Theresa&Bashful
Member
COPY OF POST TO LANTUS SUPPORT GROUP -
AMPS 320 - PMPS 342 Bashful - Need Advice Dosing
Okay guys, I've posted a few questions on the main board, but not over here. I guess these are more lantus specific.
[FORGIVE MY VERBOSE NATURE...I'M SLEEP DEPRIVED AND CAN'T FIND MY HINEY WITH TWO HANDS AND A MAP AT THIS POINT. LOL]
Bashful just came back from the falls. Took Kitty to vet and had full blood workup to make sure nothing else was wrong and that this was just him needing to get back OTJ. All numbers ok, other than off pancreas numbers, which would make sense given that his BGs were high. Bash is about 17 years old, no major health concerns. He's on all wet gluten free diet with FF. He was diet controlled and OTJ for over 4 years.
The vet kept him 24 hours to start on Lantus (even thou I know how to do curves, I wanted to have a better average going in knowing the right dosage to use - given that this was a new insulin - I was on PZI lst time). They had him 1 unit every 12 hours. When he came home he had some much lovelier numbers, He went in there at 400 and came back out around 195 - and at BG shot +11 (1 hour before next shoot - and before I was due to give my first virgin (again) shot he was at 151. I waited a bit and he came up to 232 in an hour and a half and I shot a skinny 1 unit then.
RECAP UNTIL i CAN GET MY SPREADSHEET DONE TOMORROW:
1/17 - Vet return
PMPS - (+11 - 160), (+12 - 198), (+13 232), - shot skinny 1 unit
SUMMARY:
PMPS 232 - shot 1skinny unit lantus
+1 255
+2 181
+4 171
+5 173
(at this point it's 1:30 a.m. and I can hardly see and had to get back up early to do it all again...yeah...so went to snooze
1/18
AMPS - 320 - Shot 1 unit lantus, and apparently not very well - PROBABLY A FUR SHOT? (CAUSE I GUESS YOU CAN TELL BY THE NUMBERS HE WASN'T MOVING MUCH)
+1 - 327
+2 - 280
+3 - 305
+4 - 287
+5 - 346/338
+6 - 336
+8 - 375 - AT THIS POINT CAN I SAFELY GUESS I MUST HAVE SHOT A FUR SHOT???...GRRRR....
PMPS - 342- shot 1 unit Lantus (I and am pretty positive I did this one correctly and felt the plunger move and such (IT'S SUCH A SMALL AMOUNT TO CONTROL....DOES ANY ONE ELSE HAVE THESE STRUGGLES?).
1/18/10 -
PMPS - 342 - Shot 1 U lantus
+1 - 347
+4 - 287
+5 - 343
+6 - 393 (CRANKY VERY TIRED BEAN NOW JUMPS UP AND DOWN ON BED AND HAS A FULLY NINNY HISSY SNIT!)
SO what is the deal with all these high numbers???? I am totally un-used to the Lantus shed issue (used pzi before-which had a tendency to jump him low somewhat quickly).
I am not sure, but could have done a fur shot this a.m. that's going to screw these all up again shed wise. But I'm very very frustrated by the fact that at I started tonight PMPS at 342 and now at +6 I am back up to 393, with not much downswing in between.
Is this just shedding issues? Not doing my 12 hour at exactly 12 hours because of the lower number the first time? Maybe a fur shot? Am I not using enough insulin? Do I try this another 24-48 hours and then if they stay high like this do I then up the dose to 1.5 and then leave it for 2-4 days to then even out again? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Do I just have to be on Lantus for close to a week to see if the shed builds up and things even out (AT LOWER NUMBERS DARNIT!) - or do a smidchen increase somewhere along the way?
I'll create the spreadsheet tomorrow (with what little I know) while I am at work. I had limited access today to my computer.
Trying to remember to breathe, but go to freaked out land when his numbers stay too high because of fear of ketones...and then worry if the numbers go too low cause I'll freak out cause I think he might to hypo (not that the little skinker is going anywhere near that direction at the moment).
Going to get more test strips and ketone strips tomorrow on the way home from work.
Any advise would be so gratefully appreciated!
