Klinger: We've got our 1st pink PS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
1/7/11 Klinger's AMPS 397, 1.5u

I know that's still high, but his AM PSs have been steadily coming down. I'm home today and can't wait to get some tests in!
Have a great day everyone!

AMPS 397
+1 513
+2 486
+3 462, ate shortly after
+4 473
+5 359
+6 393, ate about 15-20 mins later
+7 384
+8 385, ate about a teaspoon more right after test
+9 missed it - darn it!
+10 326
+11 455
PMPS: 373

Re: Food - just so you know, I give Klinger a can of FF right after I test him in the am. He eats maybe a tablespoon. I then give him a 1oz. medallion of his NVs raw, which sometimes he finishes and sometimes he only eats 1/2 of it. Before I leave for work, I set out two more medallions...usually there is about 1/2 of the can of FF and one medallion left when I get home from work. Other days all of the raw food is gone. He never finishes the FF. I do add some water to all of his food. Same scenario happens at night.
 
Looks good. You just have to let every step settle long enough to see a response.

I can't believe you are at +6 already and it isn't even noon here, but I forget that you get up in the middle of the night!
 
Hi Marcy, maybe you were already going to do this tomorrow, but I think it is time for another increase. He has been on this dose for more than enough time imho. Remember from the Tilly protocol:

" Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl."

Sheila had some good questions regarding the dental in your last thread. Can you shed anymore light on that? I am sorry to be a pest. We are all just wanting to get to the bottom of Klinger's insulin resistance.

Also, when he did have the dental, were you able to finish out the whole prescription afterwards? Sometimes that is not easy with work and all so just wondering if there could be a lingering infection still brewing here.

Thank you for going back and including all that in your profile. That helps a lot. :)
 
Thanks for reminding me Pamela. I actually meant to do respond to Sheila's dental questions this morning, but then got sidetracked with the curve.
He had the xrays done and everything was as it should be. We did finish the antibiotics. IMHO he has been overdosed on insulin and we should have dropped back after the dental. The other thought on PZI, at the time, was that the infection was causing the wonky numbers and when he's mouth cleared up his numbers leveled out. A theory. The other trouble is the pancreatitis...

I planned on increasing Klinger's dose to 2u's tomorrow morning. I didn't want to do it at night...it's been a long enough day. ;-)

I still haven't heard back from my vet on the cost of the Acro and IAA tests - specifically for their costs and shipping. I haven't forgotten.

So, was the curve today a "normal" curve as far as drop? I think it was, but just want to make sure. Is there an average % drop that we should be aiming for on Lev?

Thanks all. We appreciate your questions and sharing your knowledge.
Marcy & Klinger
Edit: I couldn't recall the vet mentioning stomatitis...I looked back at his paper work and it wasn't mentioned there either. When she responds to the quesiton on the price of the test, I'll confirm that he doesn't have stomatitis. The eight teeth were in really bad shape...diseased below the gum line, rotted, etc.
 
Hmmm... weird curve today: up, down, up, down.... but that 302 tonight is the lowest he has been in a while.

I'm not sure I would say that a "good" curve shows a percentage drop, but rather that a good curve on lev is gentle, no fast/extreme drop or climb. In fact, when you get them to the optimal dose, the curve should be rather flat but in lower numbers (100s - unlike a flat curve in the 200s or 300s or higher).
 
Thanks, Sheila.
1/8 AMPS 439 2 u's

I don't know if his shot last night was a fur shot...I didn't feel any wetness, but I could really smell the insulin.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
mars72 said:
Thanks, Sheila.
1/8 AMPS 439 2 u's

I don't know if his shot last night was a fur shot...I didn't feel any wetness, but I could really smell the insulin.

Hope everyone has a great day!

I go by smell also, although sometime there can be a drop on the needle that comes off in the fur before shot, so that's what you smell. It is pretty strong smelling.

Glad you went to 2U. How is he feeling overall?

One question, because again you're getting up and down numbers, is what meter are you using? Sorry if I missed that info somewhere in the threads. The consensus is that some meters are more reliable than others. The 455 at +11 than 373 at preshot time make me wonder. You can get strips very cheaply off Ebay, if you're concerned about cost of strips for some meters, however Wal-Mart's Reli-on brand has gotten good ratings from Consumer Reports and most users on the board.
 
Hi Vicky,
We use the Relion Micro meter. I also wondered about the up and down number at +11 and lower PS. I'm going to pick up another battery or maybe just a new meter tomorrow.

I wrote about his eating habits in the tread above - how he doesn't finish his food...he finished his can of FF this morning at +4. He looks like he's cat(2)_steam (it's funny because he's all white with pink ears and nose and that is how he looks right now.) So, he's definitely eating more today and seems jumpy. He's eating again.
 
Eating more is good. By jumpy, do you mean scared? I have a cat who is scared of any little thing. Like if I drop something, even something small, she goes flying out of the room. Is that what you mean by jumpy?

Or is he jumping all over furniture and things?? ;-)
 
hope he keeps going in this direction-his #'s seem to be getting lower, overall.
paws crossed the increase works soon. :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top