Lantus Arriving Today - I have some questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Carter

Member Since 2016
Hey guys,

According to my USPS tracking my Lantus is out for delivery and will be arriving today, yay!!

So this morning I've been reading all the stickies in the Lantus board but I have a few questions...

1. My vet told me to start with 2 units BID, but since reading the board, I think I wanted to go with the start low go slow method being that Carter has been hard to regulate. With that being said, would I, as per the notes, start at .25 or .5 unit for a week, do a curve, and then adjust accordingly? I will be home all week as I'm in between finding a new job right now.

OR given his history of being high and bouncing, do I start off in bweteen, so like 1 unit? I have to get a weight on him at home somehow, but last time he was weighed (like a month ago) he was 17.6 pounds.

2. I also read that even if he stays in the higher numbers not to adjust the dose HIGHER for more than a week because you could risk skipping the correct dose for him, and it does take their body some time to adjust. But if he's running to low, it says it's okay to adjust that dose lower for a 2-3 day period on the same dose?

3. Because he is going to be coming off the Vetsulin, does that change the starting dose? Is there any side affects that typically occur or should I be cautious of him dropping into the greens? He has yet to be in the greens so I'm kind of nervous about that.

4. I still haven't really found much clarity in regards to skipping doses. I obviously don't want to skip because that could create a bounce, but I'm so inexperienced with him being in the greens that I don't want to feel like I'm too scared of him dropping so I choose to skip when I could have given him the dose but I'm still in the mindset of Vetsulin and not Lantus. It says to not shoot below 150 until you have some data accumulated so should I just play it safe and not shoot under those numbers? Or since I have a more open schedule right now it says stalling is also an option, or feed and the re-test but would that not given a false number? Despite Lantus usually not hitting the body until +2.

5. Should I start the Lantus tomorrow AM? That way the Vetsulin probably won't have any carry over as it might for today's PM dose.

I'm really excited and hopeful because Vetsulin is not doing anything for him but at the same time I'm nervous because I know Lantus is a slow acting insulin with different onset and nadir times.

**Also he is fully transitioned to a canned diet of less then 3% carbs, Tiki Cat and BFF, so I don't know if the lower the carbs the better the Lantus will work? I've yet to determined if he's carb sensitive or not. When I first started him on the Vetsulin his numbers dropped a bit but his AMPS has always stayed super high regardless.

Any info appreciated!!
 
Yay! So glad its arriving. :)

1. You're feeding a low-carb canned diet, so as long as you plan on testing at least 3 times a day (but at least 5x is better in the beginning if you can manage) Tight Regulation will allow you to get better control over his BG than SLGS would, making it easier to get him regulated. So you may want to consider going the other way, if your goal is to get him regulated more quickly. Also, keep in mind that the (80+%) remission rates with Lantus are with TR, not other protocols. How much does Carter weigh, and is he overweight/underweight at all? The starting dose for Lantus with TR is .25u per kg of ideal weight (unless the cat is underweight, and then it is per kg of actual weight). Only very large framed cats like Maine Coons will start at 2u (the max starting dose). Most usually start at around 1u. Given his current dose of insulin, even with SLGS, I think I'd probably start with at least 1u (depending on his weight).

If the reason you're gravitating towards SLGS is because TR looks harder, there's a ton of experienced folks here and in the Lantus Forum that can help you out! It's not as hard as it looks.

2. Yes, when cats run too low (<50 on a human glucometer for TR, and <90 with SLGS), you always want to lower the dose, with either guideline.

3. I think given his action on his current dose of Vetsulin, the fact that his is on a low carb, canned diet, and since he does not have a history of ketones (that is correct, yes?), I think starting at a normal starting dose (around 1u) would be good.

4. Since your schedule is pretty open, I would recommend stalling if you get a low pre-shot and asking for advice either here or in the Lantus forum.

5. I would start the Lantus tonight, if it arrives by shot time! Vetsulin is an in-out insulin, so you don't need to worry about overlap.
 
Last edited:
I would start at 1 units twice daily. Just start lantus the next regular shot time.

Is that 1 unit based on his weight or his current BS levels?

Depending on when it gets here it might have to be tomorrow anyway but I was just worried because if I start it tonight I won't be up all night to watch but if I start tomorrow tomorrow then I'll be home and awake all day to monitor.
 
Is that 1 unit based on his weight or his current BS levels?

Depending on when it gets here it might have to be tomorrow anyway but I was just worried because if I start it tonight I won't be up all night to watch but if I start tomorrow tomorrow then I'll be home and awake all day to monitor.

How much does Carter weigh?

Lantus takes up to 24 hours to build up a "depot" before the insulin starts to work to lower BG, so you probably won't see much action with tonight's dose.
 
