Klinger's #'s???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
I'm also scratching my head over Klinger's numbers. I'm at the point where I'm thinking of starting over at .50 or .75 - any thoughts?

Thanks!
 
That's a roller coaster of a spreadsheet for sure.

What do you think about going up in dose instead of going down? I ask because at the beginning of your Lev use it took quite a while to see a response, I'm noting how it took till 3U to finally get a blue. I know he's had quite a few greens on 1U, 1.5u, but it may be in the method of raising dose that the break through will come, not necessarily in the dose itself. I think that's one of the reasons Tilly seems to work so well, it requires a methodical increasing. We sometimes overlook that aspect with the longer acting insulins. We expect the change we make today to show up today and that is not how Lantus nor Levemir work.

The 400s today could be a result of raising the dose, so stay with the 1.75U for a while to see if he can't replicate the cycle he had on Friday. You did right to raise the dose based on that curve and I know it's hard to see the positive aspect of that when his BGs are going in the opposite direction from where we want. It took 5 days on 1.5U to get that yellow response on 1.5U, so it would be a good idea to wait the 5 days on 1.75U then to see what it can do.

Does that give you a different perspective at all?
 
Thanks, ladies. I guess I can keep him on 1.75 for a few more days. All p's are in place. Actually we came home from the grocery store and found a nice little present on the living room floor. I'll have to start him on miralax tonight.
Sorry, I'm just frustrated. I'm also wondering if I should try the old vial for a few cycles. Just to see if that makes a difference. You know...the magic bullet!!! If someone would just invent that magic bullet, they would be a VERY RICH person! Hmmm.
 
I know nothing about Lev....but, I do know I hope Klinger comes down. Hopefully you will see some positive movement soon.
 
Good morning,

We bumped Klinger up to 2 units Thursday night. He was red and pink all day yesterday - new dose wonkiness? This morning he was 74, I retested and he's 79. I waited 10 minutes to make sure he's on his way up and he's 88.

I remember when this happened a few weeks ago (7/11) it was said that going from red to green is a sign of to much insulin. Do you think that's the case now, or are we finally having a break through?
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
Good morning,

We bumped Klinger up to 2 units Thursday night. He was red and pink all day yesterday - new dose wonkiness? This morning he was 74, I retested and he's 79. I waited 10 minutes to make sure he's on his way up and he's 88.

I remember when this happened a few weeks ago (7/11) it was said that going from red to green is a sign of to much insulin. Do you think that's the case now, or are we finally having a break through?

I guess my first question would be did he get enough to eat last night? Maybe that is the reason for the unexpected lower number.
 
That's a great question, Pamela. You know, he didn't finish all of his food overnight. There was probably 1/2 a can left over. The last few weeks at these higher numbers all of his food is gone by the next meal time. When he's better regulated, I probably toss out a 1/2 can give or take.

He feels softer today and his urine clumps are smaller. All p's in place. :smile:
 
Thanks for the support ladies.
8/7 AMPS 110
+3 177
+5 172; he's sitting beside me, taking a bath - eyeballing his cardboard box trying to decide if it's a good place for a nap...ah to be a kitty.

He used to have a really late nadir when we first switched to lev and started seeing better numbers.
 
Are you going to be up for a little bit to get another couple checks in? He may be having what we call previous dose sign off with that 90 at +3. The 469 this AM bothers me.

Maybe try a skinny 2U, but he might eventually settle on 2U 'cause that curve yesterday sure looks nice. I hope you can catch if he goes down to 40, because that's a good indicator he's getting a little too much.

Yes, I'd call this a break through. Good job!
 
Last night he dropped from
PMPS 233
+2 134
+3 90 - I had a migrane and wasn't sure I'd be able to stay up to deal with lower numbers - thought I gave him med carb, but it turned out to be high carb.
+4 81
+5 87
+8 86 - woke up and could still feel him on the bed. He doesn't sleep with us that long....an hour tops. Brought him his plate of (high carb) food just in case he was going to have a late nadir.

8/9 AMPS 141

So, with the high carb food on board at +3, I would have thought he would have gone a loi higher. Maybe this was a hypo avoided??????
 
Those are some pretty numbers, Klinger! It looks like you are close to finding your good dose (for now...till you decide mama needs you to shake things up a little bit for her :lol: )
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
Last night he dropped from
PMPS 233
+2 134
+3 90 - I had a migrane and wasn't sure I'd be able to stay up to deal with lower numbers - thought I gave him med carb, but it turned out to be high carb.
+4 81
+5 87
+8 86 - woke up and could still feel him on the bed. He doesn't sleep with us that long....an hour tops. Brought him his plate of (high carb) food just in case he was going to have a late nadir.

8/9 AMPS 141

So, with the high carb food on board at +3, I would have thought he would have gone a loi higher. Maybe this was a hypo avoided??????

Interesting. How high is "high carb?" Unless it was a whole can full, it probably just slowed the drop. Despite your migraine, you did good getting more numbers! Excellent progress. Might as well stay with 2U if you can get a few tests in over the next few cycles to catch any real low.

My suggestion would be to try to resist the urge to give even medium carb food. Unless they are at 50 by +3 it's probably not needed, although yes that drop to 90 was kind of fast. A good dose can overcome any bounce they might have had though so that's why he came down from the 232 quickly. This cycle is not unusual for a good dose. It has what we call surfing - maintaining level numbers over a period of hours. That is a hallmark of a good dose of Levemir!

Way to go, Marcy & Klinger!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Charliemeow said:
Those are some pretty numbers, Klinger! It looks like you are close to finding your good dose (for now...till you decide mama needs you to shake things up a little bit for her :lol: )

Claudia, don't give him any ideas! :lol:

Interesting. How high is "high carb?" Unless it was a whole can full, it probably just slowed the drop. Despite your migraine, you did good getting more numbers! Excellent progress. Might as well stay with 2U if you can get a few tests in over the next few cycles to catch any real low.

Vicky, It turned out to be a whole can of high carb - Fancy Feast Grilled Beef! Yowza. Normally I wouldn't have broken out the med carb, but with the migraine, I couldn't trust myself to stay up if he were in trouble.

I gave him 1.75 this morning, just in case he was "sensitive" to the insulin.

Thanks again for the support everyone!!!
 
Now I look at that series of numbers, from 233 to 90 in 3 hours, the HC fed, and a nice next PS of 141 and I think the HC food was necessary to avoid a real low and a big bounce back up. Since you can't be feeding HC all the time, dropping the dose was what I would have done too. Time will tell if that works or not.

Hate migraines. Hope yours has gone away. I am so glad that I am old enough to have basically out grown them. They used to be a regular occurrence, but now I get about 2-3 a year.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top