Jill & Pansy Panini
Member Since 2019
Hi all,
After a hypo event and false 2 day remission, we've started insulin again at a 1 unit dose.
Prior to the hypoglycemia, Pansy was on 3 units of insulin and was on Hills m/d, canned and dry, twice a day. That vet had difficulty getting BG reading from P because she was grumpy. Eventually I heard about the glucose curve and went to a fear free cats only clinic (get #2) and they did the curve, which had high numbers 400+ to 500, I think. Vet #2 referred me to Dr. Lisa's website and advised a low carb canned food, no dry kibble. I started that and didn't reduce the insulin dose and didn't home test (I know better now).Went in 10 days later and BG was 47. Told kitty could hang out in clinic or i could take her home and feed her, which I did. That evening I did a BG - first time I was successful - and it was 44. I called get clinic #2 to ask if i should skip insulin and was told to take her to the ER. She was treated, we came home. Numbers low and no insulin.
Numbers up again after fake out remission so vet #2 prescribed 1 unit insulin. The next morning BG was 113. No insulin. BG at 5 PM was 211 so I gave .5 units. (Nice forum member suggested the .5 dose and it made sense to me). I thought it was reasonable to try .5 for a week, see how kitty does. This morning BG was 189 so I gave .5 units again. This evening BG was 308 and I gave .5 units, thinking it was good to stay the course for a bit. Wondered if I should have given 1 unit. Pansy has been grumpy about shots lately so it is possible that I did a fur shot this morning.
Was this wrong? Should I adjust the dose each time? Or is that harmful? All I was told is "Don't shoot it under 180" . Or stick with .5 for a certain amount of time?
Also, I use U100 3/10 cc syringe with 29 gauge needle. I wanted to try the 31 gauge needle but pharmacist said he'd heard of 31 gauges getting broken off in cats, and that scared me. I'd be willing to try the 30 gauge of anything to make Pansy more comfortable.
Sorry, but get not available on the weekend and I don't think she has the detailed knowledge possessed by the people on this forum.
Thank you!
Jill
After a hypo event and false 2 day remission, we've started insulin again at a 1 unit dose.
Prior to the hypoglycemia, Pansy was on 3 units of insulin and was on Hills m/d, canned and dry, twice a day. That vet had difficulty getting BG reading from P because she was grumpy. Eventually I heard about the glucose curve and went to a fear free cats only clinic (get #2) and they did the curve, which had high numbers 400+ to 500, I think. Vet #2 referred me to Dr. Lisa's website and advised a low carb canned food, no dry kibble. I started that and didn't reduce the insulin dose and didn't home test (I know better now).Went in 10 days later and BG was 47. Told kitty could hang out in clinic or i could take her home and feed her, which I did. That evening I did a BG - first time I was successful - and it was 44. I called get clinic #2 to ask if i should skip insulin and was told to take her to the ER. She was treated, we came home. Numbers low and no insulin.
Numbers up again after fake out remission so vet #2 prescribed 1 unit insulin. The next morning BG was 113. No insulin. BG at 5 PM was 211 so I gave .5 units. (Nice forum member suggested the .5 dose and it made sense to me). I thought it was reasonable to try .5 for a week, see how kitty does. This morning BG was 189 so I gave .5 units again. This evening BG was 308 and I gave .5 units, thinking it was good to stay the course for a bit. Wondered if I should have given 1 unit. Pansy has been grumpy about shots lately so it is possible that I did a fur shot this morning.
Was this wrong? Should I adjust the dose each time? Or is that harmful? All I was told is "Don't shoot it under 180" . Or stick with .5 for a certain amount of time?
Also, I use U100 3/10 cc syringe with 29 gauge needle. I wanted to try the 31 gauge needle but pharmacist said he'd heard of 31 gauges getting broken off in cats, and that scared me. I'd be willing to try the 30 gauge of anything to make Pansy more comfortable.
Sorry, but get not available on the weekend and I don't think she has the detailed knowledge possessed by the people on this forum.
Thank you!
Jill