Yay! So glad its arriving. :)

1. You're feeding a low-carb canned diet, so as long as you plan on testing at least 3 times a day (but at least 5x is better in the beginning if you can manage) Tight Regulation will allow you to get better control over his BG than SLGS would, making it easier to get him regulated. So you may want to consider going the other way, if that is your reasoning. Also, keep in mind that the (80+%) remission rates with Lantus are with TR, not other protocols. How much does Carter weigh, and is he overweight/underweight at all? The starting dose for Lantus with TR is .25u per kg of ideal weight (unless the cat is underweight, and then it is per kg of actual weight). Only very large framed cats like Maine Coons will start at 2u (the max starting dose). Most usually start at around 1u. Given his current dose of insulin, even with SLGS, I think I'd probably start with at least 1u (depending on his weight).

If the reason you're gravitating towards SLGS is because TR looks harder, there's a ton of experienced folks here and in the Lantus Forum that can help you out! It's not as hard as it looks.

2. Yes, when cats run too low (<50 on a human glucometer), you always want to lower the dose, with either guideline.

3. I think given his action on his current dose of Vetsulin, the fact that his is on a low carb, canned diet, and since he does not have a history of ketones (that is correct, yes?), I think starting at a normal starting dose (around 1u) would be good.

4. Since your schedule is pretty open, I would recommend stalling if you get a low pre-shot and asking for advice either here or in the Lantus forum.

5. I would start the Lantus tonight, if it arrives by shot time! Vetsulin is an in-out insulin, so you don't need to worry about overlap.

1. I'll look again at the TR information. Isn't it just basically doing a mini curve every day for the first little while? I have open availability right now so I'd rather get him nice and regulated with my open schedule so he's more in place for when I go back to work.

Carter was 17.6 pounds about a month ago when he was at the vet's. I can try and weigh him tonight on my human scale and just deduct my weight. But he's a pretty big boy, he's big but also overweight. He was 2o-something pounds when we adopted him but that's because he was stuck in a room all day by himself with a food bowl full of less than off brand dry food. He's some sort of flame-point siamese tabby x.

2. And according to the guideline, lower the dose by .25 or .5 of a unit? So on Lantus below 100 would still be shootable with a reduced, as opposed to Vetsulin where I'd be more inclined to not shoot? But until I get some data on him with Lantus, should I follow the no shooting below 150 rule?

3. Correct. No history of ketones and I've been checking daily the past 4 days. I'm trying to monitor daily because his PS's have been so high and he's usually pretty routine about peeing, usually right after eating breakfast and right after eating dinner.

4. If I stall, so I make a thread on the Vetsulin board, and then just go from there? Is there a maximum amount to stall? I know it said you want to make sure you catch the number as it begins to go up.

5. Okay I will! I have a feeling it won't arrive till later (I live like in the middle of no where so Expedited parcels usually get delivered on the end of their route around 9. If so I will start in AM.
 
How much does Carter weigh?

Lantus takes up to 24 hours to build up a "depot" before the insulin starts to work to lower BG, so you probably won't see much action with tonight's dose.

17.6 pounds last weighed in Mid-March but I will need to borrow a scale to weigh him tonight. If he lost any (hopefully he didn't gain) he would probably still be 15poundsish if I were to imagine.
 
@Erica & Carter Just to make sure, have you also picked up your u-100 syringes? Vetsulin uses different syringes so I just want to make sure you have the right ones on hand! (3/10cc, 5/16" with 1/2 unit markings).
 
17.6 pounds last weighed in Mid-March but I will need to borrow a scale to weigh him tonight. If he lost any (hopefully he didn't gain) he would probably still be 15poundsish if I were to imagine.

Do you know what his ideal weight is, if he's a little overweight? Your vet should be able to tell you this.
 
1. I'll look again at the TR information. Isn't it just basically doing a mini curve every day for the first little while? I have open availability right now so I'd rather get him nice and regulated with my open schedule so he's more in place for when I go back to work.

Carter was 17.6 pounds about a month ago when he was at the vet's. I can try and weigh him tonight on my human scale and just deduct my weight. But he's a pretty big boy, he's big but also overweight. He was 2o-something pounds when we adopted him but that's because he was stuck in a room all day by himself with a food bowl full of less than off brand dry food. He's some sort of flame-point siamese tabby x.

2. And according to the guideline, lower the dose by .25 or .5 of a unit? So on Lantus below 100 would still be shootable with a reduced, as opposed to Vetsulin where I'd be more inclined to not shoot? But until I get some data on him with Lantus, should I follow the no shooting below 150 rule?

3. Correct. No history of ketones and I've been checking daily the past 4 days. I'm trying to monitor daily because his PS's have been so high and he's usually pretty routine about peeing, usually right after eating breakfast and right after eating dinner.

4. If I stall, so I make a thread on the Vetsulin board, and then just go from there? Is there a maximum amount to stall? I know it said you want to make sure you catch the number as it begins to go up.

