Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8 pmps 525--dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Last night's curve:

Pmps. 394. Shot. 3,5
+3. 239
+5.5. 229
+10. 484. Ate 1/4 FF
amps. 466. Ate. 1 can FF. Shot 4 units


6/16
+3. 293
+6. 175. At 1/2 can FF
+8. 248
+10. Ate 1/4 can FF
pmps. 525. Wow--- ate 1 can FF




I want to shoot 4 units this am--- Marcy are you there?!

What do you think?
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

Good morning,
I think that she dropped lower than that 229 last night and this may be a bounce.
I would stick with the 3.5 for another cycle...but you need to make the call.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

I probably screwed up!

I shot the 4 before I saw your reply--

She woke me up headbutting this morning at +10 wanting to eat. Not that, I want to eat because my sugar is out of control-- but, more like I love you mommy, please give me a snack! She seems a lot better! (antijinx)

I wish I had waited for your reply-- I was scared you and the sun had overslept!!!

Oh well, I am home and I can test! Sue is going to be so proud of all my tests!
I know I have been hardheaded on the testing Sue! But, I am truly tired of these high numbers and am ready do what is necessary to get her lower.

Dang Marcy-- I wish I had waited.......

Prayers and Good vibes to Barbara and Thumper today.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

As long as you'll be home to test, you should be just fine.
I'll be around if you need support.


Yes, extra prayers and good vibes to Barbara and Thumper.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

Thanks Marcy-- please keep a check on us!

Dang... I wish I had waited... Patience is a virtue!
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

There's a saying over in Lev...."sit on your hands." I tell myself that over and over again.

We're going to make Dr. Lisa's raw food recipe today...wish us luck that Klinger will eat it after all the time we'll spend grinding those chicken bones. :smile:
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

Hi Kim,
I don't think the 4 was such a bad call. Maybe a little high, or maybe not. Maybe bounce, or maybe not. It's impossible to know in advance and stressful to have to keep making these calls. And you will be there testing, so you've got it covered. I once had a situation with Squamee where I shot too high and we were all worried and I didn't really know what I was doing, but it really brought her numbers down and shortly thereafter went OTJ -- so you never know!
You are doing a rest job. Hope it is an easy day.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

Hey Kim,

I don't mean to change topics here, but I looked at Kitty's SS and I'm curious why you've had so many new vials of ProZinc.
I'm still trying to find the ideal dose for Alex and like to look at others' ss (not to give advice, but to possibly learn).

I'm up at 6:00 in the morning, but am so busy getting ready for work and taking care of Alex that I don't have time to check in on the boards until later.

Hope you have a good day. I'm planning on doing more mid-cycle testing tomorrow too.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

I have stock in Boehringer (the maker)!!! I am trying to keep the price up! Just joking!!

Seriously, Kitty had been very hard to regulate and had DKA early on, complicating things further. And 2 months into her treatment, she hit some really flat numbers even with substantial dose increases. The vet thought something outside of diabetes might be going on with her. So, we did a series of test to see if something would show up. My vet even discussed insulin resistance with me. In an effort to rule out everything, we replaced the vial of insulin -- in case it had been compromised in some way.

The first day on the new vial the numbers began to move. So, the vet and I concluded that the insulin had "pooped out" for some reason-- possibly handling. A lot of people had handled the insulin-- she had boarded a lot and been in the ER.
When her numbers became stagnant again, I purchased another vidl just to see if it would make a difference.

Truly, I think the first vial had lost some potency. But, deeper into this now -- I think it is more likely Kitty was underdosed-- thus getting little movement.

My vet has sent my first vial back to the Boh. Lab for testing to see if they detect anything.

You will get a lot of different opinions on this. But, a lot if people have seen improvements when getting a new vial. I think PZI does poop out some-- others will disagree.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

This is, to say the least, quite a challenge!

I'm still not comfortable determining if I'm shooting too much or too little. And for weeks, actually giving the shot was almost impossible. But after talking with Lori, of Lori and Tom, she gave me some pointers and that has improved. My vet is a visiting vet and has no real office or office staff, so trying to contact him and have a conversation is almost impossible. I rely on the folks here a lot.

My next challenge is trying to find someone besides hubby and me to give shots so we can take a vacation. Alex isn't very sociable (this is an understatement) and I'm not sure if he'll allow someone else to give him a shot. I have a pet sitter scheduled to come meet Alex next Friday.

Wish me luck!
 
Re: Kitty 6/16

Kim,

I think your 4 will be fine. You want some downward movement and you are home to work with it. And yes, I am so proud of your testing! Really helps you see the whole picture.

Ginny, good luck on the petsitter. Another possibility is to get a vet tech to test and shoot twice daily. Some like the extra money.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3

Okay-- 37 percent drop at +3

I know the 293 is ok-- but, how often should I test for data!