Very tired and frustrated Bean and sugarmom (Theresa)- to Bashful
Theresa & Bashful (age 17)
Theresa&Bashful
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:11 pm
* Private message
AMPS 320 - PMPS 342 Bashful - Need Advice Dosing
Okay guys, I've posted a few questions on the main board, but not over here. I guess these are more lantus specific.
[FORGIVE MY VERBOSE NATURE...I'M SLEEP DEPRIVED AND CAN'T FIND MY HINEY WITH TWO HANDS AND A MAP AT THIS POINT. LOL]
Bashful just came back from the falls. Took Kitty to vet and had full blood workup to make sure nothing else was wrong and that this was just him needing to get back OTJ. All numbers ok, other than off pancreas numbers, which would make sense given that his BGs were high. Bash is about 17 years old, no major health concerns. He's on all wet gluten free diet with FF. He was diet controlled and OTJ for over 4 years.
The vet kept him 24 hours to start on Lantus (even thou I know how to do curves, I wanted to have a better average going in knowing the right dosage to use - given that this was a new insulin - I was on PZI lst time). They had him 1 unit every 12 hours. When he came home he had some much lovelier numbers, He went in there at 400 and came back out around 195 - and at BG shot +11 (1 hour before next shoot - and before I was due to give my first virgin (again) shot he was at 151. I waited a bit and he came up to 232 in an hour and a half and I shot a skinny 1 unit then.
RECAP UNTIL i CAN GET MY SPREADSHEET DONE TOMORROW:
1/17 - Vet return
PMPS - (+11 - 160), (+12 - 198), (+13 232), - shot skinny 1 unit
SUMMARY:
PMPS 232 - shot 1skinny unit lantus
+1 255
+2 181
+4 171
+5 173
(at this point it's 1:30 a.m. and I can hardly see and had to get back up early to do it all again...yeah...so went to snooze
1/18
AMPS - 320 - Shot 1 unit lantus, and apparently not very well - PROBABLY A FUR SHOT? (CAUSE I GUESS YOU CAN TELL BY THE NUMBERS HE WASN'T MOVING MUCH)
+1 - 327
+2 - 280
+3 - 305
+4 - 287
+5 - 346/338
+6 - 336
+8 - 375 - AT THIS POINT CAN I SAFELY GUESS I MUST HAVE SHOT A FUR SHOT???...GRRRR....
PMPS - 342- shot 1 unit Lantus (I and am pretty positive I did this one correctly and felt the plunger move and such (IT'S SUCH A SMALL AMOUNT TO CONTROL....DOES ANY ONE ELSE HAVE THESE STRUGGLES?).
1/18/10 -
PMPS - 342 - Shot 1 U lantus
+1 - 347
+4 - 287
+5 - 343
+6 - 393 (CRANKY VERY TIRED BEAN NOW JUMPS UP AND DOWN ON BED AND HAS A FULLY NINNY HISSY SNIT!)
SO what is the deal with all these high numbers???? I am totally un-used to the Lantus shed issue (used pzi before-which had a tendency to jump him low somewhat quickly).
I am not sure, but could have done a fur shot this a.m. that's going to screw these all up again shed wise. But I'm very very frustrated by the fact that at I started tonight PMPS at 342 and now at +6 I am back up to 393, with not much downswing in between.
Is this just shedding issues? Not doing my 12 hour at exactly 12 hours because of the lower number the first time? Maybe a fur shot? Am I not using enough insulin? Do I try this another 24-48 hours and then if they stay high like this do I then up the dose to 1.5 and then leave it for 2-4 days to then even out again? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Do I just have to be on Lantus for close to a week to see if the shed builds up and things even out (AT LOWER NUMBERS DARNIT!) - or do a smidchen increase somewhere along the way?
I'll create the spreadsheet tomorrow (with what little I know) while I am at work. I had limited access today to my computer.
Trying to remember to breathe, but go to freaked out land when his numbers stay too high because of fear of ketones...and then worry if the numbers go too low cause I'll freak out cause I think he might to hypo (not that the little skinker is going anywhere near that direction at the moment).
Going to get more test strips and ketone strips tomorrow on the way home from work.
Any advise would be so gratefully appreciated!
Very tired and frustrated Bean and sugarmom (Theresa)- to Bashful
Theresa & Bashful (age 17)
Theresa&Bashful
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:11 pm
* Private message