Lantus- Tight Regulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

catsrus

Member Since 2013
Newbie here
Getting (trying to) dialed in with newly diagnosed DM kitty using lantus.
Vet started at 2 units (.3 on 3/10 syringe) - overlap was crazy long. ( up to 20 hours to nadir)
decreased to .2 and still working on 14 to sixteen hours til peak.
Also been jumping wildly with deltas of over 300 pts on the BG reads within 12 hours.
Going to try feeding more frequently. (Primal Freeze Dried Turkey keeps him the most level - I think)
Right now wondering how low can I be with his BG level and juice him in trying to stick to a steady schedule
- whether that be 9 hours or 19 hours - so far I have not been able to get close to 12.
Phfeeough! I'll take a breath - Am I making sense?
 
Hi there, if you could in the box put cats name and and date "check the 911" and right "Dosing Advise" someone will answer you with all the info you need. I can't give dosing info but there are great people here to help you out.

Linda and Lucky :smile:
 
Welcome to LantusLand, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: We usually ask people to start on the Health forum to learn the basics of giving insulin, testing and feeding low carb wet food. It's pretty intense here and new people can be overwhelmed at first. It's really your choice, we'll do our best to help.

One thing you will need in either forum is a spreadsheet. The instructions are here. Please ask if you have any problems or questions.

And be sure to breathe! :lol: What is your kitty's name?
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Lantus dosing advice

OK so after a trip to the ER, I'm back and still acting the newbie. Forgive me for not following decorum, I will get it figured out. Thank goodness the extra curricular was for my smashed finger and nothing to do with "Bruce". (the name he came with). His real name will pop out one of these days.
I am not new to caring for health challenged kitties, including DM. But this is my first rodeo as far as being on the front end of a newly diagnosed diabetic. I am immune to all the "P's" coming and going, a professional whiner when it comes to feline diet, and I am all about kitties, All the time. Fortunately, I usually get to be like a doting grandparent who spoils 'em and then sends them home, and the focus is on fun.
Given his age, (3) the subject of this discussion may be genetically predisposed to diabetes, but I am very hopeful that I can get this beautiful boy turned around as he is a very important part of someone else's life. So, Bruce is not my kitty, but like all my charges, think of me as his godfather. Bruce is a guest at my little hotel and that can be enough said about that, except that he is the first kitty to come stay with me with the primary mission statement being one of health care instead of simply a vacation. His official person is 85 and in transition with his housing and there was no way he was going to be able to deal with a new DM Kitty.
I will add that I take care of (and bond with) a lot of different personalities and there is something truly special about this guy. Any other kitty would have handed me my head. He is really doing his part and I feel like I am letting him down.

Everything I thought I knew about feline diabetes is pretty well shot, and right now it seems at least I am not alone in my ignorance but it's just plain scary to me that there is so much bad information out there. I am so relieved that this forum is here, because if I speak to one more vet that tells me to just perpetuate this little guy's condition (and risk killing him in the process) and follow a loosely regulated protocol, I'm going to lose it.

I will get a spread sheet going and get some stats plugged in. I know my first question if one could decipher it from my first rambling was a tough one, but I need to understand at what point I can safely pull the trigger so to speak and keep my new buddy from going through these crazy roller coaster rides with his numbers. (200 points in an hour)

Thank you all.
 
It's hard for me to wrap my head around your question. I suspect having the visual of a spreadsheet will help.

Are you asking about a drop in numbers of 200 points? Or were you asking about when it's safe to give a a shot? On this board, we recommend that a pre-shot test of 150 or below is when you should post and ask for help.

I would encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will give you a solid foundation in using Lantus, background on the dosing protocol we use, and the nuances of this Board.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal version -- the “Tilly” Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany, which was also published by Kirsten Roomp & Jacqui Rand, DVM in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
 
So yes my main question was safe level to shoot and if I had enough data I could probably answer that question but I have been OCD about readings 12+ but not enough at 1+, etc.
To add to my angst, I'm pretty sure I gave him an excellent fur shot this morning (missing that finger more than I thought I would) so he's getting some extra treats out of the deal. (He looks at everything in a positive light) I on the other hand believe my blood pressure is tied to his numbers, so hopefully I got some in him.
The link for the Google Doc came up dead, but I will try again when I have a desktop PC - and I'll get to work.
I tried to graph it a couple of days ago and it turned out the oppsite of a visual aid.
Thanks guys
JH
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top