Lantus dosing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

hotmeows

Member Since 2011
This is really my first attempt and I'm so worried about my cat nellie. She is 15 yrs old and has been diabetic for approx. 1 yr and has been on Lantus 2 x day now 1 u each shot. For a while she seemed to stay around 150-180 but now seems to drop lower even on the 1 unit. Sometimes as low as 94 and now I'm testing very often, as she even went as low as 54 and I paniced and skipped a shot or two. Even after skipping 2 shots she really didn't go as high as I thought, she was around 254 and with the 3rd missed shot was 322. Now the last two days/tests she is around 234. I'm actually trying to give a bit less than 1 u til I make sure she isn't going to drop drastically on 1 unit like she did.

She's on orbox (antibiotic) for UTI but my vet thinks that would make her BG go higher not lower.

I'm thinking her pancreas may be producing? But how do I know unless I test and play with the amt of insulin.
I just got new syringes to try with 1/2 unit markings, but the needle seems so much shorter but I will try.

Can anyone tell me what is going on with Nellie?
 
It is not unusual for the dose to change with time. The 94 is a very good BG for between shots and Ii would not reduce the dose for that BG. The 54 is a little low. I would go to say 0.8 units (eyeball).
 
I would suggest introducing yourself and posting over in the Lantus forum; there is tons of great information and some very experienced Lantus folks over there.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

It sounds like your hometesting...is that right? That's great. As Julia suggested, a spreadsheet of Nellie's numbers will be of great help. The Lantus group is very data driven; those numbers will help the dosing experts figure out what is going on and how to help you and Nellie. Really, the Lantus forum is the best place to be...hope to see you over there.

Amy
 
Around here antibiotics tend to make glucose levels go lower since infections can raise glucose levels. My kitty that is now off insulin had his bg's raise 100 points when he had a bad infection. I agree with going with a 0.75u or 0.8u dose for a few days. A 54 is nothing to panic about (don't skip several shots next time), but it is a number to consider lowering the dose or changing the feeding schedule with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top