Kitty dosing numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Yesterday Kitty's AMPS was 181 points lower than Tuesday's pmps, so I didn't feel comfortable giving 3 units. I only shot 2 units, because I wanted to talk to the vet and I knew I had a busy day and wouldn't be around to check on her. The vet suggested I go down to 2.5 units and see what happens with Kitty's BG. My needles only have whole units, so last night I know I was a little short of 2.5. This morning her amps was increased a little, so I made certain to get the 2.5 units correct (well the best I could).

As you probably know, Kitty was only getting two units PZI once a day when she crashed and had ketones. What do y'all (I am southern!) think of the 2.5 dose twice a day? I did a complete curve Tuesday night, after oddly high amps and pmps to try to capture more data.

Kitty seems to be feelling good and looks a lot better--do you think I am in a safe/good dose? I don't want to play with the Ketones or hypo----and I work a lot of hours and am not around to do a lot of checking. That being said, I want to do the best I can to get her in a safe BG range.

I definitely am no expert here, but my gut just felt bad with the 3 units twice a day. But, maybe I should have stayed with it---please give me some advise and feedback.

Thanks to everyone---I hope one day I can get Kitty in good numbers.
 
I think you are doing a great job. The best thing you can do right now is to get as much data as possible. That will guide you into getting the best dose for her. If you continue to get higher numbers, you can lower the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top