I'm still figuring this out and don't think I'm doing a very good job for Kuro! This morning, his BP at 9:30am was 128, which is the lowest it's been since January. Reviewing the info on SLGS I followed the following protocol:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
Just gave him 1.75 units at 8pm (+10.5), since he didn't have a shot this morning. Thinking this is okay since he didn't have an am shot, even though it's before his 12 hr mark.
I only work a couple of blocks from home so I can easily take a break & come home to test/give him a shot at any time.
My questions are, should I have actually skipped his shot in the morning? And, should I continue at the 1.75 dose for another week to get better info?
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. - Followed this, but wondering if I should have done the following instead:
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose - Should I have done this, or is this just when I'm doing a curve at the 7-day mark? OMG, which I see I should have done today....
Just gave him 1.75 units at 8pm (+10.5), since he didn't have a shot this morning. Thinking this is okay since he didn't have an am shot, even though it's before his 12 hr mark.
I only work a couple of blocks from home so I can easily take a break & come home to test/give him a shot at any time.
My questions are, should I have actually skipped his shot in the morning? And, should I continue at the 1.75 dose for another week to get better info?
Last edited: