? LC / MC / HC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allison K

Member Since 2021
I understand what the short forms mean (LC = Low carb, MC = medium carb, & HC = high carb). What I am not clear on is what level of carbs identifies which type of food is in which category? So when a moderator etc. says "feed your cat some HC food" I know which one I should be grabbing for if available and what my alternatives are (in my case at the moment, if I am suggested to feed some HC food, I have to add a drop of honey to my MC because that is all I have besides his usual LC food). Thanks!
 
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any one that's on the food list, doesn't have to be Fancy Feast

Good to have these on hand, it's really only the Gravy you would need to feed him, or just a teaspoon of the food.

Food chart link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Hi when you skip could you please NS in the AMPS cell :cat:
Huh? I do not have AMPS in today's cell I have AMBS which is what I was told to put

My question in this thread was just regarding what the division was for carb content for the LC/MC/HC foods. Thanks
 
Huh? I do not have AMPS in today's cell I have AMBS which is what I was told to put

On your spreadsheet, if you skip on purpose, we usually ask that you put N.S. into the U cell for "no shot". It's not so important on the day it happens, but it will matter in the next several cycles that we know you skipped a shot and that you did it on purpose...it wasn't a furshot.

When you post here on the board, for your subject line, that's where you put AMBG instead of AMPS because you didn't shoot....so you had an AM Blood Glucose instead of an AM Pre-Shot.

I know it seems silly (and sometimes downright stupid sounding) but it does help those of us that try to help scan the forum to see how people are doing.

Like if I saw a subject line that said "7/26 Kitty, AMPS 48" I'd think "oh my....I hope that was just a mis-type because if she gave insulin at that low, it could be a very long and scary day!"

If it said "7/26, Kitty, AMBG 48", I'd instantly know that the caretaker didn't give any insulin so I don't need to keep my eye on them quite as closely.
 
I don’t know if it’s an option for you, but I write the carbs on the top of the cans of cat food and have them on their own shelf from lowest to highest. Since I have fewer MC and HC, I also have that marked on there. It’s especially useful if my hubby (who is home during the day more often than me) needs to intervene during the day.
 
I was mainly wanting to know which were in which % bracket ... makes it easier when making sure I have some of LC MC and HC. Right now I just have LC and MC ... grabbing some HC to add to the supplies when I shop on Friday

Which Chris did:

LC = <10%
MC = 11% - 16%
HC = >16%
 
Is this a good choice for a HC food? It is one of the few I see at the Wal-mart I shop at (best price around here for cat food). The chart on catfood.info and running the numbers through balanceit.com are like 5% difference but I know the info from Purina will be General analysis so expected discrepancy ...
 
I was out shopping today and of the two varieties I am used to getting for my cat (Friskies & Fancy Feast) ... there was so few of the HC varieties available ... this was one of the few I could find that was 20%+ ... I hoping to find the Beef in Gravy by FF but no luck .... oh well will keep an eye out for others over time ... so now I have his LC (daily feeder) which are all under 10% ... some 15-16% for MC and now some HC (think its like 25% according to the list but its what I could find) .... Is the "Friskies Indoor Saucy Seafood Bake with Garden Greens in Sauce" ok? Like I said, it IS on the list and is one of the lowest carb of that flavor type.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top