Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!) +8

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/11

amps 427 shot 4 units
+8 267---with a 1/2 can off FF onboard at +7


We did get into the blues last cycle on the 4 units. The dose looks good on the drop.....but, the preshots need to come down. I am shooting 30 to 45 minutes early,

I wish the numbers were better, but can I tell you what a GREAT day she has had! She is old, so there isn't a lot of running and playing--but, she has been very alert today, grooming, talking and walking on her toes! I don't know if the bupe, pepcid, fluids or combination get the kudos----but, it has been a Great Day in Kittyville!

At her age it is about quality of life!

With the day she has had today, it inspires me to try even harder to get control of her bgs!
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

So glad to hear MIss KItty had a good day. It is all about the quality of the minutes, not the quantity, right?
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

I am so glad that kitty ahd a good day!
its such a great feeling when you can actually see that they are doing better!
keep up the good work
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

Yes Sue, it is all about quality to me!

I would like a lot more quanity also, but I want to be sure that what quantiy she has is good!
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

Isn't it amazing how we forget when they are really sick, how good they are when they feel better! But I vote for the bupe! Things do manage to come together and what a difference! Because Payne is doing well! and I also believe it is a combination of everything ..... give it time.
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

So glad Kitty is feeling better! Is the R insulin out of the question since she has dropped a few times to the blues? I really don't know what I'm talking about with the R insulin, I've just read about Nancy giving it?
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

So glad to hear Miss Kitty had a great day!
I love it when they walk on their toes - does she butt scrunch too? That's always a good sign that Klinger's feeling good. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

Marcy---you need to go to sleep!!!! REST up for your moonlighting job!
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

The problem with giving R to lower BG #'s is it is a temporary thing and doesn't solve the problem, whatever the problem is? Also, Kitty can go low, that is a risk .... Payne doesn't ever go low, she just perks and when she perks TOO high I need to add the R to keep the ketones at bay.

I think Kim is starting to see some progress and maybe it just needs Kitty feeling better AND time! Kitty has been through a lot and she is not young but hearing what a good day she had made me smile .....
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

From what I have seen, the Bupe can make an enormous difference in how they feel. That will be awesome if she feels good and her BGs come down some b/c of that.
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

So glad Cool Kitty had a good day. She and you both deserve many more good days!
 
Re: Kitty 7/11 AMPS (Crazy...10:30 pm!)

amps +8 267


I will take the 267 with a 1/2 can of FF onboard at +7---it doesn't appear there is a zoom in full progress.....Now if I can get back on a decent schedule--I am going to have to leave work to come home and shoot! They all think I'm crazy ---this should confirm it!


I reitereate what I said last night......She feels GOOD! I was awaken to headbutts at +7!!! It seems so refreshing to see her feel better, I don't think I realized just how bad she felt...I just hope it continues!


PLEASE NO ZOOM!
 
~O) I hope she continues to feel better too!
You've done a great job, Kim!
Those headbutts are a wonderful thing. Makes this all worthwhile.
Have a great day!
 
Don't panic too much about the higher numbers. I know with the DKA previously you are nervous, but with pancreatitis it definitely plays with the numbers. Miss Shaikha drives me nuts when she's got an active attack going because she's always high and not very predictable. You do what you can. Glad to hear she's feeling better. Bupe is a great thing for a kitty with pancreatitis! :YMHUG:
 
Wendy--how long do they normally stay on the Bupe?

My vet suggested retesting in 4 weeks--does that sound reasonable?

Thanks for the help!
 
I just use it as needed. It depends on how they feel, really. Generally people use it during the worst of an attack since it can make some cats feel pretty gorked out. If appetite is down and activity level or touchiness suggests she's hurting, then use it. If not, try skipping a dose to see if symptoms get worse. If they do, you know you have pain you are dealing with. On the pancreatitis lists, it seems most people use it for a week or two, but during Shaikha's initial attack she was on it for nearly two months. Once we got her on pred it helped a lot, but since you are not using that (most cats don't need it for pancreatitis alone) Kitty may need the bupe longer.

Shaikha is easy to tell if she's hurting because she gets very skittish, so when I see that I break out the bupe. If it is really bad, her abdomen also gets tender and she'll grunt if palpated and her appetite also drops off markedly. My other pancreatitis cat used to lower himself very slowly whenever his flared up and he would lie down in a very guarded position, plus his appetite also fell off. His kidney values also got worse with a flareup (likely due to more dehydration) so I'd have to increase subQ fluids in addition to using bupe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top