5. Okay I will! I have a feeling it won't arrive till later (I live like in the middle of no where so Expedited parcels usually get delivered on the end of their route around 9. If so I will start in AM.

1. With Lantus & TR, you test before each shot, and then try and get a few mid-cycle tests in between each cycle (one being around around +6). In either the AM or PM cycle for the first three days, you'll want to get a +3, +6, and +9, and then whatever mid-cycle tests you can easily manage for the other cycle. I think if you have the luxury of testing more now than you will then you go back to work, and you're trying to get him regulated ASAP (keeping in mind some cats regulate in a matter of weeks and it takes several months with other cats, so rushing through the process is not an option), I would definitely start with TR.

2. It depends on which guideline you use. I'm not really that familiar with SLGS, but with TR you lower the dose by .25u if at any point in the cycle he drops below 50. And no, you don't want to shoot a full dose on TR if his preshot is less than 100. There are different options if that is the case (such as shooting a reduced dose, or waiting to see if his BG goes up on its own and doing a full dose), which is why I would say stall and then post here for advice. Until you get enough data, in his first few weeks I wouldn't shoot a full dose if his BG is less than 150. Once you have a better idea of how he handles the insulin, then you can shoot on lower numbers with more confidence.

3. Great!

4. If you stall, I would make a thread on the Lantus board, and go from there!

5. Gotcha. Yes, if it arrives after his shot time, I'd start him in the morning.
 
Do you know what his ideal weight is, if he's a little overweight? Your vet should be able to tell you this.

I believe she said 13 would be ideal weight for his stature. My other cats are a little overweight but maybe a pound each, so I'm hoping the canned diet helps them as well.
 
1. With Lantus & TR, you test before each shot, and then try and get a few mid-cycle tests in between each cycle (one being around around +6). In either the AM or PM cycle for the first three days, you'll want to get a +3, +6, and +9, and then whatever mid-cycle tests you can easily manage for the other cycle. I think if you have the luxury of testing more now than you will then you go back to work, and you're trying to get him regulated ASAP (keeping in mind some cats regulate in a matter of weeks and it takes several months with other cats, so rushing through the process is not an option), I would definitely start with TR.

2. It depends on which guideline you use. I'm not really that familiar with SLGS, but with TR you lower the dose by .25u if at any point in the cycle he drops below 50. And no, you don't want to shoot a full dose on TR if his preshot is less than 100. There are different options if that is the case (such as shooting a reduced dose, or waiting to see if his BG goes up on its own and doing a full dose), which is why I would say stall and then post here for advice. Until you get enough data, in his first few weeks I wouldn't shoot a full dose if his BG is less than 150. Once you have a better idea of how he handles the insulin, then you can shoot on lower numbers with more confidence.

3. Great!

4. If you stall, I would make a thread on the Lantus board, and go from there!

5. Gotcha. Yes, if it arrives after his shot time, I'd start him in the morning.

Ohhhh okay, so TR is really no different than how I've been testing currently except obviously more tests and at different times (+3, +6, +9) as the nadir and onset times are different than with Vetsulin where his nadir is usually +5. Yeah that's definitely something I would do. I guess I was thinking it was more complicated than it was.

After a week on the Lantus would I then do a full curve? And when I say full curve every 2 hours but for good measure should I test +1, +2 and +11, +12 in the first cycle for good measure?
 
Last edited:
After a week on the Vetsulin, would I then do a full curve?
Is that correct? Are not yu changing from Vetsulin to lantus?

I would not test at +1, especially with Lantus. Frequently BG will be higher than preshot due to food. Before a week on Lantus I would take some BG at about 5-6 hours.
 
Is that correct? Are not yu changing from Vetsulin to lantus?

I would not test at +1, especially with Lantus. Frequently BG will be higher than preshot due to food. Before a week on Lantus I would take some BG at about 5-6 hours.

Sorry I keep saying a Vetsulin when I mean Lantus lol

I am changing from a Vetsulin to Lantus yes.

Okie dokie, yeah I figured it would be food influenced, I just didn't know if the first two hours or the last two hours of the cycle would give me more insight at all into how it starts up and levels down.
 
Last edited:
Ohhhh okay, so TR is really no different than how I've been testing currently except obviously more tests and at different times (+3, +6, +9) as the nadir and onset times are different than with Vetsulin where his nadir is usually +5. Yeah that's definitely something I would do. I guess I was thinking it was more complicated than it was.

After a week on the Vetsulin, would I then do a full curve? And when I say full curve every 2 hours but for good measure should I test +1, +2 and +11, +12 in the first cycle for good measure?

With an ideal weight of 13 lbs, his starting dose with TR would be 1.25u. However, I don't see any harm starting at 1u and raising it after a few days (if it's not sufficient) if you're very nervous about the starting dose. Hopefully others will comment!

