Kitty 5/11

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
amps still running high--427.

She is showing a consistent pattern--low 400s at amps and mid 300s pmps. Do you get any points for consistency?!

I didn't like the pm shot last night--I gave it shortly after giving the fluids, and I didn't feel like all the fluids were fully absorbed. I have no idea if that would effect the numbers--but, I would have liked to have given the fluids an hour earlier.

I am still eyeballing 3.4.
 
Better than crazy numbers we can't understand - right? What are you thinking? Want to increase a bit? Want to think about a little higher dose in the am and keeping the same dose at night like Angela and Henry tried? Since things have looked the same for quite a while, might be time to change something?
 
I think I need to up the pm shot to 3.6 and keep the am where it is. What do you think? I am not concerned with low nadirs--I obviously do not check as much as many---but, I have never seen anything close to Low! The lowest I have ever tested was on 2 units early on.
 
Since your pmps is lower than your amps, I think I would increase the amps. But this was Joanna's idea and she understands it better than I do. Maybe she will check in before you need to shoot tonight.
 
Yea, I hope she checks in. It looks like to me if I increase the amps--I will just drive the pmps lower, when in turn it is the amps that is running high. But, if I shoot more at night, then I will be shooting more on the lower number. I am confused!!!


Joanna--where are you?!
 
I think the idea is to increase the pm shot because that should bring down the AMPS. In other words, you are not basing the PM dosage on the PMPS, but rather with the goal of decreasing the AMPS. (more insulin at night means lower BG in morning)
Yes, you are right, it means shooting more insulin on a lower number.
 
Pmps 430-- increased to 3.6.

Repeat after me.... "It is a marathon-- not a sprint!"
 
kse said:
Yea, I hope she checks in. It looks like to me if I increase the amps--I will just drive the pmps lower, when in turn it is the amps that is running high. But, if I shoot more at night, then I will be shooting more on the lower number. I am confused!!!

Yep, you got it! That's why I don't recommend it a lot. It's not something I ever tried, and it's counterintuitive. If you have a higher AMPS you want a higher dose in the PM cycle to give you better duration and keep the AMPS lower. But then you are shooting more insulin into a lower PMPS, so nailbite_smile

I think whatever you do, you just have to do a lot of testing and see how the doses are working AM & PM and adjust accordingly.

I also think it is harder to decipher the data when the shots are different amounts. It made sense to me for A & H since their AM & PM #s were SOOOOO different, and in her case adjusting the timing has appeared to work really well (sneakily we dodged having to make a decision on doses vs. PSs alone).

With Kitty the contrast isn't quite so big, so I'm not sure I would bother, especially since you don't seem to be hitting good nadirs anyhow, though I guess we can't say that for sure til you have another spot test or two mid-cycle.

If it were me, I would be inclined to do a mini-curve or get some spot tests in at least, and if warranted go ahead and raise both AM & PM to 3.6. If you want to try different doses that's ok, but I think you will need to get spot tests both in the AM & PM cycles to see how the doses are doing. I agree you would want 3.6 in the PM cycle and see if that brings down the AM. But then heck, if there's no good nadir daytime, why not shoot 3.6 then too? :-D
 
I definitely defer to Joanna on this. She is the one who thought of this idea and she certainly understands it better than I do. So - what Joanna said. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top