Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Amps 446. Ate 1 can FF. 4.25 units
+6. 208. 55 % drop
Pmps 514. Ate 1can FF. 4.5 units
+ 1.5 sub Qs
+3. 300
+4.5. 217


Live, test and Learn!!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/20

Morning Marcy--- vacations are way too short!

Have a Great Day!
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- bounce?

Okay, so after a good day yesterday-- but a short pm shot-- we are back in the 500s tonight.

I only fed 1 can of FF the complete am cycle to see if that would keep her in better numbers. (based on yesterday's data)--Doesn't look like that worked.

I increased tonight to 4.5 and will give fluids at +2 range-- that normally helps lower her bg.

We were getting better preshot numbers before the dental. I am trying to convince myself, that her curves were flatter then and thus no liver training/bounce. But, I am not sure this is liver training/bounce.

Fire away with suggestions or thoughts.

I did update the ss today. It appears to me, that even though she has been getting into the blues-- that she could use more insulin. Just a novice observation.

Help-- I'm not giving up!!!'
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- bounce?

Looks like she is getting low though,
so that is a good thing, probably could increase, but i would get someone else
opinion first!

Hav a great night!
Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- bounce?

yes, these kitties are a mystery! I don't really understand this liver training/bouncing concept.
I'm sure it's been explained, but I guess I missed it.
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- bounce?

Ginny & Alex said:
yes, these kitties are a mystery! I don't really understand this liver training/bouncing concept.
I'm sure it's been explained, but I guess I missed it.

I think it's been explained to me numerous times & I still don't get it! :oops:
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- bounce?

Glad you're not giving up because you are doing awesome.

I'm leaving in the morning on a business trip until the end of the week. You are all doing such a great job helping each other and talking through the dosing decisions. When I get back I suspect everyone will have their kitties regulated.

I'll try to check in if I can.
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

Be safe! I can already tell you -- we miss you!

I found out today, that I probably have to go to China next month... Ugh...

One quick question, I know you are busy. Do you think I should have increased tonight or am I playing into the hands of a bounce?
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

Have a safe trip Robin.
We'll do our best to get our kitties regulated while you're gone. ;-)

Hope kitty gets better numbers tonight.
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

kse said:
I found out today, that I probably have to go to China next month... Ugh...

I would just die if someone told me i had to go to China! Yikes!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

I go through Hong Kong--- very nice! China is okay-- just a looong plane ride.
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

I am certainly no expert, but as I understand it, liver training means the liver has to get used to the lower BG numbers and not get panicked and have tantrums and make the BG rise. So when you see the higher numbers, if you think it is that the liver needs to be trained to get used to these new lows, you do not reduce the insulin, you say cut it out liver and fly right! But if you think it is bounce, you think the pancreas is reacting to too high a BG by dumping sugar into the body, and to prevent that,you reduce the dose. And how do you tell the diference??? Got me!
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

Okay--thanks Judy!

Do you have any surprise announcements to make tonight?
 
Re: Kitty 6/20 amps +6 pmps-- +3

judy and squamee(GA) said:
And how do you tell the diference??? Got me!

Real rebound is either from a number that is too low or a drop that is too steep (I saw somewhere they can tolerate up to about 100 points per hour, but then I've seen that disputed as well, so I'm not sure what the official definition of steep is). Liver training is when you see rebound and you don't have either of those things. Of course it can still be hard to tell, b/c they could have seen an un-tested low, or a drop can be borderline and you aren't sure if it's causing rebound or not.

Kim, look at you go Miss Brave! I gulped when I saw that 4.5, LOL cuz I'm a chicken at heart. ohmygod_smile

What I would suggest is that you can kind-of plan a brave moment in a sense - if you get a lower PS on a cycle where you can do some testing, then shoot the highest dose that you think is safe and see how it goes. If it does turn out to be too much you can feed her more to counteract the drop or lower #s. It is tricky b/c to get good results you often do have to do some dancing in lower #s, and there is some risk with that. So it's about managing the risk and doing it safely. Don't shoot something that doesn't feel safe to you (no matter what I say! :-D ), but if you have an opportunity to shoot a strong dose on a lower PS and see how she does with it, it is a good thing to do, and on a cycle when you can be there to monitor. And just for clarity, I'm not saying shoot 4.5 on a 150 or anything like that, I do think as you get to PSs 200 and lower you need to reduce a hair (not a lot though) and gather data.
 
I understand.

I also understand about the percentages. Hopefully, I will have the guts to shoot that 4 units into a high 200 preshot.

Thanks for the help. I really am trying to get my mind around this, so I can get her in lower numbers.

I appreciate the advice!!
 
You are doing great Kim. I really love the food experiments you did too, it was so interesting to see what a difference that made. If you do get that 250 PS and go for the 4u, just line up the little cans of FF around you so you can dole it out at periodic intervals if needed. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top