Kobe (Dean and Lesley)
Active Member
Ketones were 0.3 yesterday and are up to 2.1 today. I'm starting to freak out.
I'm on hold with the Vet.
I'm on hold with the Vet.
Last edited:
Good job on your new Post title, Hoping everything will be ok with Kobe, keep us posted!!Ketones were 0.3 yesterday and are up to 2.1 today. I'm starting to freak out.
I'm on hold with the Vet.
I will tag the members that have been helping youJust measured Ketones at 0.2!!!
BG is responding to the 1.75, but not as much as we had hoped. wondering if the dose needs to go up a little.
In the hospital, Kobe got "2" units, but I am wondering if he got a REALLY BIG 2 units. When the doctor measured his BG at +9, it was 66 on a non-human meter. So, just under the 68 which is still normal range, right? when I put it in Kobe's spreadsheet, I called it 49 because Kobe's SS is based on a human meter, so the 49 turned the cell the bright green color that indicates he was a little too low, lower than what we wanted but not by much.
Maybe the dose needs to go up a little once the 3/10 cc syringes with .5 unit marks come. I'd like to see his BG lower, but if the Ketones are trace only, I think we can wait until Thursday or Friday.
I found these guidelines on the Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing Sticky.
View attachment 72236
@Wendy&NekoDean and I aren't seeing any signs of nausea in Kobe. I am wondering if we can stop the anti-nausea meds. Kobe tolerates the sticks like a champ, but the pills are another story. The Maropitant is particularly offensive because it's bitter and makes him drool and smack his lips for about 5 minutes. If he needs the Maropitant, the drooling and smacking are a small price to pay, but if not... I hate to bother him more than I need to.
One way to give maropitant is to get some plain empty gel caps, size 3 or 4 might work for that med, and give the maropitant pill in that. If he's not vomiting and eating his meals well, you can try stopping the maropitant and seeing if he stays eating. Is he eating 1.5 times his normal calories now?
As far as insulin dose goes, it takes 5-7 days or 10-14 cycles for the depot to build when you first start Lantus. Today is cycle 4 at this dose. As long as his ketones stay low, you are OK with this dose.
When you say he got 2 units at the vet, that was the Lantus? Some cats will show an initial strong reaction to insulin which then fades away. But I wonder if there were other factors like him not eating enough at the vet.
Or they might not be too knowledgeable on FD , sometime vets are not familiar, Vets should have every minimal detail about Kobe on file everything, and you have the right to see it, and they treat it as it was a dog with diabetes, do not feel intimidated , ask your vet questions after questions, that’s why the more you read the main forum post and sticky notes you can make comparisons, and questions any discrepancies , I am sure with your Vets and the assistance of this forum Kobe will return to be himself very soon!! Dosing and the he food you feed are to me the most important thing in regulating a cats diabetes, honestly, I dont Think about it twice with advise on dosing for Corky, I or I should say we are both blessed he has no other ailments, since he left the hospital January 8, 2023 he has not stepped paw in a Vets office, I depend and blindly trust this forum and members, he would be alive if not, financially I cannot afford a vet visit, I even get assistance for insulin and supplies from DCIN Foundation, so I speak from the heart, it will get better much better as you become more knowledgeable in his treatments and never be afraid to ask when in doubt, Kobe know the love you have for himYes, 2 units of Lantus at the Vet. Sorry, I didn't answer your question. Entirely possible he wasn't eating enough. The doctors say "oh, he ate for us," because he did, but they don't make sure it adds up to enough. They have so much going on.
Carbs are carbs and he will consume the whole 12% , 0-10 FF pates are the best also FF has a few flavors like Fish and Shrimp Flake is full of chunks of fish 0% carbs also Trout 4% , as a matter of fact, if you look at Corky’s SS scroll to the right on Remarks, you can see what both of my cats eat, mostly chunky foods 0-4% also Fancy Feast has from the Medleys Florentine flavors 10%Kobe is a pretty picky eater. We finally got him eating substantial amounts of wet food, but not enough to meet his caloric requirements. So he also eats Low Carb Power Cat Chicken and Turkey Kibble to make up the difference. We are trying to do as much wet food as possible, but now that we are trying to get 1.5 times as many calories, he's eating more kibble than I'd like.
I was starting some taste tests with him for the wet food I bought for the hypo kit. Doesn't do a lot of good to have a kit full of food that he won't touch, right? I wanted to make sure he would EAT it, so we could count on it in an emergency. Someone on here recommended the FF grilled options with gravy, about 12% carbs if memory serves. So we tried a tablespoon of the chicken one today. BIG HIT. Picky eater loved it.
My question is, can we mix the 3% carb FF Classic Pate, which he likes, but not quite enough, with the 12% carb FF Grilled with Gravy to make a 7.5% carb hybrid that is still under 10% carbs? Has anyone done this? I am just wondering if a little gravy boost could help get him to eat more wet food compared to kibble and still get the 1.5 x calories to help keep the Ketones away.
