Lantus kitty going from 400s to 20s to 400s!

Status
Not open for further replies.

heda62381

Member Since 2011
Hello, I am a newly diagnosed diabetic cat parent on Lantus. It has been a little over a month since the diagnosis. Since then, I have moved my cat to an all wet diet and am doing home testing for BG. I was first prescribed 3 U of Lantus BID 12 hrs. Then, when I started to get good at home testing, I saw scary low numbers and reported them to my vet. He said to lower the dose to 1.5. I was still getting low numbers (and I'm talking as low as in the 20s!), so I lowered again to 1 U. Yesterday, she went from the 400s, down to 29, and back up to 450 all in a 12 hour period! On her dose last night, I decided to lower it again to .5 U, so I gave her the shot and went to bed. This morning, I gave her a BG test and she is at 325. She is not due for another shot until noon today...
 
It sounds like a wise move to have reduced your cat's dose and a very good thing that you have been home testing. It's not unusual for a cat to bounce the way your cat is doing. The drop into those low numbers causes your cat's liver to react by dumping a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into her system. This combination is what causes the numbers to spike up.

Its likely that the change in diet has also lowered your cat's insulin requirement.

How did you handle the low numbers? I'm hoping that you were able to bring them back up using high carb food.

If you want more input, if you have a record of your cat's blood glucose (BG) tests, we may be able to offer additional help.
 
I saw your post in the health forum, so I am bumping this up so others see.

Edit to add a link to the spreadsheet how-tos:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Hi! glad you made it over here. what time zone are you in? we come from all over the world, literally!

here's the link to your condo from yesterday in the main health forum. that helps us help each other better, by keeping all of the information in one place. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=47144

the spreadsheet is what we all use - we link it to our signature so that anyone trying to help can see at a glance what the kitty's been doing.
 
How did she do today? Hope she stayed 50+! I'm so glad you made it over here.

To help you get organized, the way this group works is that you open up only one thread a day, what we call a condo. That will help keep the conversation organized and in one place on a daily basis.

Not everyone can open Excel files so Google Docs has made everyone's life easier.

You've probably noticed that people have their subject line set up the same way: date, name of your kitty, AMPS or PMPS (morning pre shot or evening pre shot) and any subsequent spot checks. If you tested her 2 hours after PMPS, just add it to the subject line. It just keeps everything organized and searchable if we need to go a few threads back. It's also helpful to add a link to yesterday's condo like this so that we can quickly see what BG #s yesterday can explain what's going on today.

If you have a dosing question or need help, just add it to the subject line to flag someone down. Once your question is answered, just take it off. If your cat drops below 50, I would definitely throw something like "help" in the subject line.

You don't have to post a thread if you don't want to (we ain't a cult!) but it just helps everyone to get to know your cat easier and raise questions that might look funky.

Welcome to Lantus!
Bonnie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top