Lantus Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
I was referred to several links regarding lantus and I just want to confirm what I need to do. Bob just switched from ProZinc (6 weeks) to Lantus. He's on 2 and 2 units. The AAHA link advised checking insulin at pre-shot and 8 hours following the shot. If doing a BGC, checking every 4 hours. Does that sound about right? I've been checking Bob every 2 to 3 hours, which I guess is not necessary with this insulin. He's just hovering in the 400's, which sucks, but I guess it's little better than him hitting the 500's and 600's like he was on ProZinc. How long should I say at 2 units if he continues to stay in the 400's?
 
Hello

Ok lots of good questions..

Always get a preshot test. Don't feed two hours prior to that because you don't want that BG number influenced by food. If the number is under 200, as a newbie, do not feed, do not shoot and come here for advice. Retest in 30minutes.

We also recommend getting a test around the low (nadir) time which is 5-7hours after the shot. Plus a test before bed (2-3 hours after the shot). Then some spot checks when you can at different points in the cycle sometimes because nadirs vary by cat and day.

It takes about a week for lantus to settle before you want to change dose as per below dosing protocol we use..

REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
 
Yikes! What if he stays in the 400's? That cant be good for a week. I thought I could increase his does every 3 days?
 
If you read the protocol above, the initial dose is held for 5-7days. After that you can increase every 3 depending on his numbers. But you need to let the insulin build up in his system first, hence the 5-7days.

A few days high wont hurt him (check his pee for ketones though) but a few minutes too low could. .. Which could happen if you rush things.

Don't worry and try to be patient. This is only day one and the depot is filling up..

. But can you make like a horizontal big cell above today saying "change to lantus" so it's more obvious?

Thanks

Wendy
 
Patience grasshopper. I have lots of patience pants available in a wide variety of colors. Tell me your favorite color and I'll check the loaner library.
 
ok - I'll give the patience thing a try although I've been at this for almost 8 weeks now and my blood pressure has been through the roof!! UGH!!! Thank you for the info -it's helpful!
 
Here, try these on.... ;-)
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 373
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top