His appetite has been good, but he's been on the appetite stimulant and I have been home monitoring, putting little bowls of food under his nose to keep him eating extra. I have to go back to work tomorrow and won't be here to do that.
Good to know, !!!We've had lots of people combine foods to either boost or lower the carbs. We are looking at %carbs from calories. If the calories from the two foods are roughly the same, then half of each should be close to the average carbs of the two.
Other things that help are crumbled freeze dried meat - we have called freeze dried chicken crumbles as kitty crack! Or a swirl of Churo on top. You could even pulverize a little bit of the dry food and season the wet food with that.
Actually, many people find their cats do better with carbs around the 4% than feeding zero carbs.the lower the carbs the better to regulate the Bg numbers to the low blues and greens, that's when the pancreas begin to heal!!![]()
100% Fact at least for Corky!!Actually, many people find their cats do better with carbs around the 4% than feeding zero carbs.![]()
Here is something to help you calculate carbsDoes this look right?
FF Grilled Chicken with Gravy: 12% carbs and 70 Calories
FF Classic Chicken Pate: 3% carbs and 93 Calories
I am getting ~7% carbs for the mix of the two cans.
View attachment 72248
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)Good morning! We measured Kobe's ketones at 0.1 yesterday; happy see them continue to come down! He's eating without anti-nausea meds and without appetite stimulant. We had some nice BG numbers yesterday, but today I think Kobe is bouncing. I am thinking we just stay at 1.75 units for a while longer. Does this sound right?
I personallly cannot advice you on the insulin on you are using I am tagging several member that can or dosing matters I am sure someone will answer you shortly
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Great to hear ketones are 0.1Good morning! We measured Kobe's ketones at 0.1 yesterday; happy see them continue to come down! He's eating without anti-nausea meds and without appetite stimulant. We had some nice BG numbers yesterday, but today I think Kobe is bouncing. I am thinking we just stay at 1.75 units for a while longer. Does this sound right?
Greta new thread title!! And I see lots of yellows awesomeGood evening! Kobe's ketones aren't high, but they are on the rise at the moment. Yesterday ketones were 0.1, today they are at 0.7. I know that typically ketones don't increase quickly, but they can. Can we get ahead of this with some fluids at home?
We are still a couple cycles away from knowing whether we should increase insulin or not. I will get up tonight to get some mid cycle numbers.
Yes you could give some subQ fluids. Have you only given them the once before? I would not give more than 70 mls. Keep the site you give the fluids away from where you give the insulin injectionsGood evening! Kobe's ketones aren't high, but they are on the rise at the moment. Yesterday ketones were 0.1, today they are at 0.7. I know that typically ketones don't increase quickly, but they can. Can we get ahead of this with some fluids at home?
We are still a couple cycles away from knowing whether we should increase insulin or not. I will get up tonight to get some mid cycle numbers.
Awesome!!!Ketones are back down! Thank you!!!
@Suzanne & DarcyGood afternoon! Ten cycles after Kobe had those dark blue BG numbers, we raised Kobe's Lantus dose a hair, from 1.75 to 1.9 units, to help get rid of the Ketones. Since the switch to 1.9 units, Kobe's BG is floating around 300. I haven't measured it under 227. We are wondering if he needs another small increase in his dose. He's been at 1.9 units for 12 cycles. We'd appreciate your input!
I am not familiar with Lantus, or give you advice on dosing however those very high number can easily be on account of the high gravy carb food, the procedure when low like 64 you would start by testing first which you did, then give 1-2 medium carb food tsp test in half hour if still low repeat, the high carb , Karo or Honey which is a quick fix is when the BG is at point of HYPO, you give too much high carb, you will get higher numbers within 1/2-1 hour after, you want to stabilize first also If I am correct you do not raise or lower dose according to BG NUMBERS, , again I am not as knowledgeable as Lantus members. , and yes! patience is a virtue!!Hey, everybody. Kobe's BG is spending A LOT of time between 300 and 350.
We tried an increase from 1.9 to 2.1 units. His BG started going down pretty quickly and we kept it from going low with a little FF Gravy Lovers.
Then we tried an smaller increase from 1.9 to 2.0 units. BG still went pretty low to 64.
So he's back to 1.9 units again, but he's just spending most of his day between 300 and 350. Is this just where he needs to stay for now? Do we just need to be patient?
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I am not familiar with Lantus, or give you advice on dosing however those very high number can easily be on account of the high gravy carb food, the procedure when low like 64 you would start by testing first which you did, then give 1-2 medium carb food tsp test in half hour if still low repeat, the high carb , Karo or Honey which is a quick fix is when the BG is at point of HYPO, you give too much high carb, you will get higher numbers within 1/2-1 hour after, you want to stabilize first also If I am correct you do not raise or lower dose according to BG NUMBERS, , again I am not as knowledgeable as Lantus members. , and yes! patience is a virtue!!![]()
@Bron and Sheba (GA)Kobe had a very low (for him) AMPS and we ended up skipping his dose. We are back to 1.75. Was the decrease the right thing to do?