lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this post

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
i havent opened it yet, but on the lantus pen, i just open it, and take out the syringes? i think someone said thats how it works? thanks.
 
Re: lantus pen

You pull the cap off the pen, and then use a regular insulin syringe to pull the dose out.

Here's a video [youtube]u4KtK_skpmQ[/youtube]
 
Re: lantus pen

looking forward to starting it tomorrow morning. i thot morning would be best. i pray it keeps him lower so i can do PS easier. we have been working on a AMPS today over an hr. he just shakes his head every time he gets pricked and we lose the blood if there is any. i am beyond frustrated!
 
Re: lantus pen

IloveLarry said:
looking forward to starting it tomorrow morning. i thot morning would be best. i pray it keeps him lower so i can do PS easier. we have been working on a AMPS today over an hr. he just shakes his head every time he gets pricked and we lose the blood if there is any. i am beyond frustrated!

I used to have so much trouble testing, I was sure it was impossible. The way I finally got it to work was:

1. Make sure he is well settled in my lap
2. Use a sock filled with rice and heated in the microwave to warm his ear up
3. Massage ear
4. Prick the 'sweet spot' on the furry side of his ear (he was much less likely to pull away or shake his head than when I tried the other side) and don't let go of the ear!

The heated sock was SO helpful in getting things started. I think there are a lot of advice threads with many different things you can try, but for me this was the key to everything.
 
Re: lantus pen

thanks! my only problem is him shaking his head and being so restless. i have the sock and all :) during the day hes great. when his bg is 400+ tho he wants his shot so its nearly impossible. i have tried it all. i just know now it take abt an hr. most mornings. night is a little easier. in theory i am hoping on lantus we never see 400 or maybe 300? if we r lucky! and so he wont be so uncooperative. he jst wants his shot is the problem.
 
Re: lantus pen

Most cats just don't like having their ears fooled with. The actual testing doesn't hurt, but you're touching those ears!

What I tell new testers is to decide on where you want your "testing spot" to be and as many times a day as you can, take Larry there and just give his ears a little rub and then give him a small treat, like freeze dried chicken, boiled chicken or any Low Carb Treat he really likes. Soon he'll associate that spot with the yummy treats, and won't pay any attention to what you're doing with his ears. Everyone has the same problem when they first start, and soon, their cats are jumping on the testing spot reminding them it's test time!

Here are some more Ear testing tips that might be helpful. The other big thing is to relax. If Larry feels you're stressed, he'll pick up on it and be harder to handle. As silly as it sounds, I suggest singing. It makes your brain relax (although Larry may give you some funny looks....LOL)

If you try 3 times and don't get any blood, give him his treat and take a break. Try again in 15-20 minutes instead of just continuing to poke.

Here's some more tips on Ear testing Psychology that might be helpful too
 
Re: lantus pen

thank u. i do sing! hard as it is. i cant even walk and chew gum, at the same time. i sing, but he still jumps, poor guy. the 15 min. breaks r why it usually takes so long. yep.
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

ok, so i watched the above video. is that true that u have to be that super cautious? never a drop of air accidentally into the vial (inside pen), and never can let any insulin go back into pen/vial? i mean like she says, it sucks the plunger, if u dont hold it back. im just wanting to be prepared. i feel like i am going to be performing brain surgery starting tomorrow a.m. LOL how delicate and fragile is it? is it that easy to make a little mistake and ruin the whole new vial (in pen)?
thanks a million :D
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

You want to press the plunger down as tight as you can before you insert it into the pen. You don't want to push anything back into the vial because it can contaminate it, but if you always check it before using it and it's clear (no floaties or cloudiness), it should be fine.

Syringes have a little lubricant inside them so you don't want to push that back into the vial, so push/pull the plunger a few times before you're ready to draw up your shot, then push it hard. Hold it and insert into the pen and then withdraw your shot dose (if you get a little more, you just have to waste it, but once you get the hang of it, you'll do fine)
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

Don't stress too much if you get air or push back a little insulin. It's not good to always do, of course, but it happens no matter how skilled you might be. ;-) It's not as delicate as it sounds, but you do want to be cautious and try as best you can.
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

ok, thank u both! that video made it sound like u have to be perfect. i am nowhere near that. good to know u dont have to be. just do ur best. :)
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

I'm terrible with it because I've always had shaky hands. That's how I know it's not as delicate as it sounds. :lol:
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

Lantus is a depot insulin and has carryover effects. This means you need to wait 5 days on the first dose before determining if an increase is needed. In other words, you're going to need some patience ;-)

Note that if he drops below 50 mg/dL, its an automatic dose decrease of 0.25 units.

Have you stopped by the Lantus Tight Regulation forum to check over the sticky posts on Lantus?
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

patience is fine. just no idea what to expect. like 500s all day for a day or 3? or...? its a mystery.
 
Re: lantus pen, how fragile? new question at bottom of this

Hi Pam!!

More than likely, for the first few cycles, you won't see any really big drops because for the first 5-7 days, you're mostly filling the depot. That doesn't mean he won't go low though, which is why it's important to get at least one test in mid-cycle, like somewhere between +5 and +7

Of course if you can get more tests in, that's even better because the more data, the better you'll be able to tell how he's doing.

Tomorrow, when you give your first shot, come on over to the Lantus Tight Regulation Forum where you'll find the most experienced eyes to help you.

Each day, you start a new post (we call them condo's) with the date, cats name, AMPS ###....then as the day goes on and you get more tests, you just go to that first post's subject line and "edit" it to add the new test results, so if (for example) you'd started this morning, you might have 2/18 Larry AMPS 468...and then if you got a +5, you'd edit the subject line to say 2/18 Larry AMPS 468,+5 ###

In the body of the post, first put the link to your prior day's post, and then you give the WCR (Whole Cat Report)...How's Larry feeling? Appetite OK? Are the 5 "P's" in place? (preening, playing, purring, peeing and pooping)? Anything that you feel might be helpful. If you have a question, you'd put it here too. To get your link in the post, copy it and then click on the URL at the top and paste the link in, so it'd look something like your link here[URL] If you add a p...u'll be another member of the Lantus family!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top