Is + 6 okay--- or do you think I am missing something there?
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3

Well, if you want, you can do a curve and just test every 2 hours. Then you be able to see if you are missing something.

Breathe, Kim. Kind of a fast drop but still in very safe numbers.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3

Breeeeath???!!! I have already popped the cork!! It has to be 5:00 somewhere!


Truly, I think the numbers are fine. She has got to get in lower numbers.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3

Catching up on all the action and sure sounds like you and Kitty have had a rough few days. So sorry to hear that. You guys have been through so much. Hope Kitty is feeling better. Sounds like you're off to a pretty good start today. Sending good #'s vibes to you and Kitty. It's definitely 5 somewhere. ;-)
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6

This is a nice number! Wonder if she will get down into the double digits? Hard to know if her nadir is nearer the 6 or 8. Today should tell you.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6

Nadir is normally closer to +8-- but, I don't think she will get to double digits.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6

+8 248


Help me-- but, my take on this is it appears the 4 units is a safe dose in the high 300
and 400 range. It appears there was significant safe room to drop.

She will get fluids today, they "normally" have a positive impact on her bg--- but, not always.

All in all, I don't think this was a bad cycle for her-- but there is room for improvement.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6

Kim,
I thought I would move this over to your condo .... (see I can do Lantus :) Payne is good but she is in rebound today, all the insulin I need to throw at her to counter the ketones. ohmygod_smile I haven't seen a 400 in a long time, it feels bad. The vets don't know .... my suspicion after testing, testing, testing EVERYTHING! is that she can't do carb, grains or starches. We had added back some med carb and I suspect that got her pancreatitis going, which I believe makes the ketones.?? At least I have a theory. :lol:

I see Kitty is good today but you can't worry over every number, or you will need me to send you some great Napa wine :) There are sooo many variables, most we don't know .... sorta like flying by the seat of our pants. I asked a mucky-muck vet specialist who was looking at Payne during her 2nd. DKA (at UC Davis) and he was very nice but he missed the basic problem, away from ER she wasn't getting enough insulin. Now this is DKA basic 101 .... not enough insulin but he missed it, plus some other stuff.

We all have very complex kitties ..... they are all puzzles, some look the same, some don't but they are all puzzles to be solved. How we solve them .... that is the mystery. You look over and say in your puzzle if you put that piece there, it will fit together better. I look at someone else and say my puzzle goes together like this, maybe yours will to, but it is all??? so we test and test and try to fit the puzzles together but the puzzle keeps changing. We do the best we can .....

I will go back to the big puzzle the stock market, I still have 90 min. of work left .... Nancy
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Yes, pleeeeease concentrate on the market--- I have been losing my A*$ lately! But, better than 09!

I like the condo reference!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Very nice curve today. I would hold this dose for a few cycles. Not only is she getting a fairly gentle curve, but you still have to wonder if the dental will impact her numbers down some more now that she is likely to be feeling better.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Thanks Sue! I'm starting to like this testing stuff!
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Hi Kim,

Checking in to see how Ms. Kitty is feeling.

I like your train of thought on dosing. Maybe put together a sliding scale for yourself for reference, but remember that the picture changes every day the dental may still bring her bg's down some and will change your sliding scale again. BTW, did she get any pain meds?

Anyway high 300 & 400 = 4 units, low 300 - 3.5 units, etc. Something like that.

Glad you're having a better day.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Hi Robin,

Kitty has slept peacefully most of the day. Still not a lot of activity from her. She has moved from the den, back to the bed. I take that as a good sign . This past weekend she was wanting to get behind chairs-- in corners.

I do have the bupe.

She is eating well.

Thanks for checking on her!
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Well-- the rest of that story is, she only gave me 2 doses and told me to give as needed. So, exactly when would that be?
As needed???

The vet doesn't want her on it long term.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8

Hi Kim
Looks like Kitty had a really good day
I wuold defiantely hold that dose for a while and see what happens, just keep teseting!
Have a glass for me tonight, I could sure use one!

Denise andShakes
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8 pmps (Wow)

Okay -- except for the Purina Induced >500 Tues morning this is the first of these in
awhile!

Stick with the 4 units or shoot 4.25?

This has to be a bounce.
 
Re: Kitty 6/16 +3 +6 +8 pmps (Wow)

Just checked Ketones -- neg. Always a concern for us!
 
Yup 4u. This 500+ number is the body reacting to seeing mid 100s which she doesn't see very often yet. It will eventually go away as the body gets used to seeing those numbers more.
 
I shot the 4 units.

So, how long does the bounce last?

Nancy, would you like me to pm you my address so you can send the wine?!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top