You're right, you're currently testing enough for TR! You would just adjust your test times a little. The nadir with Lantus is typically somewhere between +5 and +7, depending on the cat. Once you get a few weeks of testing in, you'll have a better idea where Carter's nadir will typically be.

After a week on the Lantus, yes, I would do a full curve if you can! My testing schedule with Bandit (and I tested a little less freqently than some because of my work schedule, how much you test will depend on what is possible for you to do), was before each shot and 2-3 tests at varying spots mid-cycle (both AM & PM, when I could), and a curve once a week when I was home on the weekend. I would also try and get mini-curves in (+3, +6, and +9), when I was able.
 
With an ideal weight of 13 lbs, his starting dose with TR would be 1.25u. However, I don't see any harm starting at 1u and raising it after a few days (if it's not sufficient) if you're very nervous about the starting dose. Hopefully others will comment!

You're right, you're currently testing enough for TR! You would just adjust your test times a little. The nadir with Lantus is typically somewhere between +5 and +7, depending on the cat. Once you get a few weeks of testing in, you'll have a better idea where Carter's nadir will typically be.

After a week on the Lantus, yes, I would do a full curve if you can! My testing schedule with Bandit (and I tested a little less freqently than some because of my work schedule, how much you test will depend on what is possible for you to do), was before each shot and 2-3 tests at varying spots mid-cycle (both AM & PM, when I could), and a curve once a week when I was home on the weekend. I would also try and get mini-curves in (+3, +6, and +9), when I was able.

Gotcha, thank you!

When I go back to work, and can't get a mid-day test every day, how do I make up for that? By doing more in the PM cycle? Even if it means I can't catch the nadir?
 
Gotcha, thank you!

When I go back to work, and can't get a mid-day test every day, how do I make up for that? By doing more in the PM cycle? Even if it means I can't catch the nadir?

I was never able to get Bandit's nadir (+6) in the AM cycle because of work on weekdays. So I would get his nadir in the PM cycle. His shots were at 7am/7pm, and his nadir was typically around +6. So I would get a test in around 9 or 10pm before bed, and then set an alarm to get up at 1am (+6) to feed and test him, and then go right back to sleep. I understand some people have sleeping disorders and aren't able to do this, but that's what worked for me. And I would also test more frequently on the weekends in the AM cycles. Over time, all of this data builds up and gives you a good picture of what is going on.

If you're not able to stay up or do the alarm, are you able to run home on your lunch break? Or is there someone you could teach to come over and test a few days a week when there's no way you can get either nadir? The first year Bandit was on insulin, I used to bribe college students to come over and help me test during the day until my brother moved in with me later in the year and would stay up to get the 1am tests since he didn't go into work until 10am. This past year when Bandit was on insulin, my boyfriend and I would trade off nights of who stayed up/set an alarm to get the test.

When Bandit tested less than 100 for his preshot, I hardly ever had the ability to stall and test because I always had to leave for work soon after his shot. That meant we nearly always shot reduced doses in his AM cycle, if he had low preshots during the week.
 
Last edited:
I was never able to get Bandit's nadir (+6) in the AM cycle because of work on weekdays. So I would get his nadir in the PM cycle. His shots were at 7am/7pm, and his nadir was typically around +6. So I would get a test in around 9 or 10pm before bed, and then set an alarm to get up at 1am (+6) to feed and test him, and then go right back to sleep. I understand some people have sleeping disorders and aren't able to do this, but that's what worked for me. And I would also test more frequently on the weekends in the AM cycles. Over time, all of this data builds up and gives you a good picture of what is going on.

If you're not able to stay up or do the alarm, are you able to run home on your lunch break? Or is there someone you could teach to come over and test a few days a week when there's no way you can get either nadir? The first year Bandit was on insulin, I used to bribe college students to come over and help me test during the day until my brother moved in with me later in the year and would stay up to get the 1am tests since he didn't go into work until 10am. This past year when Bandit was on insulin, my boyfriend and I would trade off nights of who stayed up/set an alarm to get the test.

When Bandit tested less than 100 for his preshot, I hardly ever had the ability to stall and test because I always had to leave for work soon after his shot. That meant we nearly always shot reduced doses in his AM cycle, if he had low preshots during the week.

I could probably stay up until 1am rather than sleep then wake up.

What is the best feeding schedule for TR for Lantus? Are there any times where it's better to not feed and let the insulin work?

I'm currently doing 4x a day, after AMPS, after +5, after PMPS, and then after +3 or +4 last test before bed time he gets another feeding. At this point I could probably do more however I wanted a feeding schedule that was somewhat realistic for when I did go back to work. Even if I were to buy 3 separate automatic feeders, my Simon is pretty dominant and would likely push Carter and Odin out of the way, even though Carter eating more frequently is what I'm most concerned about.

