know the Lev shed is monstrous with Leo so I know what's coming. A skipped dose, a couple BCS doses and then I restart him about 5u lower than I was and work my way up to where he needs to be. So we were at 29.5u I think last weekend. Then Caryl innocently mentions flank shots, I scoff and say shoot scruff/shoulder. I tried the flank. Tried it on Spot, who bit me, Oscar who glared at me and produced higher numbers, and then Leo who laughed and also produced higher numbers. So I decide to test the theory again. I get a 267, shoot 29.5u split into two doses into two locations in his flank region. Leo glares at me, I go about my business and wind up with a PS of 93. :shock:
:shock:
:shock:
:shock: *much cussing*
What to do! Can't shoot that! Sooo long story short, over the past 4 days, Leo has had multiple double digit preshots, 3 in the low 100s, missed 3 doses, had 5 doses reduced by 5u or more or just completely BCS'd and just got caught dropping at PS again.. He's somewhere around 15u right now. I have no idea where we're gonna end up, because the Lev shed can take many days to drain for him. Every single dose has been administered to the flanks.
Since Leo is an acro, I don't know if this is a coincidence and the GH output was still fluctuating after our recent decrease, or if his shoulder area is too populated by granulomas or whatever they are, or if he just absorbs insulin better in the flank area. Regardless, I may have been wrong. There, I said it. :mrgreen:
Now, onto fabulous Leo pics. Leo got a haircut on Tuesday which may also have had something to do with these numbers. He's been plagued by hairballs and it was time. I didn't do the most beautiful job because Leo wasn't really interested in hanging around for the trimming and edging, but he is LOVING his tummy rubs and the skin on skin contact. Check him out
Here we don't think we need a shot or test and we prove it by showing how happy we feel:
Here we are getting our belly rub:
Playing on Mama's feet:
And sleeping next to me while I'm typing this (I sit on the floor a lot now cuz he likes it):
Happy Caturday everyone!
Hell of a week around here. First I would like to make an admission of my recent and rather unparalleled stupidity. Especially on my part, since most people that know me are aware that I like to pretend I am never ever wrong.
Flank shots may in fact work better than scruff shots.
See what had happened was.. we were kinda trolling along finding our dose after a recent hiccup where I had to reduce a couple units. What happens is we get a low preshot like 150 and then I start reducing immediately. I know the Lev shed is monstrous with Leo so I know what's coming. A skipped dose, a couple BCS doses and then I restart him about 5u lower than I was and work my way up to where he needs to be. So we were at 29.5u I think last weekend. Then Caryl innocently mentions flank shots, I scoff and say shoot scruff/shoulder. I tried the flank. Tried it on Spot, who bit me, Oscar who glared at me and produced higher numbers, and then Leo who laughed and also produced higher numbers. So I decide to test the theory again. I get a 267, shoot 29.5u split into two doses into two locations in his flank region. Leo glares at me, I go about my business and wind up with a PS of 93. :shock:
What to do! Can't shoot that! Sooo long story short, over the past 4 days, Leo has had multiple double digit preshots, 3 in the low 100s, missed 3 doses, had 5 doses reduced by 5u or more or just completely BCS'd and just got caught dropping at PS again.. He's somewhere around 15u right now. I have no idea where we're gonna end up, because the Lev shed can take many days to drain for him. Every single dose has been administered to the flanks.
Since Leo is an acro, I don't know if this is a coincidence and the GH output was still fluctuating after our recent decrease, or if his shoulder area is too populated by granulomas or whatever they are, or if he just absorbs insulin better in the flank area. Regardless, I may have been wrong. There, I said it. :mrgreen:
Now, onto fabulous Leo pics. Leo got a haircut on Tuesday which may also have had something to do with these numbers. He's been plagued by hairballs and it was time. I didn't do the most beautiful job because Leo wasn't really interested in hanging around for the trimming and edging, but he is LOVING his tummy rubs and the skin on skin contact. Check him out
Here we don't think we need a shot or test and we prove it by showing how happy we feel:
Here we are getting our belly rub:
Playing on Mama's feet:
And sleeping next to me while I'm typing this (I sit on the floor a lot now cuz he likes it):
Happy Caturday everyone!