Lantus - BG too high

George’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi! New to posting to this forum. Been getting advice from other posts for a while now.

George, 17.5 year old otherwise healthy kitty, has been diagnosed as diabetic for about 10 mos now. He was on 4 units 2 x a day but the PZI was only lasting about 6 hours and then his BG was shooting up to >500. We have had him consistently on a Libre sensor for about 2 months. His PZI nadir was not going below 200. So he was bouncing mostly between 300 and 500 and rarely below 200 (maybe twice in 2 mos).

So we have switched to Lantus. Vet recommended 2 units 2x a day. His numbers are much flatter which is good (no big bounces liked it did with PZI). However, we are not getting readings below 350 now. Nadir is 350-400 and rest of the time it’s >400.

Feeding him low carb wet food only - Beyond Trout and Catfish (1%) or Duck (3%). He free feeds and eats often.

I after 6 cycles, I bumped him up to 2.5 units 2x a day. That was yesterday morning. Kitty doesn’t feel good and is very lethargic. He also has some neuropathy.

I’ve read the guidelines on tight regulation Lantus administration and have been using this. I’m just wondering if I should bump him up more aggressively since he is so high and doesn’t go low at all?

I do have a spreadsheet but it doesn’t track BG since the libre does. I can post it and post pics of libre sensor graphs if helpful? Thanks! This message board is amazing btw!

Rachel
 
Hello! You will get wonderful advice and support here but it would be helpful to share more information starting with your signature. how to and what info to include here.

And, add your spreadsheet with whatever info you currently have and add in those Libra numbers when you get a chance. It will be so satisfying to watch the numbers go down over time and is what the folks here are able to understand easily.
 
Welcome to the FDMB. We ask all new members to post an intro on the main/health forum first. There you will get set up. Just link this condo to the one you start there or copy and paste what you wrote. Once set up you will be directed back here.

You will need to start one of our spreadsheets and plug in the numbers. Maybe do it for the last couple weeks and link your Libre info for past weeks and months?

When switching insulin we generally go with the same or a little lower than tge dose of the previous insulin so George was most likely started too low. We will need to see the numbers to help with that.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top