No unfortunately we share a car, and if my wife were to come home on her lunch break she literally only has time to take the dog out for a quick pee and head back in time. We don't have any friends or family here, they're all in Canada. Limited options I suppose.

Is TR something that needs to be kept up consistently or when they start to get more regulated does the testing reduce at all?
 
I have always fed Bandit every 6 hours (4x a day). At each shot time, and then again at around +6. Since I wasn't ever home during the week to test him, and I knew his nadir was at around +6, I liked that he was eating then in case he dropped a little low while I was at work. I use autofeeders when I'm not at home to feed.

As for your auto feeder issues--I always feed the cats in separate locations (even if it's just separate ends of the kitchen), so they get used to going to different spots for meals. I make sure each cat always gets fed at the same location, every time, and I set the auto feeders down in those locations. The meals are currently small enough where both cats gobble down the majority of their food before running over to see if the other has finished theirs yet. You can try using the feeders when you're home to see how they behave and tweak your meal times/locations to work for you. And if worse comes to worse, can you separate either Carter or Simon from the other two while you're at work to make sure everyone gets their afternoon meal? I had to do this with Orpheus for a while before he and Bandit figured out how to eat at their feeders without one or the other hogging all the food.

Do you know what your schedule will be like yet with your new job, or are you still looking?
 
Last edited:
I have always fed Bandit every 6 hours (4x a day). At each shot time, and then again at around +6. Since I wasn't ever home during the week to test him, and I knew his nadir was at around +6, I liked that he was eating then in case he dropped a little low while I was at work. I use autofeeders when I'm not at home to feed.

As for your auto feeder issues--I always feed the cats in separate locations (even if it's just separate ends of the kitchen), so they get used to going to different spots for meals. I make sure each cat always gets fed at the same location, every time, and I set the auto feeders down in those locations. The meals are currently small enough where both cats gobble down the majority of their food before running over to see if the other has finished theirs yet. You can try using the feeders when you're home to see how they behave and tweak your meal times/locations to work for you. And if worse comes to worse, can you separate either Carter or Simon from the other two while you're at work to make sure everyone gets their afternoon meal? I had to do this with Orpheus for a while before he and Bandit figured out how to eat at their feeders without one or the other hogging all the food.

Do you know what your schedule will be like yet with your new job, or are you still looking?

Oh okay, that's reassuring. I know some people feed like every 3 hours and I didn't figure that was the most practical approach for me to take even with an autofeeder because 4x times seems like enough time gap for where they can get hungry again.

I don't know my schedule yet as I'm still looking but I will make it work somebow. I just didn't know if you always keep up with the TR until they go into remission or until their numbers are more regulated, just for the purpose of day to day life like if I worked all day but I had an event at night to go to etc like how detremental it would be to get those mid cycle readings?

This isn't really applicable right now as I've only been working part time but when we move back to Canada I actually have friends and there's stuff to do up there so I wanted to still balance everything out to have some sort of a social life as well because I definitely do not have one in Alabama lol I was curious to how everyone balances their life around TR. I'm only 24 so I do sometimes like to go out for dinner or drinks but I don't want to neglect Carter and his readings.
 
Oh okay, that's reassuring. I know some people feed like every 3 hours and I didn't figure that was the most practical approach for me to take even with an autofeeder because 4x times seems like enough time gap for where they can get hungry again.

I don't know my schedule yet as I'm still looking but I will make it work somebow. I just didn't know if you always keep up with the TR until they go into remission or until their numbers are more regulated, just for the purpose of day to day life like if I worked all day but I had an event at night to go to etc like how detremental it would be to get those mid cycle readings?

This isn't really applicable right now as I've only been working part time but when we move back to Canada I actually have friends and there's stuff to do up there so I wanted to still balance everything out to have some sort of a social life as well because I definitely do not have one in Alabama lol I was curious to how everyone balances their life around TR. I'm only 24 so I do sometimes like to go out for dinner or drinks but I don't want to neglect Carter and his readings.

Every cat is different, but Bandit has always held really stable numbers when he is regulated, so I have cut down to testing 3-4 times a day when he's well regulated (once before each shot, and once or twice mid-cycle). Whether or not you can do that really depends on how Carter responds to Lantus. It's hard to predict exactly how every cat will react to insulin.

I was working two jobs and going to grad school when Bandit was diagnosed back in 2009, and I still managed to have an active social life while he was on insulin with TR! Since I was typically going out on Saturday or Sunday nights, I would make sure I got my mid-cycle tests during the days on the weekends, and then I would grab a test before bed when I got home (usually around 2-3am). At minimum, you need get a test before each shot, and a test somewhere between +5 and +7 in one of the cycles. Other than that, the timing of your other tests are flexible! If you are able to test more some days than others, that's ok! As long as you're getting those minimum three daily tests, you can do it. It actually helps to switch up some of the extra test times to see how he does at different times of the day.

