Kitty's am bg

Status
Not open for further replies.

ceecee

Member Since 2013
Kitty's amps will be around 11am. Last insulin .5 11pm. Right now 6:30am +7 67bg. I was not able to get a bg overnight. :( What are the most important times for me to check his bg through today? Spreadsheet and computer work this weekend. Thanks, Ceecee
 
That tells us he does go down lower and that he is not just surfing along. So, when you do shoot, a midcycle number will be important to get, whenever you can - to be sure he doesn't go too low. That is a huge drop in 7 hours - from 400 to 70s. Do you feed him around +4 and then +6? That might even out the sharp drop. That can't feel good for him.

I'd get maybe a +8/9 to see if he is headed up and then of course +12 to see if he is over 200 and shootable.
 
This morning's bgs. I feed him 4 times a day. 1/2 ff.
6:30am +7 67
9:00am +9.5 110
amps11:00 +12 145
 
Is there a best time to feed? You are saying +4, +6 past the shot? It is time for him to eat about now with an amps of 145. What do you think?
 
I don't think it matters much this am. He is slowly headed up, surfing along and looking great. The next time you shoot I would plan to feed at 4/6 so it hopefully slows that big drop like you got last night after the shot.
 
Thanks Sue. I have not fed yet and his bg is 146 at +13. How do I determine whether to go ahead and feed or wait for a rise? It is best to make sure there is food at least +6 after a shot?
 
Anytime you see double digits in the first 2-4 hours after a shot, i would give him a snack so he either levels off or goes up a little. See if that helps with the big drops. For your 76 last night, you could have given him a little. If he'd gotten some food around +4, he might have stayed a little flatter.
 
Do you mean the 67 bg this morning? Right after I got that he ate a meal. He should be getting a meal now. So, how soon after he eats should I get a bg?
 
I am leaving this on here so that my other bgs are in the thread, while I am working on our ss. Oh Kitty!
pmps 2:45pm 367 +15.5 .5 unit
6:15pm 412 +3.5 fed
8:45pm 480 +6
 
I am thinking you might find it helpful to use U-100 sryinges and a conversion chart so you could measure a lower dose such as 0.4 or 0.2 units. That way, you might find a stable dose which would work for am and pm.

U-40 insulin has 40 units in 1 mL
U-100 insulin has 100 units in 1 mL.
So using a U-100 syringe with a U-40 insulin means the markings on the sryinge should be adjusted to 40% of what they indicate
0.5 on a U-100 * 0.4 = 0.2 units U-40
1.0 on a U-100 * 0.4 = 0.4 units U-40
1.0 on a U-100 * 0.4 = 0.6 units U-40
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top