Kitty BG above 500 amps again

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Just talked to the vet---she was really hoping Kitty's BG would be lower this moring with the good day she had yesterday. But, her amps was (HI) above 500 again this morning. She had a nice curve yesterday, so I feel better about her response, but I wish she would start having lower numbers.

She got 3 units of PZI this morning and they are going to check her at lunch and call me back with her values.

Kitty is pretty laid back and normally is not stressed at the vet--so, outside of stress and infection is there anything else that could be driving her numbers so high?

Thanks.
 
I wish I knew something to tell you. Never had a kitty with DKA or in ER.

If it is only the high blood glucose levels that they are treating, would you be comfortable bringing her home? You could test for ketones and keep track of her bg numbers. Would they let you?

Any chance they are feeding her high carb food? That will keep the levels high...
 
She is eating Fancy Feast I took with her. She only weighs 8.5 pounds, so 6 units a day is a lot for her--but, obviously needed at this time.

So Frustrating!
 
She is eating Fancy Feast I took with her. She only weighs 8.5 pounds, so 6 units a day is a lot for her--but, obviously needed at this time.

So Frustrating!
 
Vet just called back +4 418--- at least it is coming down.

I can't believe two weeks ago, Kitty was getting 2 units once a day and now is up to 3 units twice a day.

Any suggestions or advice?
 
Yes, I want to bring her home--but I would just like some reassurance that nothing else is going on to keep the amps so high.

I feed her continuously at home--she eats 4 to 5 cans of FF a day. I am certain at the vet they are only feeding her twice a day---could more food actually bring her numbers down? They say she has a BIG appetite!

What do you think?
 
Well, I would ask exactly what they are doing and how they are monitoring her and if they think you can care for her at home.

You would need to be prepared to do ketone and blood testing often.

Unregulated cats are very hungry; their bodies don't process the food well.
 
Does anyone have any experience with Cushing Disease? I have been reading about it and wondering if it could be going on--it appears it can accompany diabetes.

I had a dog with Cushings before. It can increase the glucose level and make the insulin less effective. But, with Kitty being in the 100 to 300 range for the past month--hopefully it is just diabetes.

Who would have ever thuoght, I would be wishing for "just diabetes".
 
Yes eating can help bring down their BGs, if their pancreas is still partly functional. (As I understand it) if the pancreas doesn't work at all then eating will simply raise BG, but if the pancreas can produce any insulin on its own, eating will trigger that function. If she is hungry, I hope they are feeding her more!!! Especially low carb - a lot of cats don't even get a very noticeable food spike on that. HC is one thing - a few bites can push them up into the 300s or whatever. But not really with LC, it shouldn't drive the #s up all that high. (As I understand it...)
 
There is a high dose forum here with a bit of info about Cushings. I think Cushings is the least common of the high dose conditions, and I have no experience, but I'm pretty sure one hallmark is very fragile skin. High dose is usually considered to start somewhere around 5-6u 2x/day.

Unregulated cats can be really hungry because their cells aren't absorbing the glucose that is floating all around them. They are starving, even though they are eating. Unusual hunger is also hallmark of acromegaly, another high dose condition.
 
Puttz does really well for a couple of months, stays in the mid 200's, then goes on a binge and runs high 400 numbers...He is at that phase right now where I have had to increase his dose from 2U BID, to a current 4.25 BID...I also get frustrated as it seems we take steps backwards, but he is diabetic and as he gets older, I think we are in this for the long run...
 
Hi Terry and Putz,

How about starting a new topic for yourselves? We would be happy to help you with possible dosing ideas.

One that jumps out at me is you tend to increase by whole units. Sometimes this puts you over your ideal dose and you get some bouncing or rebound. You seem to have gotten pretty good numbers at lower doses. We urge increasing by .5 units if you have higher numbers but most often by .25 units. Many members use U100 needles to get those smaller doses and use the conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-c ... rinter.htm

Please post and introduce yourself. We would love to try to help you out.
 
Sue and Oliver, hi there, and hi everyone! I have been posting for a couple of years with ALOT of help from all of you, and have gone through my ups and downs with my SugarKitty....We are another year older, and my Puttz is in the swing mode the past two weeks...I just hate having to increase doses at all, but I am checking him at least twice a day, and the increase to 4.25U is holding him pretty good for at least 8 hours...I have also recently noticed the upswing at about the 8-9 hour, so I have been considering going 3x a day/dose...Either that, or my alternative is watching that high swing at the 8 hour and shooting at the 12 hour...His spreadsheet is up to date, you can see where I stopped posting data as Puttz was holding a 2U BID pretty well there for a while...Thank you for your kindness and support...I appreciate any and all feedback! T and P
 
Terry,

Can you start a new topic? I know you are here at the end of kse's thread but no one else does. Just go back up to the top and choose NEW TOPIC. You can copy the info from your post into that thread. Then everyone will be able to see you and respond.

I think we would have some suggestions for you.
 
Hi Terry! Agree you should start a new thread to be sure everyone sees your posts. In the meantime though, a couple thoughts:

1) Has anything changed in his overall health picture? Possibility of any infection? Tooth problems? Those kinds of things can drive up BGs.

2) Are you at the end of an insulin vial, or did your vial go through any "trauma" LOL, like sat out in the sun, froze, etc.)

3) When you shoot early, are you always testing for a rising #? That is important with PZI, especially as you get earlier than say +11 with the shots.

I think it would help you to have a little more data. Any chance of getting a partial curve one day, like 2 or 3 tests every 2 or 3 hours? I have generally found it helpful to have 2 spots in the same cycle, like a +4 and +7, or +6 and +9, something that gives you some sense of where the nadir might be, and then also some sense of where the #s are before and after that. If you are seeing a smooth-ish U-curve with #s overall too high the it's pretty clear-cut you need more insulin, but sometimes you'll find something wonky in the #s, like a low you didn't realize was there, or a high at a weird time or something.

Just some thoughts. If you reply, as Sue said just copy and paste into a new thread so everyone will know it's your info and not the original poster's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top