Lantus also does best when shot on a strict 12 hr schedule, but you can move the shot around in 15 minute increments per cycle if you know ahead of time that you'll need to adjust your shot times. For example, if you know that neither you or your wife will be home at 7pm to give him a shot next Saturday but you will be home by 8pm, you can give him his shot at 7:15am Friday, 7:30pm Friday, 7:45am Saturday, and then 8pm on Saturday. You move it back down to his regular time the same way.

I am also fortunate that my good friends are mostly cat lovers, so they understand if I have to cancel or change plans once in a while to accomodate my cats. Orpheus got really sick towards the end of last week, and my BF had to work so I had to cancel plans to go out with my friends Saturday so I could stay home and take care of him. Instead, I had a few friends over for a mellow hang-out night at my house, and I still had fun. :)
 
Every cat is different, but Bandit has always held really stable numbers when he is regulated, so I have cut down to testing 3-4 times a day when he's well regulated (once before each shot, and once or twice mid-cycle). Whether or not you can do that really depends on how Carter responds to Lantus. It's hard to predict exactly how every cat will react to insulin.

I was working two jobs and going to grad school when Bandit was diagnosed back in 2009, and I still managed to have an active social life while he was on insulin with TR! Since I was typically going out on Saturday or Sunday nights, I would make sure I got my mid-cycle tests during the days on the weekends, and then I would grab a test before bed when I got home (usually around 2-3am). At minimum, you need get a test before each shot, and a test somewhere between +5 and +7 in one of the cycles. Other than that, the timing of your other tests are flexible! If you are able to test more some days than others, that's ok! As long as you're getting those minimum three daily tests, you can do it. It actually helps to switch up some of the extra test times to see how he does at different times of the day.

Lantus also does best when shot on a strict 12 hr schedule, but you can move the shot around in 15 minute increments per cycle if you know ahead of time that you'll need to adjust your shot times. For example, if you know that neither you or your wife will be home at 7pm to give him a shot next Saturday but you will be home by 8pm, you can give him his shot at 7:15am Friday, 7:30pm Friday, 7:45am Saturday, and then 8pm on Saturday. You move it back down to his regular time the same way.

I am also fortunate that my good friends are mostly cat lovers, so they understand if I have to cancel or change plans once in a while to accomodate my cats. Orpheus got really sick towards the end of last week, and my BF had to work so I had to cancel plans to go out with my friends Saturday so I could stay home and take care of him. Instead, I had a few friends over for a mellow hang-out night at my house, and I still had fun. :)

Thank you for explaining everything I really appreciate it!

Yeah I'm not a huge party animal or anything but since we've been stuck in Alabama for 3 years we've both been pretty depressed as we really don't have friends here. We come home, go to work, repeat. I'm not going to lie, it's pretty lonely. I just wanted to hear that it was possible to still work and maintain a social life because one of the things I'm most excited about by moving back home is being able to spend time with friends again. But my animals are also important, so it's comforting to know you can maintain balance.
 
Thank you for explaining everything I really appreciate it!

Yeah I'm not a huge party animal or anything but since we've been stuck in Alabama for 3 years we've both been pretty depressed as we really don't have friends here. We come home, go to work, repeat. I'm not going to lie, it's pretty lonely. I just wanted to hear that it was possible to still work and maintain a social life because one of the things I'm most excited about by moving back home is being able to spend time with friends again. But my animals are also important, so it's comforting to know you can maintain balance.

Trust me, it all seems overwhelming now but you'll figure out a schedule that works! The key is just making sure you're planning stuff ahead of time--and having friends willing to come hang out at your house (or even start out at your house and then head out someplace else after shot time) does help!

I'd also like to add that as someone with a very active social life, TR really pays off if you can put the effort in because you have a better and sooner chance of remission, and my social life is definitely way easier to deal with when Bandit is in remission! I only need to test him once every week or so, and I can set the auto feeders for any meals when I won't be home, which comes in handy if I want to grab dinner or drinks after work or head to early gaming parties with my friends on the weekends. :)
 
And by shot time, I mean Carter insulin shot time, not whiskey shot time. Although, perhaps there are times when I do mean both. ;)
Hahaha excellent.

I was looking at a few automatic feeders but I know few members mentioned 1 in particular the PetSafe 5x feeder as a popular one, is that one you have experience with?

I was looking at a couple other brands and I'm sure they all have their issues but I wanted to be sure before I spend $120 on 3 of them lol
 
I'm currently using the PetSafe 5 feeders, and they are by far the easiest to use. Back when I was looking into auto feeders in 2007 or so, I went through several feeders that Bandit destroyed (including the PetSafe 5 and a Lentek feeder, and this was back when they were like $80 bucks each), before I finally settled on this one, and I used that kind for many years. Then, back in February, I had a freak feeder accident where I accidentally left them on top of the toaster oven and they melted after a fateful plate of nachos (don't ask). The PetSafe 5 ones were on sale at the time for $30 bucks on Amazon so I grabbed two, and now I love them. SO much easier to program than my old ones. Bandit has also chilled out a bit in his older age and no longer attempts to destroy new feeders at 14 the way he did when he was 5.

