Lantus Solostar pens recommended starting dosage ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

alleycat

Member Since 2016
I am trying to get Chester started on the Lantus. I have done a 24 detox and today was his first day. I am trying to start him out on .25 units using 3/10 needles with half unit markings. I can easily get .5 measured but I'm having trouble getting .25 measured out. I don't have the money to buy any more ProZinc and the Lantus was donated to me by a friend. He was on 3.2 units of ProZinc and I am wondering if anyone started out at .5 after switching to Lantus. I think I added enough to my profile but if you have additional questions, just ask. Also, I read that the Lantus Solostar pen doesn't have to be refrigerated after opening and another that it does!?? Which is it? I refrigerated it. Thanks for any help. Allison
 
We refrigerate them to make them last as long as possible......In humans, who are using the "dial-a-dose" mechanism instead of pulling the insulin out, they don't recommend refrigeration because it can interfere with the mechanism

Usually, we take into consideration the previous dose a cat has been on when figuring out a new dose for a different insulin......if Chester was on 3.2 units of ProZinc, he should probably start close to that on Lantus, not drop all the way back to .25

Are you home testing? Do you have any blood glucose results for Chester when you were using ProZinc?
 
I am in the process of switching Smoky from Vetsulin to Prozinc. He was up to 3.5 units of vetsulin. I started him on two units of prozinc for 2 or 3 cycles and am slowly increasing the dose by .25 at a time. Sunday am and pm dose I gave him 2.5 units and Monday am and pm I'm giving him 2.75 units. I check his blood sugar before each shot. Hope this helps you:)

I noticed you are trying out Lantus after using prozinc. How did your kitty do on the prozinc? I was just wondering since Smoky is just starting it.
 
Last edited:
What were BG values with the ProZinc before shot and about 6 hours after shot?
I would not start at 1/4 unit unless you has a lot of hypos on ProZinc.
If not good control and no hypos I would start at 1 1/2 units Lantus twice daily
 
We refrigerate them to make them last as long as possible......In humans, who are using the "dial-a-dose" mechanism instead of pulling the insulin out, they don't recommend refrigeration because it can interfere with the mechanism

Usually, we take into consideration the previous dose a cat has been on when figuring out a new dose for a different insulin......if Chester was on 3.2 units of ProZinc, he should probably start close to that on Lantus, not drop all the way back to .25

Are you home testing? Do you have any blood glucose results for Chester when you were using ProZinc?
Yes I am home testing with the ReliOn. The lowest result I got for him was 138 on ProZinc. I just increased the Lantus dosage to 1 unit b/c the first 2 days on Lantus, he ran high BG; around 400-500. I am increasing it slowly so tonight I will try 1.5 I think.
 
What were BG values with the ProZinc before shot and about 6 hours after shot?
I would not start at 1/4 unit unless you has a lot of hypos on ProZinc.
If not good control and no hypos I would start at 1 1/2 units Lantus twice daily
I never had any hypos with Chester. Lowest reading I got for him was 138 with home testing on ProZinc since he was first diagnosed a couple months ago. I tested my other 2 cats and their BG's were around 60.
 
I am in the process of switching Smoky from Vetsulin to Prozinc. He was up to 3.5 units of vetsulin. I started him on two units of prozinc for 2 or 3 cycles and am slowly increasing the dose by .25 at a time. Sunday am and pm dose I gave him 2.5 units and Monday am and pm I'm giving him 2.75 units. I check his blood sugar before each shot. Hope this helps you:)

I noticed you are trying out Lantus after using prozinc. How did your kitty do on the prozinc? I was just wondering since Smoky is just starting it.
We used ProZinc for a couple months but I never got a BG reading of less than 138. He was on 3.2 units twice a day.
 
Hi Allison,

There's a very active Lantus support group here with a number of highly experienced members. Here's a link to the forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

There are a number of very helpful stickies at the top of the board to help you learn more about Lantus. In particular I recommend you read about how depot insulins like Lantus work. It takes a while for the depot (insulin store in the body) to adjust after a dose change (3-5 days) so a slow and steady approach to dose adjustments is needed. If you post on that board asking for dosing advice in the thread subject experienced Lantus users will be able to help you further while you learn about Chester's new insulin. :)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top