Lantus dosage help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

NicoleAndMittens

Member Since 2020
I dont know what dose to give mittens. The vet said to go to 2 or more and it just doesnt appear to be working. At what should be his nadir its I'm 300s sometimes. He keep licking a TON of water has even regurgitated it 5 or so times in 6 weeks and licks his lips a lot in spurts throughout the day or night. Please see chart here. I had to start a new tab for march 2020 after the 2029 chart tab started acting up with issues on me...I've also attached his bloodwork results he just had done...he also has HCM which he had an echocardiogram for 1 year ago and they said he needed no medication back then for it. I havent been able to afford to get another one due to my own cancer expenses as I'm young and unemployed without a bunch of life savings racked up and this diabetes and many vet costs and lantus etc has taken a toll on my savings already. I appreciate your help!!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...P0eb4v--P65SkfMXuKcquaZfZQw/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
Last edited:
Screenshot_20200322-042847_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20200322-042854_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20200322-042903_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20200322-042847_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20200322-042854_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20200322-042903_Drive.jpg

I dont know what dose to give mittens. The vet said to go to 2 or more and it just doesnt appear to be working. At what should be his nadir its I'm 300s sometimes. He keep licking a TON of water has even regurgitated it 5 or so times in 6 weeks and licks his lips a lot in spurts throughout the day or night. Please see chart here. I had to start a new tab for march 2020 after the 2019 chart tab started acting up with issues on me...I've also attached his bloodwork results he just had done...he also has HCM which he had an echocardiogram for 1 year ago and they said he needed no medication back then for it. I havent been able to afford to get another one due to my own cancer expenses as I'm young and unemployed without a bunch of life savings racked up and this diabetes and many vet costs and lantus etc has taken a toll on my savings already. I appreciate your help!!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...P0eb4v--P65SkfMXuKcquaZfZQw/edit?usp=drivesdk
I dont know what dose to give mittens. The vet said to go to 2 or more and it just doesnt appear to be working. At what should be his nadir its I'm 300s sometimes. He keep licking a TON of water has even regurgitated it 5 or so times in 6 weeks and licks his lips a lot in spurts throughout the day or night. Please see chart here. I had to start a new tab for march 2020 after the 2029 chart tab started acting up with issues on me...I've also attached his bloodwork results he just had done...he also has HCM which he had an echocardiogram for 1 year ago and they said he needed no medication back then for it. I havent been able to afford to get another one due to my own cancer expenses as I'm young and unemployed without a bunch of life savings racked up and this diabetes and many vet costs and lantus etc has taken a toll on my savings already. I appreciate your help!!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...P0eb4v--P65SkfMXuKcquaZfZQw/edit?usp=drivesdk
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200322-042847_Drive.jpg
    Screenshot_20200322-042847_Drive.jpg
    25.9 KB · Views: 90
  • Screenshot_20200322-042854_Drive.jpg
    Screenshot_20200322-042854_Drive.jpg
    22.6 KB · Views: 91
  • Screenshot_20200322-042903_Drive.jpg
    Screenshot_20200322-042903_Drive.jpg
    17.9 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:
Nicole --

I'm sorry you're going through all of the stresses you've noted. I hope you're managing with all of the additional stress of coronavirus and keeping yourself safe.

When I open the link to your spreadsheet, the header is intact but lines 7 - 64 are blackened out. If you did this, I'm not sure why but if so, could you delete the blackened rows? You can always cut and paste the information for 2020 from the 2019 page. The spreadsheet is also not scrolling properly. I'm tagging @Marje and Gracie who's our spreadsheet guru to take a look. If you didn't download the spreadsheet from our instructions, it may be a copy of our template that another group hijacked and it has formatting problems.

The spreadsheet also has a tab for lab values. It's impossible to read the pages you have pasted above. (Or it's impossible for me.) It would be much more helpful if you included the values (and please make sure the normal range values are correct for your print outs) on the spreadsheet. It's a handy way to keep everything in one place.

In looking over Mittens' spreadsheet, the numbers are not bad at all. You've been doing a good job! In case your vet didn't mention it, Lantus likes consistency. It's important to try to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible. You have a max of about 30 minutes of wiggle room before you need to think about how to get your shot time back on schedule. With Lantus, a late shot acts like a dose reduction whereas an early shot acts like a dose increase. This is due to Lantus being a depot-type of insulin.

It looks to me like you're seeing nadirs in the 300 those times that numbers have dropped relatively low.. This is a normal response and we refer to the process when numbers drop and then zoom back up as a "bounce." Mitten's liver and pancreas panic because your kitty hasn't been spending all that much time in a normal blood glucose (BG) range and as a result, her liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones that cause the spike in numbers. It can take several days for the bounce to clear.

You may want to take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus Insulin Support Group (ISG). The sticky notes contain admittedly an overwhelming amount of information. However, the information will help you to better understand how Lantus works and you will have options with respect to how to manage Mittens' dosing.

You didn't mention what you're feeding your kitty. We strongly encourage members to switch their cats to a low carb, canned or raw food diet. If your vet suggested prescription food, it's not necessary (and it's expensive). Fancy Feast pate style foods are typically low carb and much more affordable. This is a link to a chart that contains the nutritional values for most varieties of canned foods in the US. You want to choose foods that are less than 10% carb. Most people here feed their cats around 5% carb.

We can also direct you to a Canadian pharmacy the most Lantus users purchase their insulin from. The cost is a fraction of what we pay in the US.

One last link. This is a post on how you can help us help you. In particular, there is information to include in your signature toward the end of the post. You signature gives us a snapshot of important information.

Please let us know if you have questions. We love questions!
 
Last edited:
Hi Nicole and you boy Mittens. Welcome.

We'll help you the best we can.

I don't know how you got those lab results in your post, but they are not attachments, so we can't zoom them to see them better. Even if I increase the zoom level on my laptop, the lab results are too blurry to read. All I can see is that most things fall in the middle of the graph, and some results are high or low. But we can't see which of the tests are outside the normal reference ranges.

As member Sienne and Gabby (GA) said, there is a tab on the spreadsheet for lab values. At least there is on our version of the SS. The blacked out rows are indeed unreadable. Not sure why you did that, or if it was accidental.

He doesn't look too bad on the current dose, but you need to keep the dose steady for at least 6 cycles, unless the BG level drops too low. Since you came from another group, we have no idea what Lantus dosing protocol you are using. Lantus likes consistency. Changing the dose from cycle to cycle, is draining and refilling the "depot" or storage area constantly. So it's hard to tell if a particular dose is a good dose for your boy Mitty.

I see from your spreadsheet (SS) that you are feeding Fancy Feast Savory Centers, a pate style food with a glob of gravy at the center. Looking at the ingredients list, and doing a rough calculation on the carb content, it appears that food would be ok for a diabetic cat. The "gravy" part uses non-starch thickeners, so that keeps the carb content lower.

You also feed the Dr. Elsey's dry chicken flavor. While some cats do ok on that dry food, we've encountered a couple of people here that eliminated that food from their diabetic cat's diet and the cat's blood glucose (BG) levels improved. You might consider taking that out of Mitty's diet and seeing what happens.
 
Hi Nicole and welcome.

If you send me a private message, I can do a new SS for you as Sienne is correct that the one you are using is from FB group and it has a lot of inherent issues making it difficult to use in this forum (e.g. often when trying to scroll through it, it just closes before we can study the data). I can do a new one for you and transfer all info.

To send me a private message, please click on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”. Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top