I'm just curious, where in Canada are you from/moving back to? I grew up on the Canadian border, just an hour south of Ottawa. I used to go out in Ottawa and Montreal quite a bit (mostly after I turned 18 but before I turned 21, I'll admit). Alabama is definitely a VERY different culture!
 
I'm currently using the PetSafe 5 feeders, and they are by far the easiest to use. Back when I was looking into auto feeders in 2007 or so, I went through several feeders that Bandit destroyed (including the PetSafe 5 and a Lentek feeder, and this was back when they were like $80 bucks each), before I finally settled on this one, and I used that kind for many years. Then, back in February, I had a freak feeder accident where I accidentally left them on top of the toaster oven and they melted after a fateful plate of nachos (don't ask). The PetSafe 5 ones were on sale at the time for $30 bucks on Amazon so I grabbed two, and now I love them. SO much easier to program than my old ones. Bandit has also chilled out a bit in his older age and no longer attempts to destroy new feeders at 14 the way he did when he was 5.

I'm just curious, where in Canada are you from/moving back to? I grew up on the Canadian border, just an hour south of Ottawa. I used to go out in Ottawa and Montreal quite a bit (mostly after I turned 18 but before I turned 21, I'll admit). Alabama is definitely a VERY different culture!

Ah sneaky cat! I don't forsee any of them trying to break into the feeders, Simon is older, Odin is not super food motivated, Carter is a little crafty some times but I doubt he could figure it out.

I'm from Vancouver, BC - so the west coast! I lived there until we came down here in 2013 for a "visit" that turned into a 3 year haul. Basically we were niave to immigration laws (now I know them like the back of my hand, I did the US immigration and got my GC all on my own without a lawyer) so we didn't think about the fact of spending 6 months in Canada and then back and forth to the US wasn't going be plausible. My wife had a DUI from when she was 18 and Canada takes that very seriously so this August will be the 5 year mark in which we can finally apply to go back to Canada. We had to do the American immigration so we could stay in the same country together while we waited for the time to pass, so I could work and we could have two incomes. I'm not going to sugar coat it, I really hate it in Alabama lol like, I will never come back here once we leave. As you can probably imagine, it's difficult being in a same-sex relationship in the south. It's just not something I was ever worried about in Vancouver. I have huge plugs and unconvenital hair colours, tattoos, piercings and people down here look at me like I'm the worst thing imaginable. I was never used to being treated so poorly, coming from a more progressive city.

Anyways I'm rambling haha long story short we both can't wait to go back to Canada. I unfortunately have to renew my GC while I apply for my wife's Canadian Permanent Residency, so I have two application processes to do at the same time in the next few months, which means crunch time!
 
Yeah that the Lantus is arriving!!

Just a quick note...I agree you should try TR...it's really hard to watch our kitties stay in higher numbers for a week on SLGS instead of being able to adjust the dose more frequently like we can in TR

For the first 5-7 days, you're "filling the depot", so until the depot is full, you won't see the full effect of the dose....think of it like a timed release medication where some of it goes to work quickly and the rest goes "in the depot" and is slowly released back into the bloodstream....but until the "depot" is full, it won't be releasing the whole amount over the rest of the cycle.

On testing, you don't need to ever do a strict "curve" on TR depending on when you can test. TR only requires a minimum of 3 tests per day....the 2 pre-shot and if you can't get a mid-cycle on the AM cycle, it makes the PM cycle even more important. There's lots of great info in this "Is TR possible when working a full time job?" thread

For now, if you get a PS less than 150, you'd want to stall, don't feed and post for help. Make sure the subject line says something like "STALLING..NEED HELP" so people know you're waiting. As you get more familiar with lantus, that "stall limit" will gradually come down to where you're eventually willing to shoot anything over 50

Looking forward to seeing how Carter does!! So exciting!!
 
Also has anyone used a pet fountain to encourage water consumption? Carter's PU/PD symptoms have decreased but I would like to encourage him and the others to drink out of their own bowl instead of all trying to drink out of the dog's bowl.
 
Yeah that the Lantus is arriving!!

Just a quick note...I agree you should try TR...it's really hard to watch our kitties stay in higher numbers for a week on SLGS instead of being able to adjust the dose more frequently like we can in TR

For the first 5-7 days, you're "filling the depot", so until the depot is full, you won't see the full effect of the dose....think of it like a timed release medication where some of it goes to work quickly and the rest goes "in the depot" and is slowly released back into the bloodstream....but until the "depot" is full, it won't be releasing the whole amount over the rest of the cycle.

