Kitty (tid) and Sally (Dog) 2/14 update!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morining!

Kitty is still coasting along--- pmps (tid) last night 217-shot 3 units and her amps was 255--shot 3 units! So, all seems well on her front and her eye is improving also. Maybe Alex and her have the same eye issue going on.


Sally (dog) went back to the vet yesterday for her weekly examination. Her pancreatitis is improving and her liver values seem to be stabilizing. She is still fragile, but much improved. I had mentioned last week, how she suddenly started getting these "mountain" curves. The vet had raised her from 7 to 9 units of N and it really appeared she was having inverse curves--but, I researched and found that these curves are not abnormal for dogs. But, it still was different than her earlier curves. I changed her diet over the weekend and replaced her pancreatitis low fat food, with a more diabetic friendly food-- WD. Prior to the diet change, all of the spot checks I did on her continued to show this "mountain" curve and her preshots were in the 400 and 500s. I was frustrated, to say the least. When I picked Sally up last night, I was prepared for the vet to offer me an explanation about the high numbers and the crazy curve-- and that we needed to increase her insulin. BUT, much to my surprise...Sally had the perfect curve yesterday!!! She started at mid 300s and came down to about 150 for a nadir. The only explination I have for this is the food change. The vet did say to increase her from 9 units of N to 11 units, BUT........this time I am going to follow my gut! I kept her at 9 units last night and this morning--her preshot was 322 today. I am going to give the diet change a little more time to see if it has additional impacts on her bg before raising. If she stays flat with these numbers, I will increase her slowly and try to drive her numbers down further.

One more thing of interest--- I took my Accu Chek Aviva meter for comparision with the vet's meter yesterday for Sally's curve-- they tested every BG (8) with the two meters--- the largest point difference was 11! So, I also feel great about the accuracy of my meter. I just thought I would share that, since we have seen so many meter differences lately!

Thanks to everyone for your interest in Sally and for letting me share our journey with you!

Wishing everyone a Happy Valentine's Day from Kittyville.......
 
That's interesting. I use an Alpha for my main meter but will occasionally do a cross check with my Relion. There is a wider spread that you found, but its great to have the info.
 
Tick...tock...tick...tock......here we again! Kitty's midshot (7:30 pm) just tested 155...so, we wait!

Another bit of info on Sally (dog)--- I just tested her pmps and she was 266--lowest preshot reading in two weeks. The high numbers last week must have been the food!!! Glad I didn't increase to 11 units (N)--- in fact, I reduced a unit to 8 tonight! I am going to try and get a nadir on her tonight....I have gone from worrying over high numbers, to concern over hypos!

My life and schedule is now controlled by diabetic animals!
 
Kitty and Grayson have been chatting... "Let's see if we can wreak havoc on our moms' schedules & lives!". :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top