Kitty Diagnosed on 3/3/16 started on prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evelyn2755

Member Since 2016
I have a few questions about the insulin and numbers.....

Let me start out by saying a little information about my kitty kat she's a 13 year old female calico (and a sweet fur ball of love) We did blood work on 03/03/2016 everything on the blood work was good except for her sugar levels she at 392. The vet started her on Prozinc and she was gradually dropping and within a week she was below 200 and then spiked back to 330. The vet said it was bounce and adjusted her dose we went from 1 unit every 12 hours to 1/2 a unit every 12 hours. With the new dose her sugar went way up after a couple of days after this dose adjustment she was at 450, spoke to the vet again and he told me to give her 3/4 of a unit and this is the dose she's currently on. I test her at home and usually at peak she's between 300-350 my vet advised me not to test during the day only before her shot which I read on here is a mistake. Here is where I have a few questions about insulin and the dosing ....

What range should her blood sugar be at peak? and what range am I looking for when I test her mid day in between her shots? At what levels should I adjust or possibly skip a dose? and since she's this high at peak should I go back to 1 unit??

I will add that when we first started insulin it was at 1 unit but her sugar levels were dropping and regulating fairly quickly, I feel like 300-350 at peak is way to high and instead of helping her I feel like I'm being counterproductive. Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!
 
We generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in the low 100s or less 5-7 hours after the shot. But not below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter, as that is nearing hypo territory.

Yes, the mid cylcle number is important because it shows you how the insulin is working - how low it is taking her.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc. It is in my signature in blue.
 
Hello! Welcome to FDMB!

As Sue said, the midcycle number is important, as are the preshots. We always advise new diabetics to not shoot if they get a preshot number under 200.

I would say before raising the dose, we'd want some more info. We like to see preshot numbers and mid cycle (nadirs) to help determine a dose. Could we get you started using our spreadsheet to record data? That will help us advise you better.
 
We generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in the low 100s or less 5-7 hours after the shot. But not below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter, as that is nearing hypo territory.

Yes, the mid cylcle number is important because it shows you how the insulin is working - how low it is taking her.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc. It is in my signature in blue.

Thank you so much!! I did read all the stickies on prozinc it just helps so much to talk about this and get it all out. At the moment I just feel overwhelmed with the entire situation and I'm keeping a positive mindset it's just a lot is happening all at once and I feel like I'm all over the place but I'm doing my best and gathering all the information I can.
 
Hi Evelyn, it is overwhelming at first, but I promise it will get easier. Sue and Rachel are wonderful guides, so take a deep breath-you got this!
 
Hello! Welcome to FDMB!

As Sue said, the midcycle number is important, as are the preshots. We always advise new diabetics to not shoot if they get a preshot number under 200.

I would say before raising the dose, we'd want some more info. We like to see preshot numbers and mid cycle (nadirs) to help determine a dose. Could we get you started using our spreadsheet to record data? That will help us advise you better.

Yes I will start the spreadsheet when I get home tonight and record her past numbers and unites I've been giving her. I wasn't home testing in the beginning because my vet said it wasn't necessary but I have been home testing since 3/15 and I will record all the data I have including the numbers she had at the vet before we started the home testing.

Thank you!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top