On testing, you don't need to ever do a strict "curve" on TR depending on when you can test. TR only requires a minimum of 3 tests per day....the 2 pre-shot and if you can't get a mid-cycle on the AM cycle, it makes the PM cycle even more important. There's lots of great info in this "Is TR possible when working a full time job?" thread

For now, if you get a PS less than 150, you'd want to stall, don't feed and post for help. Make sure the subject line says something like "STALLING..NEED HELP" so people know you're waiting. As you get more familiar with lantus, that "stall limit" will gradually come down to where you're eventually willing to shoot anything over 50

Looking forward to seeing how Carter does!! So exciting!!

Awesome, thanks Chris!

When I make a daily thread in the Lantus forum do I just change the title over again or make a new thread and link the old one?
 
Carter taking up my entire body currently.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    53.2 KB · Views: 46
When I make a daily thread in the Lantus forum do I just change the title over again or make a new thread and link the old one?

Each day only start one new post...Keep the subject line updated with the latest numbers....so like tomorrow would look like this:

4/19 Carter AMPS ### ......then as you get new tests in, just "edit" and add them to the subject line like this: 4/19 Carter AMPS ###, +2 ###,+5 ### (whenever you get tests in)

If you run out of space, you can go back and delete older tests. You can actually get quite a bit of info there before you run out of room

Just try to remember to put the link to the prior day's post into the new one so it's easy to go back and quickly see what's been going on. If you go look at some of the other posts on the Lantus board, you'll get some ideas on how we do it
 
Each day only start one new post...Keep the subject line updated with the latest numbers....so like tomorrow would look like this:

4/19 Carter AMPS ### ......then as you get new tests in, just "edit" and add them to the subject line like this: 4/19 Carter AMPS ###, +2 ###,+5 ### (whenever you get tests in)

If you run out of space, you can go back and delete older tests. You can actually get quite a bit of info there before you run out of room

Just try to remember to put the link to the prior day's post into the new one so it's easy to go back and quickly see what's been going on. If you go look at some of the other posts on the Lantus board, you'll get some ideas on how we do it
Okie doke!
 
Ah sneaky cat! I don't forsee any of them trying to break into the feeders, Simon is older, Odin is not super food motivated, Carter is a little crafty some times but I doubt he could figure it out.

I'm from Vancouver, BC - so the west coast! I lived there until we came down here in 2013 for a "visit" that turned into a 3 year haul. Basically we were niave to immigration laws (now I know them like the back of my hand, I did the US immigration and got my GC all on my own without a lawyer) so we didn't think about the fact of spending 6 months in Canada and then back and forth to the US wasn't going be plausible. My wife had a DUI from when she was 18 and Canada takes that very seriously so this August will be the 5 year mark in which we can finally apply to go back to Canada. We had to do the American immigration so we could stay in the same country together while we waited for the time to pass, so I could work and we could have two incomes. I'm not going to sugar coat it, I really hate it in Alabama lol like, I will never come back here once we leave. As you can probably imagine, it's difficult being in a same-sex relationship in the south. It's just not something I was ever worried about in Vancouver. I have huge plugs and unconvenital hair colours, tattoos, piercings and people down here look at me like I'm the worst thing imaginable. I was never used to being treated so poorly, coming from a more progressive city.

Anyways I'm rambling haha long story short we both can't wait to go back to Canada. I unfortunately have to renew my GC while I apply for my wife's Canadian Permanent Residency, so I have two application processes to do at the same time in the next few months, which means crunch time!
Erica, I am from the south, Kentucky, so please let me apologize for your treatment in Alabama. I promise that we are not all narrow minded in the south!
 
Erica, I am from the south, Kentucky, so please let me apologize for your treatment in Alabama. I promise that we are not all narrow minded in the south!
Haha no need for apologies! I've met some cool people here, but overall I don't fit into the lifestyle here I guess.

Vancouver is my home and we've considered moving elsewhere in the US but we realized going back for our trips that it is where we'll be the happiest. Also I miss my healthcare! :p
 
Haha no need for apologies! I've met some cool people here, but overall I don't fit into the lifestyle here I guess.

Vancouver is my home and we've considered moving elsewhere in the US but we realized going back for our trips that it is where we'll be the happiest. Also I miss my healthcare! :p
I think everyone should live where they are the happiest, if at all possible. So hope it goes smoothly for you both.
 
Bon chance with the Lantus, Erica! :)


Mogs
.
Thanks!

I just tested Carter and he was at 79, I waited an hour, and he was 93, in the greens for the first time, let alone the PMPS!! I am opting to skip tonight's dose as the Lantus probably won't get here for another 2 hours anyway and I'm definitely not comfortable dosing with Vetsulin when he's that low. His +5 in the AM cycle was 330, higher than normal, so I'm surprised he was that low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top