Learning Game....wanna play?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

I thought since we have quite a few newbie's....and one who is flirting with remission, it might be a fun idea to teach what we don't see as often as we used to. twas a time when treating hypo like numbers was rather routine on the health board. not so much as of late.
Most folks been here a while have seen their share of them.
This game is set up so you won't kill the cycle altogether (trust me, people do it)
or that you won't take low but not scary numbers at the WRONG time to casually.
soooooo.;
play if you like.

Amps...316 2U
+2 .....290
+7 .....47

whatdaya do now???



or scenario 2.

amps 317 1u
+2 .....64


whatdaya do now?

have fun...think and be creative.
 
Well, I'm tired & my head is foggy but the first thing I would do is pull out some medium card food then restest in 15 mins. for both, all the while sigining on here and pulling out my hypo print out. I've got some honey in easy reach. That is probably all wrong which is why I'm scared to death I'm gonna give her too much insulin!
 
hey Barbara...you learn as you go. the difference in the 2 sceanrio's is the time of the low and the lowish number....so you want to take time (+) as well as # into consideration. play in the morning when your not tired maybe

Amps...316 2U
+2 .....290
+7 .....47

whatdaya do now???



or scenario 2.

amps 317 1u
+2 .....64
 
keep in mind this is what I would do or what I would advise someone to do if they asked me. what each person does themselves is up to them though

1. nothing immediately. insulin's gonna poop out and numbers are going to start climbing anyway and 47 is a fine number. buttt, i would reduce dose at next shot because that's just too freaking big of a drop and would make kitty feel like crap. assuming there was nothing that aided in dropping the BG that much, i.e. puke, exercise, fluids, etc....

2. i would immediately retest to verify number, if number is correct then i would feed higher carb food than our regular food and test, feed, test, feed, etc. right on thru peak or until i felt numbers were safe. i then would spend some serious thought on why in the heck that big of a drop happened in the first place so quickly, i.e. one of the two tests were inaccurate, cat was given two shots by two family members, i read the clock wrong and shot too early, i gave the cat my insulin instead of theirs, etc......

:-D
 
What Cindy said :mrgreen:

'cept for the second I would feed right away and not retest, cuz my hands would be shaking so bad and I'd be panicked and restesting would just be a wasted test strip as I ended up dropping everything on the floor and bursting out in tears :lol:

and it probably goes w/o saying (but I'll say it anyhow just in case), I'd reduce the dose on the 2nd one too - on the 1st I'd pull back to 1.8, or 1.6 if I were worried and not home to monitor; on the 2nd I'd, hmmm, not 100% sure, maybe cut the dose in half as a starting point and see where that lands

p.s. nice idea Lori! I've realized in the past few days there are some things I take so much for granted as obvious that I forget to say them, and then when someone does what I say it's a bit of an oops, b/c I left something out & just didn't think to mention it.... so I think the scenarios are a nice way to illustrate some things in a non-stress situation :-D
 
Awww Joanna....YOUR hands would shake at 64????? I guess I'm hard to scare after what I've been thru...+2 38...yep. after amps of 180 or so. uh huh...yep. and I did'nt really freak at first. I got the HC out..I fed, and then I comfortably in the privacy of my bathroom FREAKED. but this was Lev and I was on my way to work. And the test was just random...just becuase..no reason...just felt like it.

The game of course changes if you HAVE to leave for a little while. In my case for about 20 minutes to cancel my app't book at work.
I got my neighbor to sit with tom with honey in her hand... i gave him a little smear before i left the house.
Then got home and spent the whole day laying in bed together. up and down up and down ....but that is lev not pzi.

If the fast drop scenario happens at night. crappus! i like to get some sleep right. so i abort the cycle. i hit him with all four guns. i honey him... i HC with gravy him.... I kibble him and then say goodnight with a bowl of LC next to my bed with meter and strips next to bed and tom in bed too.

hey, a girls gotta get some sleep.

and cindy....you always show up for a game!!! :lol:

Any newbie wanna put up a scenario for us? or any oldie?
 
Oh Cindy took us too the advanced course....something we don't usually talk about at the time of the situation but when it's all over. It's a very important part of the process...figure out why and accept that you may never know why...and then do a dose change.

You will almost certainly see a higher number for the next PS. either becuase of the food you fed. or the rebound (let's not get into that for newbie's yet) and we tend to ignore that high number and shoot the agreed upon lowered dose.
 
yep, got a momentary breather in life today so thought i'd try to do some reading tonight. :-)

and yes, like joanna, after almost 5 years of this i tend to go with the flow I call Mousie so it's good to have to think about it from time to time
 
And Cindy did I read you 'your insulin'???? has it happened...are you shooting up now? I am sorry to hear that. Last I heard you were just dealing with higher bg's but not insulin dependant.
gosh, I hope I misunderstood.
 
fortunately nope, no insulin for me yet :-) but thank you for your concern lori

that was more of a hypothetical actually but yeah, mine was creeping up there a ways that's for sure.

a few dietary changes held me pretty steady in mid to higher 100's but quitting soda cold turkey got me back in much better numbers, mostly right around 100, so while i've got to watch myself, i'm not medicine or insulin dependent yet thank goodness :-)

i sure do miss my pizza for breakfast every day though that's for sure :lol: now i'm lucky if i have it once every couple months. but i've seen the consequences of out of control diabetes in humans and i'll do what it takes to steer clear of all that, even if that means giving up mountain dew and pizza :-(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top