Hello, I am a newly diagnosed diabetic cat parent on Lantus. It has been a little over a month since the diagnosis. Since then, I have moved my cat to an all wet diet and am doing home testing for BG. I was first prescribed 3 U of Lantus BID 12 hrs. Then, when I started to get good at home testing, I saw scary low numbers and reported them to my vet. He said to lower the dose to 1.5. I was still getting low numbers (and I'm talking as low as in the 20s!), so I lowered again to 1 U. Yesterday, she went from the 400s, down to 29, and back up to 450 all in a 12 hour period! On her dose last night, I decided to lower it again to .5 U, so I gave her the shot and went to bed. This morning, I gave her a BG test and she is at 325. She is not due for another shot until noon today...