Lantus life span

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nomads Mom

Member Since 2018
I have a bottle of Lantus that I bought in January of this year, so its 3 and 1/2 months old. I’m worried it’s not working as well because my cat’s BG numbers have been on the high end lately, (300-450, pre-shot). This morning my husband and I both gave our kitty insulin by accident so I’ve been checking his BG throughout the day which have all pretty high, these were checked every 2 hours (572, 350, 412, 391, 364). My veterinarian doesn’t think he got two shots because his numbers have been so high. I know for sure I he got two shots which now has me wondering.... It’s also been about 5 weeks since my last curve. :( My question to you all is how long do you keep your bottles of insulin (Lantus)?
 
I'm going on just over 6 months with mine and it seems to be working spot-on. As long as it's not cloudy, looking funky, or you've shaken the bottle, it should still be OK at ~3 months, I would think. How many days has he been consistently high like that even when he's been getting the regular 2x a day dose? You never said what dose you were giving him?
 
I guess it’s been over the past week that he’s been high. And now that I think back, we missed a dose 3 days ago so maybe that can be affecting today’s curve. He gets 3 units twice daily. His latest BG one hour ago was at 220 so his numbers are starting to fall. I wonder if the insulin is finally kicking in since it’s long lasting insulin.
 
I think it might be worth monitoring him for awhile and checking those numbers to see how he's doing. A skipped shot can influence cycles later on (I think up to 6 or so), so that might be what's happening with your guy.
 
Ugh, now I’m getting nervous... He vomited after dinner, I gave him cerenia soon after. Fed him again-he ate, not giving insulin tonight per DVM request. I’m so glad I didn’t give him a shot cause now his BG is dropping from 220 to 182 just now. He’s currently hiding in my closet. I feel like such a bad Mom!!
 
My vials lasted 5-6 months. Then I switched to pens and was able to use each to the last drop. It would be great if you would start a spreadsheet. Any reason why you haven’t?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top