Seth&Bell
Member Since 2024
Hello all, first off I just wanted to give a huge thank you to this message board. I just started Bell on Lantus a few days ago (7/2/2024) and this community has been an invaluable resource to help me through the steep learning curve and stress of all of this. You all have saved me from some minor bad vet advice (that I should roll Lantus before use, use syringes twice, etc) and some major ones (vet wanted to start Bexacat without checking for ketones, vet wanted to dose Lantus once a day).
Some background on Bell: She's had a difficult month. The vet found that she had severe back pain, which we treated with a combination of Onsior, Gabapentin, and Tramadol. During this treatment I noticed she had an enlarged anal glad, which ruptured when the vet expressed it. She was in a cone for 10 days while that healed. During the bloodwork for the backpain, the vet noticed her BG was high, so we rechecked that while her rupture was healing. Sure enough it was still too high and we proceeded with treatment for diabetes. The vet initially wanted to try Bexacat, but I pushed for a ketone check beforehand (vet was going to check after we had already started the treatment), which turned out positive and pushed us to start Lantus. Oh and, also, Bell's a sweetie
Before starting the Lantus, Bell had a Freestyle Libre 2 installed. Her BG ranged 210-280 on a daily basis. Her diet consisted of mostly kibble with some Stella and Chewy raw chicken that I make into a soup. The kibble was a mix of Epigen 90 (low carb) and Petcurean Go (not low carb). I have since transitioned her to low carb canned food per the advice of this community. I actually did not see major spikes after her dry food intake with the Libre, but I transitioned her regardless.
The vet recommended 1 unit of Lantus daily, but I pushed for 0.5 units twice a day. It seems even the 0.5 dose is too high for Bell. Today, even on a slightly reduced dose (somewhere between 0.25 and 0.5 units) her BG numbers dropped to the low 50s. I gave her some maple syrup at this point. It seems like 0.25 might be her ideal dose.
Since her numbers dropped so low today, I'm not even sure the 0.25 dose will be safe for her PMPS. I'm looking for some advice on what levels I should skip the dose entirely and what levels are ok for me to shoot with a reduced dose of 0.25. Previously, I skipped a dose entirely because we had just started insulin and her numbers were 152 at dose time. I think this was the right call, but her BG levels proceeded to increase and it took me three cycles of 0.5 dosage to get them down again.
Thanks so much for the help.
Some background on Bell: She's had a difficult month. The vet found that she had severe back pain, which we treated with a combination of Onsior, Gabapentin, and Tramadol. During this treatment I noticed she had an enlarged anal glad, which ruptured when the vet expressed it. She was in a cone for 10 days while that healed. During the bloodwork for the backpain, the vet noticed her BG was high, so we rechecked that while her rupture was healing. Sure enough it was still too high and we proceeded with treatment for diabetes. The vet initially wanted to try Bexacat, but I pushed for a ketone check beforehand (vet was going to check after we had already started the treatment), which turned out positive and pushed us to start Lantus. Oh and, also, Bell's a sweetie
Before starting the Lantus, Bell had a Freestyle Libre 2 installed. Her BG ranged 210-280 on a daily basis. Her diet consisted of mostly kibble with some Stella and Chewy raw chicken that I make into a soup. The kibble was a mix of Epigen 90 (low carb) and Petcurean Go (not low carb). I have since transitioned her to low carb canned food per the advice of this community. I actually did not see major spikes after her dry food intake with the Libre, but I transitioned her regardless.
The vet recommended 1 unit of Lantus daily, but I pushed for 0.5 units twice a day. It seems even the 0.5 dose is too high for Bell. Today, even on a slightly reduced dose (somewhere between 0.25 and 0.5 units) her BG numbers dropped to the low 50s. I gave her some maple syrup at this point. It seems like 0.25 might be her ideal dose.
Since her numbers dropped so low today, I'm not even sure the 0.25 dose will be safe for her PMPS. I'm looking for some advice on what levels I should skip the dose entirely and what levels are ok for me to shoot with a reduced dose of 0.25. Previously, I skipped a dose entirely because we had just started insulin and her numbers were 152 at dose time. I think this was the right call, but her BG levels proceeded to increase and it took me three cycles of 0.5 dosage to get them down again.
Thanks so much for the help.

