lantus expiration- high blood sugar numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
It sounds like Lantus lasts for different lengths of time. My cat is newly diagnosed and has had days with good sugar levels but today has been 600plus. Wah. Current bottle is 6 weeks old. My vet says it usually lasts much longer. I don't have access to upload a spreadsheet but she's had numbers in the 100's and 200's for around 7 days with a few 300's. This morn amps was 168; then 2 hours after was 573 and every 2 hours after has been 600 plus. Wah. Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Elizabeth and Munchie
 
That is a high spike... any chance you accidentally shot into the fur either last night or this morning? That would be my suspicion. Is your lantus in a pen or a vial? I think folks have had a bit better luck with longevity with the vials. Also, are you keeping the lantus refrigerated? If not, it will definitely be done in about a month. Leaving the insulin out, keeping it on the fridge door, dropping it, shooting insulin back into the vial, etc. are all things that can make the insulin degrade more quickly.


If you are currently using the vial, I'd suggest asking your vet to write a prescription for the pens. You will NOT use the pen needles that humans use. There is a rubber tip at the end of the pen and you will insert the same syringes you use with the vial into that tip and use it basically as a mini-vial. A 5 pack costs around $200 and each pen will last at least a month. It is much easier on the pocketbook to toss a pen that seems to have lost its punch than it is to throw out a vial. Some Costcos, Sams and outpatient pharmacies at hospitals will actually allow you to fill the scripts one pen at a time. While it doesn't save you money, it does allow you to avoid a large up front cost.

It is also possible that your cat went lower than you realized last night and may be "bouncing" today.
 
any chance your kitty got into something high carb? i don't think i'd ditch the lantus just on today's experience - like christie, i'd be thinking either a fur shot, or perhaps a bounce from low numbers during the night last night. if i were you, i'd give it a few more shots to see if the numbers come down on their own. that would tell you that it's not about the lantus itself.

i would also think if something happened and the lantus went bad it wouldn't do so suddenly like that. a good amps then a skyrocket up? my first suspicion would be it's something else making the numbers rise.
 
Ok yeah. She came down to 545 for pmps. I can hear her stomach gurgling and she's kinda grunting. Wondering if either her pancreatitis is back or acting up...or if high numbers for a day do that.

I had originally been told to store my lantus on the door in butter area which is what I've done. Is this bad practice?

Thanks everybody. Having high stress time with cats right now as other cat (her brother) is in stage 4 of kidney disease. Both are 17 1/2 years old.

Thanks.
Elizabeth and Munchie
 
Lantus really doesn't have a variable expiration date. The expiration date should be printed on the bottle or pen.

The shelf life once a container is opened is another matter. The manufacturer will state that regardless of the container, Lantus is good for 28 days. If you look at the starred sticky note above regarding the care and handling of Lantus, there is a section that notes that if you store your Lantus properly, it will last considerably longer than the 28 days. I doubt that the numbers today are a result of bad insulin.

I would, however, not suggest storing it on the door of your refrigerator. (My dad was a refrigeration engineer so this info comes from someone with more info than me.) The items on the door, because you open and close it, are subject to the greatest variation in temperature. You're best advised to put the Lantus in a place where it won't freeze and won't get jostled. I keep mine in a crisper drawer.

As for today's numbers, from what you've described, I suspect the high numbers this afternoon and evening are the result of a bounce. The 168 is probably around the lowest numbers your cat has experienced. When this happens, the liver panics and releases both a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. These cause a spike in blood glucose levels. This bounce can last for up to 72 hours. Do not increase your dose if, in fact, this is a bounce. If it is a bounce and you've increased the dose, once the bounce clears, you could end up giving too much insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top