How long do you use your vials for?
I just started home testing today. It's been a heck of a time trying to get Max's numbers down even with "fresh" insulin. All vet tests still say TOO HIGH. I've had this bottle opened since November 7. Vet said it should be OK until tax time next month. Max's first at-home BG reading tonight was 415. It's not like it's ever been normal since diagnosis, but now I'm worried that the 2-month old insulin might be contributing to such high numbers. He gets six units total in a day.Until you see the numbers start to creep up without any other explanation...usually 4-6 months (sometimes more)
By home testing, you'll see when the insulin is starting to lose efficacy.
The only reason it says 28 days is because that's all the company asked the FDA to test for!!
How are all of his BG tests still reading super high if he needs a lower insulin dose?
It isn't stress though. We don't do random checks at the vet, only fructosamine, which isn't affected by stress, and Max wasn't very stressed when I tested him on my bed earlier.Explained in your other thread
Yep! Fridge all the time.Have you kept the Lantus vial in the fridge the entire time? People here get 5-6 months out of a vial if they do so. Humans use up their Lantus much faster than most cats, so it doesn't need to be certified to last longer.