Kitty AMPS 128, +5 49 Dosing advice.

Aiden Curry

Member Since 2020
Hello, we are following the TR and it says to reduce if they drop below 50 or 40. Kitty was diagnosed with Diabetes in November 2018 but was in remission from 1/1/19 all the way to 25/12/19. This is her first number under 50, though she did have a 50 the other day too.

My question is, should we reduce when we hit below 50 or below 40? Being only 2 months on insulin, but diabetic in the past, we weren't really sure.

Ideally, we would like to stay at 1 unit for a while longer since she is still pulling out big numbers now and then. She is heavily monitored and rarely left alone for more than a couple of hours.
 
Hi Aiden
Being a long term diabetic.. ie more than a year... Kitty will need to drop under 50 3 times or under 40 once.

She had dropped under 50 once and got to 50 once on this dose so just be aware you will need to monitor closely.

She is looking much better in the last week to 10 days. :)
 
We look at what date kitty was first diagnosed with diabetes. Even in remission, a cat is still a diabetic, just diet controlled.
 
Back
Top