Kitty and Chewy 4/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

I hate when I have to leave Kitty at the vet! I had started back tid dosing a couple of days ago and her BG was back down into good numbers. Yesterday morning I shot 2.5 into a 255 at 6am. I took her insulin with us to the vet and asked that they check her at 2 pm (+8 hours her midshot) and if she was above 200 to feed her and give 2.5 units. WELL, when I picked her up last night, they said they did not give her insulin at +8 because she didn't need it. I said, "Really, What was her BG?!" The vet said 267! So, I headed home and checked at +12.5 and she was 457-- I shot 3.2. The tid schedule I need to shoot on, corresponds with some of her meds--I don't need another "medicine time"--so I waited 12 hours before testing her this morning and she was HI ! I shot 3.2 and will test at +8 and resume tid---why can't the vets understand that this works for her?! I woke up at 4 am this morning and she was missing from my bedroom--not on the bed, not under the bed...nowhere to be found.....I got up and started searching the house---she was in the Kitchen sitting by the fridge wanting to EAT! I fed her, but that was 2 hours before her test and shoot--so, that didn't help her reading this morning! When I did feed her with her insulin, she didn't eat a lot-- I hope she was just full. I don't know if I can go thru the not eating stage again.

Chewy is Wonderful! He checked in at 73 this morning. He wants a Party, so if Kitty does well this weekend- maybe we will throw him one next week.

Kitty is still very frail, but I hope she will continue to show signs of stabilization and can enjoy a good quality of life.

Wishing Everyone a Great Day from Diabetic Alley......
 
Good morning, glad Kitty was waiting by the fridge! Good sign. Eat, Kitty! Eat lots! Great going Chewy!

Kim, vets not listening? Many won't because what we're telling them is not an accepted practice in their community. Many professionals are very good at covering their asses, excuse me, bums. In the stark choice between genuinely helping Kitty (read, following some civie's = you and I verbal instructions) or CYA? CYA wins every time.
 
YAY! for Kitty being hungry and you're right, she was probably still full at shot time.

Unfortunately, Sophie is right that they'll opt for CYA, but if you think about it - you can almost understand. If something happens on their watch and they didn't follow their protocol to the letter, do you know how many people would be quick to sue?? and quite likely win?? I wonder if they'll let you come and give the shot if you need to leave her, again. I know that's not ideal for you, but it would at least get her the insulin. Just thinking 'out loud.' I'm so sorry y'all are having to go through this. You're a SUPER mama and doing such a WONDERFUL job!!

Looking AWESOME, Chewy!!!
party-blower-smiley-emoticon.gif
 
Yay, Kitty wanting to eat!!! That makes my heart smile.

Don't worry, you will get her back on track soon.

Go Chewy go.

Continuing to send healing, eating and green vibes to you all.
 
Hi, I was too stark in my comment and unfair to vets since my experience has mostly been with hospital associated physicians. Most are totally filled with integrity and work to do what's best for the patient. I don't doubt that Kitty had wonderful and attentive care as shown by her improved condition. Anyway, couldn't have been otherwise or she'd surely have bitten them again!!!

Like a bunch of us I'm having a tough day. For the first time, Pudge wasn't eating and had diarrhea today. Kim, you should have seen the 7 bowls of different foods I tempted him with. Higher carb? Anything you want Pudge, just eat. My dinner salmon? Sure. Couldn't give his PM injection until +16.5 by which time his BG was 501! And my boy isn't fragile. Fear o ketones!!!

Dear Kim, take care of yourself. You are a wonderfully caring mom to your furries. And a supportive and valued friend to everyone on this board.
 
Hi Kim! Pudge is doing better today: no diarrhea so far and came to the kitchen for food. He ate small amounts but no enticement was needed! Enough for his insulin. Thanks for asking and the reminder about ketones - have not been able to catch his pee, as yet, today but I'm so freaked out about that possibility that I overdo it & test once or twice a day.

A tiny chuckle for you - when I first started on this board and saw the symbol "&" I thought everyone was saying f... it. True! It may not make sense now, but my tired old eyes had not seen such font before. It was weird but fun until my brain figured it out.

Sending gentle hugs to Kitty and Sally and bear hugs to Chewy. Take care, health fuzzies and prayers, as always.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top