My cat B had a kidney infection about 6 weeks ago, then a strange (not very high BGs) DKA crisis two weeks ago. Since her DKA recovery, her BGs were spiking oddly (eventually so high it was off both mine and the vet's glucometers, so guessing maybe in the 50s/900s) and her caninsulin couldn't keep up with how rapidly her BG was rising. Tried to get her down with short acting/Toronto insulin, which worked, but she still wouldn't respond to the caninsulin. And so we switched her to Lantus.
(NOTE: had discussed this switch previously, but she was doing pretty well on caninsulin, including gaining weight, and has a lot of other factors -- hyperthyroidism, crf -- so we didn't want to shake what seemed like a successful balance. Balance being gone, Lantus enters the picture.)
So now we are trying to settle into Lantus. Keeping a close eye on her, because of the previous sudden spikes, as well as not sure about dosage. I appreciate that Lantus can take a couple days to "settle", but we've been seeing great results from the beginning. I'm definitely not complaining -- completely relieved that she has stopped spiking! But we are working on how to move forward. See result below...sorry for the format...
Day 1 - at the vet
AMPS - HI so into vet again - no injection at home
BG off the scale (50s or 60s?), given 2 units of Toronto over the course of the day, and 1 unit of Lantus at 8:40am readings from home starting at +10.5, counting from her initial Lantus injection at 8:40am,
+10.5 - 5.6
+11.5 - 4.8
+12.5 - 5.2
+13.5 - 4.7
+14.5 - 4.9
+15.5 - 4.2
+16.5 - 4.2
+18 - 7.9
+19 - 9.3
+20.5 -11.6
+21.5 - 15.8 - gave 1 unit
DAY 2 - at home
from last chart AMPS 15.8 - gave 1 unit
+1 - 15.6
+3 - 9.8
+5 - 8.6
+7 - 6.2
+8 - 5.9
+9 - 6.4
+10 - 6.0
+11 - 5.7
+12 - 5.7
+13 - 6.2
+14 - 7.8
+15 - 6.2
+16 - 5.1
+17 - 4.9"
+18 - 7.4
+20 - 12.7
+21 - 17.2
(NOTE: I wouldn't normally use day 1 given the circumstances, but when I compared the pattern was so close to day 2 that it seems worth considering)
DAY 3 - at home
from last chart AMPS 17.2
+2 - 13.7
+5 - 6.5
+6 - 6.3
I'm puzzling over her quick response and not seeming to have to settle in before things going quite well. I have been doing lots of research, and appreciate she's better on a 12h schedule, but this seems tricky given the length she's already getting. So I thought I'd throw it out there...
- I know it's early days...maybe the "shed" will fill up and she'll actually be able to get 24 hours out of 1 unit?
- should we really be giving her another dose at +12 when she's in the 5-range, and could already drop lower based on the dose she had 12h ago? i'm concerned about this particularly because at that point she isn't moving down, and her new doses seems to take effect pretty immediately, rather than waiting a couple hours
- maybe the initial dose is too high, and we need to try 1/2 unit every 12 hours and see where it gets us? in this case, I would try 1/2 unit around +20 (in the 11-12 range) and try to shift from there to a 12h schedule
I'd be interested in your thoughts. The headspace for Lantus is very different than for caninsulin, and I'm just so relieved to have her down in the normal range again after all that terrifying spiking that it's hard to focus on anything else! FYI, I don't think we're in a Tight Regulation space quite yet, after the crazy past few weeks -- but I saw it was suggested this was a better section to post in than the "relaxed" Lantus one.
Thanks so much!
(NOTE: had discussed this switch previously, but she was doing pretty well on caninsulin, including gaining weight, and has a lot of other factors -- hyperthyroidism, crf -- so we didn't want to shake what seemed like a successful balance. Balance being gone, Lantus enters the picture.)
So now we are trying to settle into Lantus. Keeping a close eye on her, because of the previous sudden spikes, as well as not sure about dosage. I appreciate that Lantus can take a couple days to "settle", but we've been seeing great results from the beginning. I'm definitely not complaining -- completely relieved that she has stopped spiking! But we are working on how to move forward. See result below...sorry for the format...
Day 1 - at the vet
AMPS - HI so into vet again - no injection at home
BG off the scale (50s or 60s?), given 2 units of Toronto over the course of the day, and 1 unit of Lantus at 8:40am readings from home starting at +10.5, counting from her initial Lantus injection at 8:40am,
+10.5 - 5.6
+11.5 - 4.8
+12.5 - 5.2
+13.5 - 4.7
+14.5 - 4.9
+15.5 - 4.2
+16.5 - 4.2
+18 - 7.9
+19 - 9.3
+20.5 -11.6
+21.5 - 15.8 - gave 1 unit
DAY 2 - at home
from last chart AMPS 15.8 - gave 1 unit
+1 - 15.6
+3 - 9.8
+5 - 8.6
+7 - 6.2
+8 - 5.9
+9 - 6.4
+10 - 6.0
+11 - 5.7
+12 - 5.7
+13 - 6.2
+14 - 7.8
+15 - 6.2
+16 - 5.1
+17 - 4.9"
+18 - 7.4
+20 - 12.7
+21 - 17.2
(NOTE: I wouldn't normally use day 1 given the circumstances, but when I compared the pattern was so close to day 2 that it seems worth considering)
DAY 3 - at home
from last chart AMPS 17.2
+2 - 13.7
+5 - 6.5
+6 - 6.3
I'm puzzling over her quick response and not seeming to have to settle in before things going quite well. I have been doing lots of research, and appreciate she's better on a 12h schedule, but this seems tricky given the length she's already getting. So I thought I'd throw it out there...
- I know it's early days...maybe the "shed" will fill up and she'll actually be able to get 24 hours out of 1 unit?
- should we really be giving her another dose at +12 when she's in the 5-range, and could already drop lower based on the dose she had 12h ago? i'm concerned about this particularly because at that point she isn't moving down, and her new doses seems to take effect pretty immediately, rather than waiting a couple hours
- maybe the initial dose is too high, and we need to try 1/2 unit every 12 hours and see where it gets us? in this case, I would try 1/2 unit around +20 (in the 11-12 range) and try to shift from there to a 12h schedule
I'd be interested in your thoughts. The headspace for Lantus is very different than for caninsulin, and I'm just so relieved to have her down in the normal range again after all that terrifying spiking that it's hard to focus on anything else! FYI, I don't think we're in a Tight Regulation space quite yet, after the crazy past few weeks -- but I saw it was suggested this was a better section to post in than the "relaxed" Lantus one.
Thanks so much!