Today's link from Health
Welcome to Lantus Land!
I linked your post from the Health board.
If you are already seeing numbers in the 100s, I'm going to strongly encourage you to get a blood test prior to every shot. Your AMPS and PMPS blood test are critical. Likewise, with numbers that are already that good, you need to bet more tests in. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle, the nadir. Right now, you are shooting blind and that can be dangerous, especially if you don't know where your cat's nadir is. With a 139 at +2, it is very possible that your cat was in double digits last night. There are members in Missouri and if you're having trouble testing, there may be someone near enough that they can give you a hand.
These instructions are from the
Tight Regulation sticky.
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...
* Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
* It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
* Learn the signs of and how to treat
HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a
HYPO TOOLBOX.
* Test regularly for ketones and know about
DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
* Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
* Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
* Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
Twice a day feeding really isn't necessary. In fact, it may work against you since loading all of the food at pre-shot may overwhelm Tasha's pancreas. Allowing her to free feed or giving multiple small meals spread out prior to nadir may be a better strategy.