Kitty 5/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Well you can't knock Kitty on consistency--amps 411.

I have noticed that Kitty's amps is consistently running higher than her pmps. I have tried to consider what might be causing this-- I think I am testing and shooting 30 minutes earlier on the night time (pmps) than the amps. I think I am testing about 30 minutes later in the morning. This additional 30 minutes of zoom could be giving us the 50 to 80 point increase in the morning. It is all I can think of--she doesn't eat much at night and doesn't wake me up begging anymore!

I really wish the numbers were better--BUT, she looks and acts so much better. I need to weigh her--but, I can tell she has put on weight.

Fluids are scheduled for today at 4:30. I intend on increasing the dose-- I am using the U40s, so truly I don't know if it is 3.25, 3.3, 3.4??? So, I will just eyeball it and increase from where I am now.

Everytime I update the spreadsheet and see where her numbers were at the begining of this I get furious. Prior to the vet induced DKA, she was doing really good on the 2 units--too bad the vet said only give once a day. I wonder where we would be if she had of gotten the insulin bid. It appears obvious to me from her spreadsheet, that the DKA really set her back. Oh well, water under the bridge--we must move on! I am glad she survived to live another day.
 
It could be the 30 minutes...... Have you looked at Angela and Henry's spreadsheet? She consistently had a higher amps than pmps. She has experimented with different doses am and pm, and shoots earlier for the am shot - 10.5 rather than 12, I think. It might be something you can experiment with. It seems to be working well for them.

You are doing great, dealing with multiple issues. Keep on keeping on!
 
I think you need to get back to this is a marathon, not a sprint and not obsess over each number. Of course the DKA set her back, that is just part of the equation you are working with .... BUT that doesn't mean you can't eventually get where you want to be. I have found spending time each day with Payne that is NOT diabetes related, has helped me take a deep breath and just enjoy her. Payne is a great cat and loves to play, thank God! after all the DKA's who thought that would be normal again ..... playing.

Kim, you are doing well, don't worry so much and just enjoy Kitty! the dance goes on and on ......
Nancy and Payne (enjoying life VERY much!)
 
I think we all know how frustrating this can be...IT is so hard to look back and say what if...
unfortunatly I do it all the time because Shakes wouldnt be diabetic if I didnt take him to that one vet...
but now I just try to take it one day at a time and try not to look back

Keep your chin up and we can all be thankful that they are here with us!
hang in there!
 
Kitty got fluids at +10.

Her pmps was 331, I am liking the pmps numbers lately!

I shot 3.4 am and pm.

Negative ketone test today-- that is always GREAT!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top