Kitty BG over 500--still at vets (DKA this weekend)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

I am starting to get anxious about Kitty and I need some reassurance. Kitty had an emergency this weekend--DKA. She has been at the emergency vet and the vet hospital for the last 3 days. Supposedly the Ketones were gone yesterday morning, but they will check again today to be certain they are not present. She has a severe UTI, and was on IV antibiotics, but now has been switced to Zeniquin. Blood was present in the UTI--but now is gone.

Kitty had been having long slow curves on the PZI, but now is having short curves, high nadir readings and preshoot numbers above 500. Previously, her preshoot numbers were in the 300s with an occasional 400.

Please reassure me this is due to the infection and not some type of insulin resitance builing.

She received 3 uits of insulin this morning.

Thoughts, advice, comments......
 
Did they treat her DKA with prozinc or with a faster acting insulin like humulin R or N?

Her bgs at the vet may be affected by her infection, her ketones, stress, etc. and you may find things are vastly different once you get her home.

What is the plan for the next day or two?

Jen
 
They treated the DKA with fast acting regular insulin (not sure what type). She went back on PZI Monday. The regiment today is to give 3 units of PZI this morning, retest for Ketones and the infection and go from there.
 
The dose seems a bit high but honestly I'd get kitty home when it is safe to do so and monitor and go from there. The dose may be too high for home...

Jen
 
I agree--- I think the dose is high also, but I am comfortable with it since she is at the vet and they are monitoring her. I just hope her values come back into a more "normal" range for her (pre-infection) soon.
 
The higher numbers could also be caused by the infection and also vet stress. When she comes home, you may want to consider giving a smaller dose than 3 units especially as the infection clears up. Most likely her preshot BG readings will drop.
 
Since kitty just went through DKA, I would be cautious about lowering the dose too much until that infection clears. What dose of insulin was she on previously? Have you been hometesting/do you plan to now?
 
Yes, I have been hometesting! She has been receiving 2 units---but her preshot values have been in the 300s--they are in the 500 range now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top