? Kylee was AMPS BS 84 Then +3 125 Should I give her a shot?

Kylee and Her Mom Renee'

Member Since 2018
No shot this am. Her BG was 84.This was after she ate some Purina DM canned and I think hubby gave her some dry before he left the house. I tested again 3 hours later. Just a few DM dry food. She was at 125. Should I give her some insulin or not. Just keep testing? Or call vet? I know I have not been AMPS testing, but this seems like she is on the right track. Or am I just wishing. Please help.
Thank you.
 
The problem with shooting at +3 is that you will be 3 hours off your regular schedule and it would take 3 days to get back to that schedule. Lantus is a depot insulin and dosing any less than 11 or 11.5 hours apart is in effect double dosing and can be dangerous.
The guidelines to get back on schedule are:
(1) shooting 1 hour early once a day (not each shot) or
(2) shooting 30 minutes early each shot.
So, tonight's shot would be 11.5 hours after shooting, and so on until you are back on schedule.

Since both you and Kylee are new to this (and Kylee is showing green numbers), it is best to not shoot now. If you can, get a +10 test. Test at +11 to see if she is continuing upwards, then ask for advice regarding the PM dosing. (Do not feed after the +10).

Better and safer to skip a dose than to have an overlap (which acts as double dosing).
 
The problem with shooting at +3 is that you will be 3 hours off your regular schedule and it would take 3 days to get back to that schedule. Lantus is a depot insulin and dosing any less than 11 or 11.5 hours apart is in effect double dosing and can be dangerous.
The guidelines to get back on schedule are:
(1) shooting 1 hour early once a day (not each shot) or
(2) shooting 30 minutes early each shot.
So, tonight's shot would be 11.5 hours after shooting, and so on until you are back on schedule.

Since both you and Kylee are new to this (and Kylee is showing green numbers), it is best to not shoot now. If you can, get a +10 test. Test at +11 to see if she is continuing upwards, then ask for advice regarding the PM dosing. (Do not feed after the +10).

Better and safer to skip a dose than to have an overlap (which acts as double dosing).
Thank you, I will have to look up depot insulin. Just to be clear, she has not had her shot since last night late around 9:30. Her BS showed low, so that is why I did not dose this AM. It is now 12:30 afternoon time in The US. Should I give her .5 dose which would be half her dose or go until tonight. I don't want to make her sicker, but her numbers are not high. It is confusing to me. I thought the 125 was a better number.
 
Do not shoot until PMPS. If you shoot now, you will have 2 different cycles happening at once from the 2 shots and that is very dicey.
So just make sure she eats during the day if she looks like she is not doing well? She is in the sun sleeping, well trying to, I keep checking on her.
I will give her PMPS. I usually give her her last food of the night then insulin. All this between 8:30 and 9:00pm. Does this sound ok. This seems to be working with kitties and my schedule. Thank you.
 
Thank you. I guess I wanted to get a second opinion and feel some security knowing kitty will be well taken care of.
I deleted my post because the link wasn't working right. I don't know how to link it properly.

It's absolutely up to you if you want to do that. I wasn't sure if you were aware of the FDMB FB page. :)

What is TR and SLGS?
TR is Tight Regulation and SLGS is Start Low Go Slow. They are described in the yellow stickies on top of the Lantus/Levemir page.
 
I deleted my post because the link wasn't working right. I don't know how to link it properly.

It's absolutely up to you if you want to do that. I wasn't sure if you were aware of the FDMB FB page. :)


TR is Tight Regulation and SLGS is Start Low Go Slow. They are described in the yellow stickies on top of the Lantus/Levemir page.
No, I was not aware of that. Thank you. I printed out the TR and SLGS. It seems I wake up thinking reading about this and go to bed same way.
 
Back
Top